Alleys Of The Past

DSC00372.JPG

If Malaysia has George Town, Indonesia has its own multicultural city that its roots go deep from the dutch colonialism, called Semarang. In this city, almost every building has a deep history and exudes the glory days of Europeans and traders who are mostly from China. The narrow streets, the street lamps, and the tall buildings and even the roads that aren’t typical of many Indonesian cities are still preserved until today. In an area called Kota Lama, or translated as Old town, we can see various buildings that are now either abandoned or looking for new owners. Many of these buildings look either European or have Chinese influences in its architecture. But the most enticing place would be its alleyways. They provide us with a look into the past, the memory of colonization and multiculturalism that exist in this area.

DSC00386.JPG

The plaza was quite lively, and it was as I expected; the barista from a cafe I went to earlier, told me the area is more lively during the afternoon. So, after I was settled, I changed into something more comfortable and explored the area. I was honestly scared but since these days I am in the mood for some adventure, I picked up my pace and went outside with my camera, blending in like other tourists whose eyes fixated on either their camera or their phone recording every inch that the place has to offer. From what I saw, this place mostly attracts east asian tourists as in this city, there is a massive tribute temple for a great Chinese explorer, Zheng He or the locals call it, cheng ho.

DSC00279.JPG

I walked through the plaza and saw many youngsters chatting around and a few photographers who were hunting pictures around the old town. It was mesmerizing to walk in that plaza. When I look at the architecture, designs and its placement, it’s not Indonesia, it’s another place. However, as soon as I look down with the traffic, vehicles and even the foot traffic, not to mention how sweltering it was, I know that I am still in Indonesia but only surrounded by mementos of another era.

DSC00300.JPG

DSC00304.JPG

DSC00341.JPG

There is a massive church that stood tall with a large garden and pigeons who were perching above its dome and flying around the buildings. A group of girls were feeding them and it was such a lovely sight. I even stopped and sat on the bench just to see their interaction.

DSC00322.JPG

DSC00325.JPG

I swear, you can spend hours dazed and mesmerized by the architecture around here. Somehow, it connects me to Cuba or Spain more than the Dutch architecture or atmosphere. It’s truly a feast for the eye especially if you like architectural photography. But if you like going off the beaten path like I do, exploring the hidden alleyways was worth it as well. In the alleyways you can find cafes, restaurants, local cuisines and even art galleries.

DSC00281.JPG

DSC00287.JPG

DSC00288.JPG

DSC00278.JPG

In the area, the buildings used to belong to either trading companies or some kind of bar and classic styled cafe. There are even cigarette factories that I stumbled upon which was intriguing as it was creepy yet mesmerizing. Some alleyways were either like this, showing that it has Chinese influence or something like this below, where it is a mixture of European and Indonesian architecture.

DSC00286.JPG

DSC00351.JPG

DSC00357.JPG

DSC00362.JPG

DSC00361.JPG

While I was exploring my last alleyway, I saw girls dancing for tiktok in such a creepy place. I admit, the place was quite unique but it was tad creepy and horror for a tik tok dance. While taking these pictures, I was mostly mesmerized. It’s my first time exploring this part of town and it’s nothing like I’ve seen around in Indonesia. Even the previous part of town with European influence looks nothing like this. Semarang is truly an exception that managed to preserve its historical values unlike most areas that are known to have been renovated and renewed. This old town with its haunting windows and buildings offers attraction itself.

DSC00363.JPG

DSC00381.JPG

DSC00384.JPG

DSC00380.JPG

DSC00398.JPG

DSC00399.JPG

DSC00370.JPG

DSC00373.JPG

thumbnail.jpg

Hope You Enjoyed This article! If you do, don't hesitate to upvote or comment. You can also support me below!



image.png𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢. 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘫𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘦𝘺 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭, 𝘯𝘰𝘰𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘴, 𝘱𝘳𝘰𝘥𝘶𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘮𝘪𝘯𝘪𝘮𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘴𝘵 𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘦𝘴𝘵𝘺𝘭𝘦, 𝘤𝘺𝘣𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘤𝘶𝘳𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘨𝘶𝘢𝘨𝘦𝘴. 𝘐𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘧𝘳𝘦𝘦 𝘵𝘪𝘮𝘦, 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘫𝘰𝘺𝘴 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘷𝘢𝘳𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴. 𝘐𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘭𝘪𝘬𝘦 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘯𝘵, 𝘥𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥.
Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @macchiata ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

That tree root wall does look creepy. I won't dance there like the young girl. Or maybe they gotten used to it?

here, you might see someone giving an offering to the tree. : ) hahaha

Yeah, I think they just get used to it now, so no wonder they don't actually do anything with it.

Such a cool little area. The shots of the roots growing on the building is super cool.

Funnily, the locals call it " The Groot". I visited them again this morning and it's still super cool. Not many people were around it too unlike other spots in the area.

Cities that can preserve their history are always incredible. When I visited a bridge in Adana, I could see how old it was. I could imagine how many armies passed over it and how many people crossed it. It's not a great place for Tiktok, but it is for taking photos.

hahaha I mean, kids these days do Tiktok everywhere! so maybe they do that over the bridge, you never know.

Wow!! My late grandpa resident had same window.
Thanks for bringing back my memory

That's so cool! They are pretty old and just learned today in this area there are many prostitution too.

Wow - it looks fantastic there - nice pics !!! I love the colonial style architecture - its awesome !
!PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @hoosie

remaining commands 1

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


It is! there are many of it in the area and it's one of the reason I went to this city.

Excellent shots! They're imbued with history and wonderful elements of design.

Indeed! I am still mesmerized and I found more things to do today!

At first glance, you can already tell that they have a lot of history behind them... and a long time since they were built. They are all very pretty.

Good street photography bro! well done!