The way I like it

IMG_1032.jpg

A lot of people spend their summer vacations at the village that I am living in. During the high season you can see them wandering around, taking pictures and looking at the ordinary (for us the locals) things, as if they are the most extraordinary! Well once in a while I like to pretend that I am one of them. I take my camera and make a nice, slow walk, trying to look at things a bit differently than the previous time. And although there are a few spots that I particularly like and photograph every time, usually I manage to take quite a few original images. So, if you are interested, follow me for a walk around my village!

IMG_1035.jpg

IMG_1036.jpg

IMG_1038.jpg

If you haven't seen any of my previous posts about the place of my residence, let me repeat that I am living at a very small village (around 100 inhabitants) at the north-east side of Crete, the biggest of the Greek islands. It is semi-mountainous, at an altitude of around 300 meters (1000 feet) and an amazing view to the sea!

IMG_1039.jpg

IMG_1040.jpg

IMG_1046.jpg

IMG_1047.jpg

It is one of the many villages in Greece that has been left almost as it was in the 50's. The migration of the biggest part of the population "saved" the old houses from the ugliness of the twisted modernization of the 70's that destroyed big part of Greece. And when, a few decades later, it was the turn of tourism to change the architectural structure of Greece, this village remained almost unspoiled for one more time. The distance from the sea and the lack of big sandy beaches in the area "saved" it for one more time!

IMG_1048.jpg

IMG_1049.jpg

IMG_1051.jpg

IMG_1052.jpg

IMG_1067.jpg

The flowers, the trees and the old stone built houses are making a brilliantly harmonious mixture. Every detail seems to be exactly where it is supposed to be, probably due to the fact that there haven't been any major interventions for decades and the flora has blended with the buildings after so many years of coexistence.

IMG_1069.jpg

IMG_1071.jpg

The sign in the picture above says:

COFFE SHOP MODERN

Sounds ironical now that the shop is for long closed and left into the decay of negligence. Too bad that the inheriting family members don't feel the need to keep this place alive. It used to be a very important asset for the social life of the village and I feel sorry to see it in such a condition. It is even placed at the "heart" of the settlement, right next to the water spring.

IMG_1072.jpg

IMG_1079.jpg

IMG_1080.jpg

IMG_1081.jpg

IMG_1085.jpg

You can probably read the sign in the picture above. It says "MARKET" and it is our humble grocery shop. I should make a #MarketFriday post about it, I am sure @dswigle will love it, but I never find the chance to actually do it.

IMG_1086.jpg

IMG_1087.jpg

IMG_1088.jpg

IMG_1091.jpg

IMG_1094.jpg

The wrecks of the neglected houses neighbor with the fancy renovated ones but the overall character of the village remains somewhere in the middle, not neglected nor fancy, just the way I like it :)

IMG_1095.jpg

IMG_1102.jpg

This is my contribution to the #SublimeSunday by @c0ff33a as well as the #beautifulsunday hosted by @ace108 :)

Have a lovely Sunday!

IMG_1107.jpg


All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

Coolest cover image I've seen all day. That one with the rooftop built around the tree is equally impressive.

Thank you @dandays :)
The first one is at one of my favourite spots in the village. And the other one that they built around the tree, what can I say? The first time I saw it, I was speechless!

Wow the photos taken are so lovely and nice.


~~~ embed:1612103411519967234 twitter metadata:MTQ2MDgxODc4MDk4MDk3MzU3MHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNDYwODE4NzgwOTgwOTczNTcwL3N0YXR1cy8xNjEyMTAzNDExNTE5OTY3MjM0fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @emeka4, @hivehotbot ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I have been waiting for a long time for this post about the village where you live. I confess that I have not seen any other posts of this kind, except for one with your friends who played different instruments and that you photographed in the setting of the village. I know I can read all the old posts and that makes me miss a lot when they are published. I am waiting for a hard winter that will keep me at home and reading.

I also like the mixture of old, abandoned houses and beautifully restored and well-kept houses. It is good to try from time to time to look with the eyes of the visitor and not of the local, to seek to see the beauty that you often ignore because of habit.
I really liked the two photos, both with flowers. The one with the red flowers(or perhaps leaves) and the sea in the background, but most of all, the one inside an abandoned house, with yellow windows and a purple bougainvillea flower.
As a coincidence, I also have a small plant similar to one of your photos.
Thanks for the beauty!

I was under the impression that I write often about the village but I was wrong. Thank you for pointing it out! I took a quick scroll at my blog and after the first post when we moved here in 2019, I have found only this one, with b&w pictures. It like in the effort not to repeat myself I overdone it!

I love your tiny indoors garden by the window :)

Thanks for showing me those posts from the village, I tried to imagine what it's like there but couldn't. You don't want to repeat yourself, I can't seem to get away from it. After all, I don't know how many are interested in it, I mean if they care.

Thanks for noticing my little garden. I, too, love looking out there.

Exquisitely gorgeous shots!

Thank you very much :)

That must be an absolutely amazing place to live and to take photos. Absolutely beautiful.

Thank you very much! For sure it is very different from the place you live :)

Looks so timeless. No wonder Greece gave so many philosophers to the world.

I don't know about the philosophers but it is for sure very calm!

So beautiful shots!!!!
Χρόνια Πολλά για τη γιορτή σας, Καλή Χρονιά!

Ευχαριστούμε πολύ!
Καλή χρονιά Κατερίνα :)

Thanks for sharing. Very interesting place .

Thank you for stopping by. I am glad you like it :)

These are truly great pictures, they are so many that I love that I will not start naming them, it would be too long!. You did an awesome job

Thank you very much! It is such a great pleasure to receive so enthusiastic comments about my pictures :)

You know I could scroll through these all day long.

Le sigh.

In many ways, it reminds me of Italy, the way the old and the new marry up to form the village. Everything feels right about it, perhaps from being together so long they know no other way? I had an older house in a tiny, tiny town on the Canadian border that I went to in the summer. It was in a spectacular place, but, far and away from everything like a moviehouse, shopping, etc... so, people left it alone and I got to enjoy its peaceful existence of it. You get it all the time! The paint may be weathered or even peeling, if it was painted new, it would feel wrong. It is meant to be loved and enjoyed as is natural.

I love the way the bougainvillea takes over and becomes one with the houses, the flowers dot the landscape, bursting with color. An artist could not have painted a more beautiful picture if he tried.

I especially loved your market and the chair sitting out front to stop and chat. The scenes are beautiful. Thanks for the shout-out! :) I enjoyed the walkabout. Thank you! This a brilliant post, much enjoyed by me.

Enjoy the rest of your evening! Happy New Year!

Thank you very much Denise!
I am glad that you liked it, I don't usually tag people to read my posts but I felt you would appreciate this one :)
You are right, if it was painted new, it would feel wrong. The decay is part of its charm. And I am not sure that I want this for the rest of my life but for now I sure enjoy the peacefulness and tranquility of it!

I never mind being tagged for things like this! :) I appreciated it immensely. Our needs change throughout our life, so I understand that... now, I live more urban except when I am at the shorehouse, making hay while the sun shines. 🌞

This is like paradise. Oh wow and you actually live there! If I lived there I would never want to leave ever! I just love the doors with the paint peeling. Just beautiful and inspiring.

Thanks a lot Carolyn!
It certainly looks (and feels) like a dreamy life. I don't know if I'll never want to leave, change is nice too, but it sure offers me the background for a rare lifestyle :)

Such a cool place to live in. Great photos too!

Thanks a lot, I am glad you like it!

Wow, so much fallen leaves on the floor.
I guess it's always the local who pays less attention and take lesser photos.

Of course they are :)
Thank you very much for stopping by!

You're welcome.