Bangkok Pride Parade πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆβœ¨

in Photography Lovers β€’ 10 months ago

DSCF3232.jpg

I was looking for some fun to do in Bangkok when I saw a poster about Pride Parade happening on the first Sunday of June to celebrate Pride month. I realized I got lucky we went to Thailand at the end of May so that means I'll be able to attend. :D

I didn't know what to expect here since I've never been to a Pride parade before. I just know there will be a lot of people attending, both locals and foreigners. So I read on where the event is taking place and luckily it's just in Siam center, which is just maybe 7 minutes walk away from our hotel.



DSCF2765.jpg

The parade starts at the Bangkok Art and Culture Center and ends at CentralWorld where there's a big stage for some performances.



DSCF2747.jpg

DSCF2751.jpg


As expected, there's a lot of people in here. The parade has a lot of groups involved.



DSCF2777.jpg

Since I didn't expect to attend some events in Thailand, I just brought 1 lens with me throughout the whole travel. I only have my 23mm wide lens so this photo I have to crop it all the way hahah so it's not the best quality.



DSCF2781.jpg

"I love myself the way I am"... as how we all should do. <3



DSCF2790.jpg

DSCF2798.jpg


There are different communities involved and one of them was the furries community (not the exact name I think lol). Everyone was so proud to parade their dresses, costumes, creations, protest cards, etc.. Thank goodness the sun wasn't that harsh that day but it was still soooo warm that day like almost no wind and yet they are wearing these! The dedication is just topnotch and I'm here to see it! :D



DSCF2821.jpg

Everyone is just so supportive and would cheer on each other. Seriously all the energy here is just LOVE LOVE LOVE and I've never seen this kind of energy before. Just all smiles and cheers to strangers.



DSCF2833.jpg

Pride parade is not just a showcase of who we are, but it mainly a protest. I love seeing all these cards/signs(?) and honestly I hope one day this shouldn't exist anymore. That we don't have to protest anymore for basic human rights. Well of course that means because we've already achieved them. Small steps but I think Thailand is slowly getting there.



DSCF2844.jpg



DSCF2847.jpg



DSCF2859.jpg



DSCF2864.jpg



DSCF2860.jpg



DSCF2887.jpg



DSCF2890.jpg



DSCF2893.jpg

These queens were being cheered on when they went up the escalator, probably to go inside the mall for the AC haha. But the vibes were like they're at a concert and it was so fun to witness lol.



DSCF2901.jpg



DSCF2927.jpg



DSCF2930.jpg

DSCF2945.jpg

DSCF2952.jpg


DSCF2960.jpg

YES IT IS!

DSCF2963.jpg



DSCF2976.jpg

DSCF2985.jpg


DSCF2999.jpg



DSCF3013.jpg



DSCF3017.jpg



DSCF3025.jpg

So fucking gorgeous!!!

DSCF3031.jpg



DSCF3044.jpg

DSCF3128.jpg


DSCF3088.jpg



DSCF3109.jpg



DSCF3119.jpg



DSCF3123.jpg



DSCF3142.jpg



DSCF3154.jpg



DSCF3166.jpg



DSCF3178.jpg



DSCF3190.jpg



DSCF3244.jpg



DSCF3254.jpg

The main stage took place at CentralWorld and during that time Pita (the one who won the election recently) was speaking about his support of the LGBTQIA+ community and communities related to them. He was also part of the parade to show his support.



DSCF3259.jpg



DSCF3271.jpg



DSCF3292.jpg



DSCF3294.jpg

In the end were some performances and a lil talk that I wasn't able to understand cos they were in Thai haha. The event finished at 8pm.




DSCF3245.jpg

I'm so happy and proud of being able to witness this amazing event with such amazing people. Everyone was so vibrant and positive.

I'm so happy Thailand has a community as big as this and I can see they are being so progressive especially seeing a lot of local youths joining the parade. For a country known for having a lot of sex workers, they should have more rights and protection. As far as I know, sex work is still illegal in the country and making it legal will grant them protection.

Still, it is very refreshing to see the youth fight for human rights. I'm so happy for them for standing up and wanting changes for the better.

Sort: Β 

It sounds like you had a great time at the Bangkok Pride Parade! I'm glad you were able to experience such a positive and supportive event. It's clear that the parade was a lot of fun, and it was also a powerful protest for LGBTQ+ rights. I hope that one day, we won't have to protest for basic human rights, but until then, it's important to continue to show our support for the LGBTQ+ community.

I love the photos you shared. They really capture the energy and excitement of the parade. The furry community looks like they were having a lot of fun, and I'm glad you got to see them. The signs and posters are also very powerful, and I hope they will help to raise awareness of the challenges that LGBTQ+ people still face.

True, we're just here to support them. The furry community was indeed so fun hahah. They were dancing and with loud music as well, amidst the heat!!

Aaagh, love this! Pride March has been and will always be a protest - not just for LGBTQIA+ rights but also for other pressing social issues. Two Pride March celebrations were held dito sa NCR last month and I was able to join one of them! Felt like home, really. Glad you were able to appreciate BKK's march!

not just for LGBTQIA+ rights but also for other pressing social issues

YEEESSS.

Ahh nice! I read somewhere that the one recently in NCR was the biggest gathering so far we had in Asia? Crazy times, I thought we going backwards too much but good to know there is still hope.

the one recently in NCR was the biggest gathering so far we had in Asia

Yeeep! Sa Quezon City yun (the one I attended was in Makati). It was an interesting event - heard their mayor's going to implement a Right to Care system where queer couples can make medical decisions for each other.

There's still so much ground to cover but it does feel nice to know that there's a huge community out there that wants to achieve the same things you do. ✨

Finally India is favour of LGBTQ and people can do parade. Nice sharing

Id like to see a day where our community no longer have to do a protest but you know i still like to have a pride parade if ever it's approved πŸ’– πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆ I've only experienced pride parade by looking a far when davao had this event .. Wishing to join in, but i was at the jeep that time πŸ˜†
But they all got my support..

I hope i get to experience this too, joining the pride month parade 😍

Would love to see a pride parade where it's only a celebration of the success of all the fight we have been doing.

Hah, you'd have to be a very brave soul to join in Davao. You know how disgusting the politics and the mindset of the people here. 100 years backwards. May chance ma redtag ka na, may mag pe-preach pa sa tabi mo while doing the parade. Crazy.

That's an interesting parade to attend at least once in your life. O never attended one so far but it's on my list 😁

It's so fun indeed lol. You should definitely attend at one of them parades and hopefully it will be as fun as this one.

That is so cool. I went to my first pride parade last month. It would be so fun to go see the parade in Thailand.

Ohhhh nice! Yeah I don't know how different they are compared there but just here everyone just smiles at everyone. So much love for real

its so nice to see that many countries suport this kind of activities , we in our country we have called this thing pride month..

Yeah June is international pride month. :D

Awww this is so nice, I'm glad you had a really good time in the parade ❀️❀️
!LUV !HUG

Dear @hiddenblade, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @queercoin.
(1/2)

@hiddenblade, @queercoin(1/1) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

pride marches years ago were just that, do you not think they have become tyoo political and are being hijacked? great colourful shots though
stuff the politics

They have always been political and always just wanted rights just like everyone else. Like what part of this do you think they are being hijacked?

eco nazis, certainly here in the UK. (I am all for freedom of sexuality).You are marching for your rights to be gay bi, whatever, keep everything else out of it