Did You Miss Art?

in Photography Lovers5 months ago

I did as it's been a week or two, since my last visit to any gallery :) There are I think 5 new exhibitions I have to visit, but this week I had some things to take care of, so there was no time for exhibitions. But that doesn't mean things has to stay this way. Next week, starting from Wednesday, will be dedicated to art for sure.

Till then, I have some artworks to post about, so please come with me on my walk in the world of art, let's see what Éva Barabás has to show us through these marvelous artworks.

20231004_113436a.jpg

Waiting For Pegasus

Pegasus is a winged horse in Greek mythology, usually depicted as a white stallion. He was sired by Poseidon, in his role as horse-god, and foaled by the Gorgon Medusa. Pegasus was the brother of Chrysaor, both born when their mother was decapitated by Perseus. Greco-Roman poets wrote about his ascent to heaven after his birth and his obeisance to Zeus, who instructed him to bring lightning and thunder from Olympus. source

You're right, we're going to have a history lesson today as it seems the paintings I'm going to show you today are connected to history. Last time I posted a painting that was about Poseidon and today here we are, talking about Pegasus.

Pegasus is an important mythological figure widely depicted in art, poetry, you name it. However, each artwork is unique and it's always interesting to see how the artist sees the character. Those of you who are following my art posts might have noticed the recurring light in some form or shape. I think it's kind of a must, if you're talking about mythological figures. It's an interesting color combination you see on this canvas, that reminds me of Ukraine, but it's a right one as we're talking about the sky and sunlight.

20231004_113457a.jpg

Dusk (The Foam Bird)

When it comes to this wonderful artist, each painting has a deep meaning and usually there's a special story behind it. The title of this painting is simple as dusk is a common topic in art, but I thought it's good to run a search to see if I'm missing something. My search came up empty, or I'm not skilled enough to be able to find the hidden story here. In lack of a deeper meaning, we can enjoy the colorful canvas for sure. These colors are very common in the artist's works, it's not the first work that has them. These are a bit bright, but perfect for the occasion.

20231004_113519a.jpg

Waiting For Advent

Advent may be a bit confusing or even unknown to those who are not Christians, so here it is:

Advent is a season observed in most Christian denominations as a time of expectant waiting and preparation for both the celebration of the Nativity of Christ at Christmas and the return of Christ at the Second Coming. Advent is the beginning of the liturgical year in Western Christianity. The name was adopted from Latin adventus "coming; arrival", translating Greek parousia from the New Testament, originally referring to the Second Coming. source

20231004_113519a1.jpg

What I admire about Éva Barabás's art is how she chooses to paint the characters facial expression. In this case I cropped the photo for you to see the details. No matter how small that face is, it's always readable, you can see the motions on the faces and those are always in line with the story. In this case I love the little girl in red.

20231004_113531a.jpg

Lilla Tells Stories

In case you don't know (most likely you don't), Lilla is a Hungarian female name. This is a scene of village life, colorfully depicted. Again, the artist choose some strong colors, but it's appropriate in my opinion. I like it.

20231004_113558a.jpg

Daughter Of The Sea

This theme is also a well known and commonly met in art. I've said it before, that I love the style of the artist quite a lot and I'm saying it again. And If I could have a few paintings from this exhibition, most likely this would be one of them for the obvious reasons. Look at the face of the woman, even the shadow over her eyes is accurate. Her colorful dress attracts the eye, which is a good thing and in a way highlight the woman's face as well. I was expecting to see the opposite of this painting, the Son Of The Sea but there wasn't there. Maybe it's just my expectations and there's no such artwork at all.

20231004_113618a.jpg

Road To Infinity

This painting most likely, or definitely has nothing to do with Isaac Asimov's Road To Infinity, but I can see the meaning of the painting. Sometimes we feel like the character on the canvas, when we don't see the end of the road or the light at the end of the tunnel. That's life, unfortunately. A lot of patience is needed in some cases and in other cases even more patience.

20231004_113638a.jpg

Limelight

Most likely this was the most colorful canvas of the exhibition, but for me this would be the one I'd like to have. Look at the faces, the expressions, the joy and happiness, the light surrounding the characters. It's a colorful cavalcade you often see at the theater and carnivals as well.

I was thinking what would I do with all those painting I liked so far, if I'd have the funds to buy each one. Where would I place them as these artwork need special care, constant temperature and protection from sunlight. Good thing I don't have to worry about that for now :) So far I've only bought a couple of paintings and drawings, but it's going to be a struggle next time I decide to buy a painting. How do you decide which one to buy? It's not an easy task or I'm over complicating it.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

You are right in how detailed this painter is and I like that a lot, besides her color palette that I see the use in most of these paintings of warm colors. At least I feel that way in this sample that you bring us, since I did not know her, the artist, until now. "Daughter Of The Sea" is also my favorite for obvious reasons. Who knows me knows that I love the sea. And in this case I see some very nice transparencies that effectively relate the girl to that environment.
I wanted to comment that art is appreciated in many ways, but especially those people who have a broad cultural background can enjoy it more. That is my criterion. I am not saying that it is not enjoyable for people who lack it, but it is that artists often rely on historical themes -as you rightly say- for their creation or are inspired by other artists... and an experienced eye can discover these references or at least intuit them.

You most likely are right about appreciating art. I've had a lot of art posts and many had commented that they don't understand art. I think understanding art comes in time, and as you say, you need to have some knowledge as well.

However, it's never too late to start studying and visiting exhibitions. "Daughter Of The Sea" is a good choice, I'm glad you like it :)

it's been a week or two, since my last visit to any gallery :)

Hmm???? You are either an academic or an obsessive, I am yet to figure out which LOL

yup Limelight is a winner in my eyes too

Lol, I'm definitely not an academic, so I have to fit the obsessive category 😁

I'm glad you like the Limelight, it's a wonderful one.

Yes the faces stare out at me and say " obsession is fine" LOL

😂🤣

I would like to have many of these wonderful works on my wall, for example these ,Lilla Tells Stories, Limelight

You and me both, but the artist is not selling any of her works.

Because it is very valuable, I think it is more beautiful where it belongs.

At her age I would not sell my works either.

Your works @erikah must be very valuable, you did not sell them, I was curious about your works, they aroused a mystery in me right now?

The painting you've shared is captivating, and I agree, the way Eva Barabás captures the essence of her subjects is truly impressive.

It's as if each character holds a narrative waiting to be told, and that little girl in red?

Loving it =D

We agree on that. Each character has a story to tell and each painting has a deep meaning, something more than just what you can see. I'm glad you like it @rak7 :)

These are all wonderful paintings, very delicate work of art. I have not been to a gallery in a long while but if I'm to make a pick, it would be ' Waiting For Advent'. I don't know if it has something to do with my Faith but I just love the colours and the clarity of the painting.

Whatever it is that caught your attention, the important thing is that you like it. It's a good choice. I hope you can visit some galleries soon.

Good paintings, soft in their way. But I don't understand why put such frames, the paintings come more out of sight.

The frame is is the preference of the artist. Sometimes we like it, other times we don't.

wow.... wonderful painting... every painting is unique, i have visited to any gallery, after looking your gallery blog.... i really want to visit once in my life...

I don't think there's any impediment, you just have to look for the closest gallery and take any occasion you have.

unfortunately there is no such art gallery in my state 🙄

I really admire artists, especially painters, because for me to express my imagination into painting is very difficult, even just to draw a duck when my child tells me to. The results are far from good, in fact very bad :)

You and me both! I have no talent, o even if I try to create something, it is mostly for my entertainment and experience, nothing more :) But I enjoy visiting exhibitions.

I already missed these publications of yours 😊. So much art and interpretations that fill us with knowledge. Thanks. Hugs

Finally someone who missed my art posts 😁 There's more to come soon, so fasten your seat belt! Hugs to you too :)

...so fasten your seat belt!

It's done!🤭.

Those are such lovely paintings. It looks a little bit simple from afar, but on a closer look as you said each character has their own facial expression. Such a talented artist.

She is indeed a very talented artist. She's over 80 now, so her life experience and knowledge about history and culture shows in her art.

It's wonderful I love this painting🙋🙋🙋

Happy to hear that.

Thank you🎉

@erikah you always visit exhibitions, when you get there you always take a photo of the painting written on the frame, this shows you really like works of art, this is of course very good, but of the many pictures you uploaded, I think the most interesting is the work of Eva Barabas.

Yes, you're right, I love art and always take photos as that's the only way to take these artworks home with me, so to speak.

If the person who is sad is quite good and he has extraordinary talent.

She is talented for sure. Not many can reach this level.

Hello my brother @erikah, it's nice to see you come back to visit some very beautiful painting exhibitions, I am always motivated by some of the painting shoots you visited, but in my area Aceh it is very difficult to see exhibitions like you, because painting exhibitions are only once a year, I always like the painting exhibitions you visit.

At least you have the chance once a year, so you can visit if you like.

@erikah Every painting has its own story and every life has its own story.

That is very true.

Thank for this post, I love the artworks you have showcased. I've just Googled Éva Barabás to check out her work and there are so many. So this will be a bit of and exercise. Bu I am sure it will be worth it. There is some beautiful work showcased

I really like the style of Éva Barabás. I thought it was similar artist style to your last post. So I went back and looked. And it was also Éva Barabás 🙂 Good stuff. As to purchases, buy what you like 😊

Looking at “Waiting for Advent” the little girl in red and the baby had a good facial expression, but then the two ladies had a sad expression. Then I concluded that the children did not really know what it is all about, so they have little or no worries, but the Ladies, I want to believe they are thinking of the second coming because that’s the escape route from this sad world.🫠

The Road to Infinity, it’s actually a road most of us will embark on. And has you have rightly said, patience is the key and I will also add faith to it.

I will love to have “Road to Infinity” on my wall to serve as a motivation for me on my life journey. ☺️

Damn!!!
These paintings are top notch, this is real art... So in love with Colo being combinations especially the last one...like damn....that's Smooth.

Although I don't know much about the stories but such arts will definitely tempt someone to read such and I'm falling for those temptations now.

And Pegasus the winged horse is really giving a heaven vibe. Great work there man!!

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 42000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 42500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Wow such amazing art 👍

Hello erikah!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥇 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by peter.goki

You and your curator receive 0.3786 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 10.85% share of the reward from Daily Report 121. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUGOLD token for taking 1st place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START

 5 months ago  Reveal Comment

I think the beauty of painting is the same as poetry, it will be beautiful for those who understand every invisible dimension.

You are right and that's why I don't like poetry as I don't understand it. Or rather have never taken the time to understand it, learn the beauty of it.