Mission impossible

When I was visiting a town, as an assignment for the travel magazine I was working for, there was a standard routine which included among other things, a panoramic shot of the town. Usually all towns have a point for a nice full view and in the cases that it wasn't very interesting I did the shooting during dusk, that always make things look better :)

In Edessa though I found that simple task to be a mission impossible. The second day the clock was ticking and I didn't had the essential opening picture for the magazine's article. The journalist that was with me insisted for a panoramic view and so did the editor in chief in Athens, although I explained that it was something I couldn't deliver. So I send a message to the publisher (the only one in 3 years in this job) and his reply was short but totally to the point. "Forget the panoramic shot, just go to Varosi at the evening" he said, and the problem was solved!

Varosi is one of the oldest neighborhoods of the town and the mixture of fully renovated and teetering buildings is absolutely charming. And as in every really old section of a town, the feeling that you are wandering in history itself, is popping up in every corner.

When I felt confident enough for the pictures in my memory card, I continued my walk to the park and the famous Edessa's waterfalls to enjoy the view and call it a night!

_MG_8031.jpg

_MG_7997.jpg

_MG_7999.jpg

_MG_8000.jpg

_MG_8001.jpg

_MG_8008.jpg

_MG_8010.jpg

_MG_8013.jpg

_MG_8014.jpg

_MG_8017.jpg

_MG_8018.jpg

_MG_8020.jpg

_MG_8022.jpg

_MG_8023.jpg

_MG_8027.jpg

_MG_8028.jpg

_MG_8029.jpg

_MG_8039.jpg

_MG_8042.jpg


All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

The buildings do look rather charming. 🙂 And I love that last waterfall photo!

Glad to hear :)
Thank you for stopping by @kaelci !