Northern Lights - Sometimes You Win, Sometimes Lose

Catching northern lights is a game of trial and error. Following the forecasts and models is a road halfway to the win but never a guarantee. About a couple of weeks ago we had an evening with a very good forecast and according to the graphs, the situation was great.
I usually don't drive out unless there is some proof that the lights are visible, for that I watch live cameras. At some point around 10pm, the lights blew up really suddenly, I could see them from the front of my home.
I quickly packed my camera, jumped in the car and drove to the Tilgu port which is an adequately dark spot.

DSC_0150.jpg

Sadly the biggest show has passed already when I arrived, said the photographers that were already there. Still, there was something to see yet. I started to wait because the northern lights can blow up randomly again.

DSC_0152.jpg

Tilgu port is nearer to my home and has a great seascape scenery to capture with northern lights but it is also a bit brighter than Tyrisalu cliff I have been going mostly to capture northern lights this year. This time I chose to drive a sport nearer to me.

DSC_0154.jpg

Sadly, the northern lights didn't blow up insanely anymore but they did not go away entirely for quite a while.

DSC_0160.jpg


DSC_0163.jpg


DSC_0166.jpg

Finally, graphs and models showed me that the activity is decreasing and I could see that there was not much to see anymore, I decided to leave.
Later in the night, the activity increased again and I went outside to the darkest spot I have near my home. Unfortunately, this is not dark at all and the conditions are very poor. There is so much light pollution as you can see on the photo + we had a full moon lighting up the sky. I barely saw it with my naked eyes but the camera saw a bit more.

DSC_0170.jpg


Some good eruptions happened on the sun recently and one of the blasts was towards the earth so there is a possibility for tomorrow's evening. I will be on the lookout. Evenings/nights are getting brighter and brighter fast and it might be one of the last, if not the last time this season to see the northern lights. The sky is already bright up until 9 pm already.




Untitled-1.png

Sort:  

It honestly seems too good to be true that aurora borealis can be seen in Estonia... :-) Lovely photos!

Absolutely, but is! Rarely it's like really crazy like earlier in February.

It looks amazing 😍. Never seen it with my own eyes yet. Good luck! Hope you will have another great view.

Congratulations @greddyforce! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 78000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 79000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!