Hard to win

in Photography Lovers7 months ago

IMG_6338.jpg


I just made a bet with myself but it is a hard one and I might loose it!

Do you do that? Making bets with yourself?

People say that it is a disorder of some kind. I just find it amusing. Like a challenging game that I play alone!

The bet this time is to write a post about a visit in an archeological museum, without talking about dates, incomprehensible names and historical facts about long gone eras.

And at the same time I'll have to manage not to bore you to death and make you want to read till the end.

It is hard, isn't it?

But if you are still with me, so far so good! Check out the first bunch of pictures and I'll meet you in a while!

IMG_6260.jpg

IMG_6262.jpg

IMG_6264.jpg



IMG_6269.jpg


I love pottery. As I love everything handmade that is made with care and attentiveness. And the fellows that made those stuff, sure knew what they were doing. And they had beauty in them. And it shows in every single item in this collection.

I am not impressed because they were made 32-35 centuries ago, I love them because they are beautiful and tasteful and I would love to have a set of those instead my ordinary, machine made, tableware.

Or a few jars like the one below for my olive oil. Wouldn't that be amazing?

IMG_6270.jpg

IMG_6271.jpg

IMG_6273.jpg



IMG_6279.jpg


As I was taking those pictures, there was a family with a small child close enough to hear what they were saying. The father was explaining to the child that the exhibits belonged to ancient people and they were using them to cook and store their food etc. The boy listened carefully his dad and after some consideration he replied:

Yes dad, but I want to scratch my leg.

The father was obviously used to this kind of answers but I had to try very hard not to start laughing out loud in the middle of the museum :)

IMG_6280.jpg



IMG_6287.jpg


The girl with the blue blouse and the bag on her back is @traisto suffering the consequences of living with a photographer and catching the photography bug herself :)

You have seen her from the second picture of the post, one step ahead form her teacher (that's me) and more enthusiastic as every good student owes to be!

Fortunately there weren't many others visitors so we could enjoy the exhibition and take pictures undisturbed!



IMG_6309.jpg

IMG_6311.jpg

IMG_6313.jpg



And yes, we are just six pictures away from the end of the post and if you are still with me thank you very much and congratulations to myself for winning the bet :)

On the other hand, if you got intrigued from what you saw and you want to learn more, let me tell you that this was the museum in the archeological site of Mycenae, in Greece and I have written this post and that one with many pictures of the location and a few historical facts as well!

IMG_6318.jpg

IMG_6329.jpg



IMG_6347.jpg

IMG_6341.jpg


The camera that I used is a Canon EOS 6D mark II with an EF 24-105mm f4L lens attached. I edited the photographs in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic .

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

It's a safe bet, given that it's made me want to go and visit a museum. I've been thinking about it for a few days now.

I agree with you, I'd love to have this kind of crockery instead of mine!

Thanks! I hope you'll find a museum to win you over, soon enough :)

I would not refuse such jugs ;) You can keep milk and wine in them!

Haha yes, they are great!

Great job on making that archeology museum look so inviting. It would be amazing to have a earthen jug like these for your olive oil. How are the trees?

Thanks a lot!

Actually the idea of making some pottery, for our olive oil packaging, is in our minds for a while but the timing has never been right, so far.

The trees are ok now, we'll have to wait till early June to have a first estimation of the next year's harvest. We'll see.

Your post is extremely interesting and not boring at all. I read to the end with pleasure. The photos are spectacular. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you very much for your kind feedback! I am glad you liked it :)

These ceramic figures are really beautiful, with your photos I felt like I was walking through the museum. Thank you 🙌

I am glad you enjoyed it!

Thank you for stopping by :)

It's a pity that the exhibits behind the glass are inconvenient to photograph))

I thought I did pretty good. They didn't seem to bother me a lot.

Hahaha, congratulations, you won! 😜 And we loved the lesson, although it was meant for @traisto but we somehow got the tickets to attend it 😁

Thank you!

I am glad you enjoyed it :)

Δεν είναι εύκολο να μην φέρεις λίγα λόγια ιστορίας όταν βάζεις τέτοιες φωτογραφίες, σε συγχαίρω που μπόρεσες να το κάνεις χεχεχε 👍🏻
Και εμένα μου αρέσουν αυτά τα αρχαία δοχεία, εδώ σε πολλά μέρη της λατινικής Αμερικής ο κόσμος χρησιμοποιεί πήλινες κατσαρόλες για να μαγειρεύει🏺, ειδικά στο Μεξικό, το Περού, την Βολιβία και άλλα, λένε ότι το φαγητό βγαίνει πολύ πιο νόστιμο 😋

Σ'ευχαριστώ :)

Ναι τα πήλινα μαγειρικά σκεύη είναι ότι καλύτερο αλλά, τι τα θες, έχουμε βολευτεί με τα σύγχρονα υλικά που είναι πολύ πιο εύκολα!

😂😂😂🤷🏻‍♀️ δυστυχώς έτσι είναι🤦🏻‍♀️😕, έχεις δίκιο 👍🏻