Say welcome to autumn

in Photography Lovers4 years ago


butterfly resize.JPG

Now we are living the autumn. How would you express it?
The first thing that comes to my mind is the leaves. Falling leaves and dried leaves. And the brown color of the soil, also some yellow and orangeness of nature.

So my goal here is to express this season with objects at hand with the aid of visual composition. The colors and the feeling are already in my mind. And I was so lucky that the other day we found a dead butterfly at home. Still intact. I could use it to highlight the coming of autumn. Since a butterfly is a symbol of summer or spring, and since I have a dead body of a butterfly, the story can unwrap itself easily: The summer is leaving us and autumn is emerging.


20200924_141603.jpg

I hope playing with the body is not disrespectful.

Also, I found some decorative leaves to depict the crunchy and dried leaves of autumn. The white ornaments on them may bring some additional value as well. The red fibers are perfect for holding the butterfly elevated while creating additional decor.


20200924_141632.jpg

I placed a colored A4 paper as a backdrop. Also, some stones could be used to create texture. As being a solid object, stones can be used as supports for the leaves as well.


20200924_141054.jpg

This is my chosen shot for the arrangement:

butterfly orj resize.JPG

I felt the image is a bit sharp, to much contrast may be. Also, there are distracting edges scattered around. To get rid of them I cropped the frame with square form. For the contrast problem, adding some whiteness may yield good results. My solution is to put some clouds and a white vignette.

For me, the clouds are a metaphor for the butterfly as being lifted to the sky. It looks like a dead body being transported. To heaven maybe.

Autumn is in the background with brownish colors and dry leaves. Summer is in the body of a butterfly, summer is leaving us.


butterfly resize.JPG




Still not on HIVE?
Join this strong community here.


Sort:  

Nicely put together 😉👍🏼

Thank you 👍