Just Saw Gorgeous Northern Lights in Estonia

Northern Lights in Estonia is not a very rare sight by itself, it's a northern country but usually, they are faint and not often overhead but on the horizon. Two days ago it was a much more different scenario and I saw something amazing.

I got a notification on my phone that aurora can be visible to see, according to the carts my chances were quite good so I decided to drive to the Türisalu cliff that is facing straight to the north. At first, when I arrived the sky was mostly cloudy but I could already see some northern lights through that.

DSC_0168.jpg

According to the model, clouds should mostly clear out soon so I waited and it happened. Northern lights were amazing and all visible by the naked eye.

DSC_0184.jpg


DSC_0199.jpg

The wind was really strong and I had to hold the tripod during pictures because it was shaking it.

DSC_0204.jpg


DSC_0229.jpg


DSC_0242.jpg

The time was after midnight and my camera's battery died. I thought that I had gotten good pictures and decided to leave after 2 hours of being there. Little did I know that northern lights were about to get insane suddenly.

I started to pack up my tripod when I saw a very bright stripe that appeared in the sky, instantly I was euphoric. I took out the battery and started to warm and rub it, it usually boots up the camera for a sec after that. When I was dealing with the battery I saw all of the skies above me suddenly lit up with bright aurora and they were all dancing fast.
I put the battery back in and the camera booted up.

DSC_0251.jpg

What the hell, I mean. I saw this insane sight I saw in Iceland, I was mentally fully unprepared for it. You can also see the red color that was visible to the naked eye.

DSC_0254.jpg

My camera died again, so I repeated the rubbing and warming. After a minute I managed to boot up the camera again and took more shots of this gorgeous sight.

DSC_0263.jpg

The lights were changing really fast and this dancing truly amazed me, it was magical.

DSC_0256.jpg


DSC_0257.jpg


DSC_0269.jpg

After that my camera died completely and rubbing didn't help anymore. For a while I just watched the lights dance above me when finally the clouds cover the area. I started to drive back home and all the way I could see bright auroral stripes through the holes in the clouds. It was absolutely amazing experience.

Northern lights of this scale rarely happen in Estonia so I was really lucky to see it. Let's hope the next time isn't too far away. Solar maximum is slowly approaching the solar storm should get stronger by the years, in theory at least.




Untitled-1.png

Sort:  

No mine pekki, ma pole ikka kordagi elus virmalisi näinud! 😄

BAd luck, oli hea võimalus 😀

Thanks so much for sharing these, I hope you will get an extra battery soon :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE

@greddyforce! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

No probz! I actually bought an extra battery some months ago butanaged to lose it somewhere 😀

🤣 I hope you find it again 😂

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@greddyforce! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

So awesome. I really hope I am able to see these in person one day. They look so magical.

They truly are. Go to a northern region in the world in a darker time period and have an eye on the forecaststs. Of course no forecast can be 100% accurate. They can appear suddenly and go away just as fast.

That's super cool!

Absolutely!

That’s beautiful!! Great picture!

Wow what a great experience. I hope to see and experience the northern lights someday. Thanks for sharing!

Ya, you just need to go more north. US northern states get about the same chance we here in Estonia have usually, or travel to some northern country. In your area, it needs to be a historic event to see northern lights there, but it is not impossible 😀

I want to travel to Iceland or Norway, that would be amazing to see those countries and the northern lights at the same time.

You need to make sure not to go in the summer then because there is absolutely no darkness. Tho weather is better and temperatures are good. Both countries are gorgeous.

You got great photos of the auroras! Seems like everyone else has seem them here in the past week, everyone except me, I’m so jealous. I live near the city center, windows towards south and don’t own a car so my chances have been low. Need to go the coutryside and hope that the auroras will go wild many times this winter.

These northern lights were so strong that they were visible from the Tallinn city centre so I guess you could have seen them too. Windows on the wrong side is bad news tho😀

What an amazing thing to see.

Yeah, hoping for more soon.

Some awesome shots😍. The northern lights are something else

Thanks! They never stop to amaze me.

It looks like an amazing natural phenomenon!

Yeah, only wish I could see them more often.


@greddyforce, sorry to see you have less Hive Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 18
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(9/10) tipped @greddyforce (x2)

Join us in Discord!