Reliving Good Old Times

Begrazingsgebied 30 april 2012-77-Enhanced-NR.jpg

Slowly Starting To Feel Better

What a week! Slowly I'm starting to feel a little better again and just as slowly I'm starting to become interested again in doing more than just resting a lot. And that invited me to take a look through all my Discord notes. You never know when I've missed something really important. The majority of all notifications could simply be clicked away and were not worth the effort. Which is immediately a reminder to take a look at those notifications and set them up even better. The fewer notifications I get, the better it is. If I don't see a notification, I don't have to worry about it, and ultimately only the important notifications will remain.

Free Inspiration

But several notifications were worth taking a closer look at. And so I came across the notification from @friendlymoose´s blog that there is still time to participate in this week's POB Photo Contest. The theme is "Water".

21 april 2010-3063.jpg

You can of course go in many directions with this theme, and if I felt even better, I might have put a little more effort into photographing drops. Or I would have gone to a body of water with Skipper to take pictures. But unfortunately, that is still a bit TOO much to ask at the moment. So what then? After all, it is an opportunity to receive a moment of inspiration free of charge, without any effort.

Dive Into My Photo Collection

I decided to dive into my photo collection and see what photos I have there that might be suitable for this theme. I am 100% sure that I have photos with water. That's not the problem. But which photos should I use for my blog? That was a thing.

Maashorst-058.jpg

It Was Not A Simple Task

While searching I came across so much that I quickly sank into my many memories. In the end, it wasn't just a simple task to find a photo. It was an evening of "Reliving Good Old Times". When I think back to all those times I wandered through the Maashorst with Rowan and Myla, I can't help but smile. We left so many footprints and paw prints there together. Moments full of adventure, many discoveries, beautiful memories made with friends, and all in the middle of beautiful nature. De Maashorst is a large nature reserve located in the heart of Brabant. For me, it is a place where I grew up, and where I have always liked to visit because of the versatility of this area. Everything can be found there, from lush forests to heathlands. You can walk on beautiful paths, but you can also choose to deviate from the beaten track and explore the wilder nature.

Every Time Of The Year

At any time of the day, and any season of the year, there is something to experience and something new to discover. And we have wandered around there every time of the year. Under the sweltering summer sun, and in the bitter cold with a blanket of snow. Nothing was too crazy, we were happy on the Maashorst. The rustling of leaves under our feet, the song of birds high in the trees, and the lapping of the large pool of water, every sound was familiar to us.

IMG_7844.jpg

Favorite Place

One of my favorite places in the Maashorst was the pond. And that was certainly a favorite place not only for me but also for Rowan and Myla. As soon as I parked the car and let the dogs out of the car they ran to the water. They didn't know how fast to run in, and they stood there waiting for me. When they had enough of the water, they ran into the woods and our forest walk began, each time coming back to the water so they could cool down from running through the woods. Sometimes we went for a walk through the area where the wildlife roamed and then they had to remain on a leash. You don't want any accidents. That was certainly no less fun for me, but Rowan and Myla thought differently about it, so we usually opted for the water and the piece of forest where there was no game around at the time.

We Found Our Peace There

We spent hours there, and hidden among the trees and greenery, on the water, we found our peace, away from the hustle and bustle and noise of everyday life. It was the perfect way for us to be ourselves. While I watched my dogs, I could let my thoughts wander and enjoy the beautiful nature.

Maashorst-017-Enhanced-NR.jpg

Realizing How Lucky I Was

As I reflect on all those precious memories, I realize how lucky I was to experience the Maashorst the way I did. With Rowan and Myla, I experienced moments here that will remain in my heart forever. I would love nothing more than to experience the same moments of connection with nature and each other with Skipper. Unfortunately, I no longer live so close to the Maashorst, and I no longer have access to a car during the day. That time is over, our lives have led us to different paths.

Maashorst-049.jpg

A Special Place In My Heart

In addition, the Maashorst has also changed enormously. The last time we were there with Lana, Myla, and Skipper, it was not the Maashorst as I knew it. But despite the changes, it will always have a special place in my heart.

IMG_9648.jpg

Posted Using InLeo Alpha