A [failed?] search for the sunset

in Photography Lovers3 years ago (edited)

If I drive about an hour from home, I can get to any number of wonderful locations in the UK's Peak District National Park. It's a stunning area of upland moors and rocky edges with many photographic opportunities. I'm very proud to be a Photography Ambassador for Let's Go Peak District and to help promote such a beautiful part of the world with my images.

As it's the summer, the heather is starting to bloom and so I headed out for an afternoon hike and sunset shoot, in the hopes of catching some golden light on the purple moorland flowers.

I left home under bright skies, but as I crossed the Peak I could tell it had been raining heavily not long before. I parked up, and as I got out of my air-conditioned car I was immediately struck by how humid conditions were. Within a few hundred meters, the sweat was dripping off me (not a pleasant mental picture for sure!).

As I climbed the path to Derwent Edge, I could see that the humidity was affecting the whole area - even in the late afternoon, low clouds and mists were forming in the valleys, especially over the reservoirs, and lifting up to catch the sunlight.

 - © Kieran Metcalfe BdrSig-10.jpg

 - © Kieran Metcalfe BdrSig-6.jpg

The air itself was heavy and hazy, with great shafts of sunlight and shade beaming down from the broken clouds.

 - © Kieran Metcalfe BdrSig-5.jpg

 - © Kieran Metcalfe BdrSig-11.jpg

 - © Kieran Metcalfe BdrSig-7.jpg

I arrived at my planned destination - an iconic rock formation known as the Salt Cellar - just as the sun went behind an enormous bank of cloud. I had a strong suspicion that would be the last of the light for the day, as the cloud looked to stretch out to the horizon with a suggestion of heavy rain in the far distance.

 - © Kieran Metcalfe BdrSig-12.jpg

Half of the enjoyment I find in Landscape Photography is sticking with the hand we're dealt, and working with location and conditions to find a shot that can still give a viewer a sense of what it felt like to be there.

As the clouds moved overhead, I set about looking for a vibrant patch of heather to make a strong composition. I've shot looking out across the valley before, and didn't want to repeat that angle, so I found a different spot which looks along Derwent Edge to the north. A small dry stone wall added a boundary to the scene.

The setting sun was still able to catch the tops of the clouds above me, and a slight chink in the lower layers allowed a slight orange glow to break through for just a moment.

 - © Kieran Metcalfe BdrSig-9.jpg

I have learned the hard way that we should never give up until darkness falls, so I kept the camera in position and waited to see if the sun might find an elusive gap on the horizon and burst through at the last push.

That didn't happen.

However, something else did, and it made this an utterly memorable evening.

A bright patch to my left caught my eye, and turning round I saw a wall of fog being driven by the wind up the hillside from the reservoir, right in my direction. I grabbed a quick video on my phone while it advanced (and stopped recording just before it came into the shot I'd set up).

I then shot a number of images as the fog rolled over me, and then up and over the edge onto the moors. (Low quality gif)

Here's a quick and dirty GIF of the fog bank blowing through my composition. There's a couple of candidate images in these frames for a final shot :) https://t.co/BJluXHoSXz pic.twitter.com/zF2iSJcTQn

— Kieran Metcalfe 💙 (@kiers) August 5, 2021

But in that sequence, I caught a few moments which I am very happy with, and which show the progression of the fog across the scene.

 - © Kieran Metcalfe BdrSig.jpg

 - © Kieran Metcalfe BdrSig-2.jpg

 - © Kieran Metcalfe BdrSig-3.jpg

As with so many trips out, I didn't get the conditions that were forecast, but I often find a forecast is nothing more than a kick up the backside to get out of the house. The joy of photography is documenting what I find when I'm there and presenting the beauty that's there in all conditions.

All these images were taken on a Canon 80D with either EF 70-200mm f4L, EF-S 17-15mm or Tokina 11-16mm. Most used a Formatt Hitech Firecrest polariser to help cut through the worst of the haze, and the shots of the Salt Cellar used a 3-stop Formatt Hitech Onyx Soft Edge Grad to balance the brightness in the clouds.

Sort:  

The foggy clouds are just as beautiful, a nice counterpart to a sunset.

Thanks very much indeed :)

Far from failed, I would say! :)
Welcome to the platform, good to see great fresh photography here! Any questions, I would love to help.
A friend of mine lives relatively close to the park and I hope to be able to spend some time with my camera there once and if our world comes back to "normal". What's the most photographical time of the year to visit it? I suppose late spring/early summer?

Thanks very much for the welcome and the tip too!

The Peak is a wonderful location any time of year really. For the next few weeks the heather will be coming in, which creates a stunning colour on the tops, but equally, out of heather season the muted tones can be just as lovely (just in a different way). Getting towards to the cooler months, there's frequent mists and cloud inversions in the valleys, and the views from the rocky edges are always good. The woodlands in places like Padley are well worth a visit too.

Oh, I love mists so, for me... cooler months it is :D
I guess I'm now moving this bullet point up my to-travel-list :D

Have a great day, cheers!

No worries - and you!

Congratulations @kiers! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day

Onwards and upwards...

You're welcome @kiers 😊👍
Support us back and vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and bigger upvotes from us when we notify you.

@kiers, thank you for supporting the HiveBuzz project by voting for our witness.

Here Is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day

Man never realized you made it on here. I see you found the communities. also the #introduceyourself tag is a good one to use