Mother Nature These Days And All Saints' Day

While people around the world are preparing for Halloween, we're preparing for All Saints' Day.

All Saints' Day, also known as All Hallows' Day, the Feast of All Saints, the Feast of All Hallows, the Solemnity of All Saints, and Hallowmas, is a Christian solemnity celebrated in honour of all the saints of the church, whether they are known or unknown.

From the 4th century, feasts commemorating all Christian martyrs were held in various places, on various dates near Easter and Pentecost. In the 9th century, some churches in the British Isles began holding the commemoration of all saints on 1 November, and in the 9th century this was extended to the whole Catholic church by Pope Gregory IV.

In Western Christianity, it is still celebrated on 1 November by the Roman Catholic Church as well as many Protestant churches, as the Lutheran, Anglican, and Methodist traditions. source

This is a tradition that is kept alive for God knows how long in various countries in Europe as far as I know and according to Wikipedia, in the Philippines and Latin America as well.

On the 1st day of November we go to the cemetery to remember those who are no longer with us. We bring flowers, mostly chrysanthemums, we light a candle and say a prayer.

This is the time of the year for flower vendors, to make some profit. In Transylvania there are Hungarians (Catholics and Reformed Christians) celebrating All Saints' Day in the 1st of November and Romanian Orthodox a week later. This means farmers markets are full of flowers for approximately 2 weeks. Don't ask me why there's a week delay between the two events, it's been like that for ages and it's the same with Easter as well.

20221028_113054a.jpg

I took this photo last week, when I went to buy some flowers. It's a pure joy to look at those beautiful flowers and I regret I'm not able to buy them all. So when I saw this beauty, I thought I'd try to take a nice photo. The vendor could not see me as these were on the table and tall enough to cover him.

20221028_113101a.jpg

This was the other one I was targeting, although the color I would have liked was yellow. Yellow and white are beautiful, but could not take a decent photo due to lack of space and too many people.

20221019_133342a.jpg

This is the time of the year in which chrysanthemums are everywhere, so you have to make sure to enjoy them. I've been capturing them every single time I have seen some nice ones.

20221027_181342(0)a.jpg

Tomorrow is All Saints' Day so I'm hoping to take some photos of yellow chrysanthemums, although it will not be easy.

20221029_122741a.jpg

Apart from chrysanthemums, you can still find interesting things created by mother nature. This is a bud that looked interesting because of the color. I adore red leaves and buds and could not leave without taking a photo.

20221029_122903a.jpg

These are the berries the ivy is growing. I see them every year and on a macro photo these look like grapes, but the berries are small.

20221029_122552a.jpg

This photo is not as spectacular as the flowers, but I love it still. This is the dandelion bud and I was surprised to see it in October. Dandelions usually flower during spring, but who knows.

20221029_122558a.jpg

There was a dandelion open next to this bud but the photos I took are not of quality, so I can't post them.

20221029_122459a.jpg

And I could not finish this post, without a proper autumn photo, so here is one with these beautiful orange leaves. The photo is not edited. Unfortunately these leaves will be on the ground soon.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

Those berries that look like grapes are a LOT smaller than they appear in your shot. I always think of grapes or blueberries when i see them. You got some great shots. My favorite one might surprise you... yet again! hahaha

You're right, these berries are small, like peas.

Thank you! I kind of have a feeling about which one you're going to pick this time 😃

untitled.gif

Wanna know? 😏

I do....
untitled.gif

I knew it! There you are again with the flower photo. Wait, there are more photos, but still!

Joking aside, all these photos are great. It's also nice that you ended the post with orange, which is the color of autumn for me.

Orange is one of my favorite color, that's why I love autumn. All those colors, from brown to red and yellow ... what can be more beautiful?

I had an orange jacket when I was little. I loved wearing it. I don't know why but I think the color orange suits me hahaha.

It would be more beautiful to see Hive worth 2 dollars hahaha.

ATH is $3.4, why do you want to see Hive at $2? 🙂

Wouldn't it be great if it was 2 dollars, considering the current situation? Of course I want Hive to be like bitcoin hahaha.

Wouldn't it be great if it was 2 dollars, considering the current situation?

If the price of Hive goes up, you get less tokens, plus all the dropouts are going to come back as they don't know when is the right time to accumulate. So accumulate now and enjoy the benefits when the bull market comes, 2023 or 2024.

Honestly, I don't know much about crypto, but for now, I will continue to accumulate Hive. I don't plan to sell Hive unless something goes very wrong.

now i know something new... i didnt know about this holiday, jsut learned it from your post.

The beauty of Hive, we learn something new every day :)

Your photography skills are AMAZING to say the least and I didn't know about All Saints Day and it's meaning till today, I'm glad to learn something new 🤭

Thank you for the nice words but there's always room for improvement. All Saints Day is well known in Europe and it's a nice way to commemorate those who are no longer with us.

Before I read the text under it, I said grapes when I saw it. I still think they’re grapes lol. You know, that’ll actually make for a cool wallpaper. I’ll still give the win to the autumn picture because the colors are just beautiful and well defined. Elite!!!

The size of these berries is like green beans 😁 but I guess it can be deceiving because it's a macro photo.

Thank you @depressedfuckup, I'm glad you like it. I'm trying to capture the beauty of autumn and share it.

I’m googling green beans right now.

My wife is from Dej. There, both Hungarians and Romanians have a celebration called "Luminatie", on November 1st, when they go to the cemetery and decorate the graves with flowers and light candles.

I loved chrysanthemums when I was young, in the last century, haha...

I really like the dandelion photo, it also helps the background for a great image.

Looks like not everyone is celebrating on the same day. It's crazy to have such a huge gap between the two dates, especially at Easter.

Thank you for the nice words. The dandelion bud is nice indeed, I like it too and had to kneel down to take the macro photo but it worth it.

With pleasure! We gladly kneel for such beauties.

How I love Crizanteme! ❤❤

When I was small, I was afraid of saying I love these flowers as everyone associates them with cemeters and dead people! 😁🙄🙄

But now I'm old enough and mature to admit they're so so beautiful flowers. I even like their smell! Haha

I was afraid of saying I love these flowers as everyone associates them with cemeters and dead people!

This is true unfortunately, but who cares? I have a pot of red on my desk and I don't care. We barely get to enjoy them, so why steal the pleasure from myself?

I'm planning to buy white and yellow, those big ones.

I dont care anymore! And I guess when I was small I wasnt really in need to make justice for these flowers 😁🤣.
Just because they're autumn flowers and available in this season, doesnt mean anything.

I"m planning to buy white and yellow, those big ones.

Good for you. I dint have the chance to buy them this year because the last 2 3 weeks were a bit busy and tough. And unfortunately, I dont have any in my yard. Neither my mom. T
hough, when I was small, we used to have all the colors possible on the pallete. You know how we used to bring flowers to our teachers right? I dont know how old are u, but I guess you've been there too.
I loved doing this (bringing flowers to my teachers) not just at the beginning or end of year.
Abd my mom adviced me not, saying they're flowers for dead people. Lol. But I did bring them to my teachers anyway. They were to beautiful flowers not to..

The color of this flower is so true it's where I'm not

I'm glad you like it.

What spectacular wonders our planet earth has. Everywhere it leaves us stunned with its beauty 😍

Congratulations @erikah! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 11th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and win your Halloween badge
Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022

What a sight these photos of such beautiful flowers. Chrysanthemums are my favorite.

Thank you for sharing 🙂✨🌟🤗🙏🏻🙏🏻

The way you relate things to nature , and how it goes it still unbeatable , well done bro

Thank you and sorry to disappoint you, these are chrysanthemums not dahlias. I specified that in the post.