You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A good excuse

I remember in high school we had a philosophy class where the question was why people are constantly taking photos/videos of everything in important moments instead of living in the moment.

What I'm about to say is entirely my own. But to put it very simply, I ended up saying that in our society, image is very important. Taking photos and videos of yourself at the festival is a way of showing off and showing others that you're having an extraordinary time.

I can't remember what I was quoting, but it doesn't date back to the advent of the telephone. The importance attached to image and the way we present ourselves to others was already a central preoccupation in ancient times. The telephone is just a new way of realizing and emphasizing this.

Sort:  

I haven't thought of it like that but you are probably right. The "image" was important, even from the ancient times. And people do care what the others think of them. It is just too bad to give our energy to the image of our life instead of actually living it!

I agree with you. But then again, it depends on schools of thought. In stoicism - of which, without knowing it, you may be a member just like me, at a high percentage rate - we advocate authenticity and virtuous living, independent of the gaze of others. From this perspective, one's image is not a priority, since what counts is living in accordance with one's own values.

Confucianism, on the other hand, emphasizes social harmony and respect for others. As a result, giving a good image is seen as a duty to society.

I don't know if everything can be reduced to philosphy. But I do think it's an excellent way of gaining a better understanding of the world around us, and a better grasp of how people behave.

As you put it, I definitely resonate with stoicism, although I have never read a stoic philosopher in my life :)