Full Wolf Moon

DSC02552.jpg

Today I discovered and learned a new term in a camera. It's digital zoom and optic zoom. Apparently my camera has 70x digital zoom and 35x optic zoom. From what I read, digital zoom is something like a crop image then zoomed in. Meanwhile optical zoom is an actual zooming. These two differs in quality with optical zoom more superior than digital zoom. Correct me if I am wrong though. And though, the quality sure differs but it is fun to me that I get to see the moon, up close.

Unfortunately, it was raining where I live. So, it wasn't as clear as I'd like it to be. I tried to do some post-processing with lighroom but it didn't turn out as I'd like it to be.

processed with lightroom

Processed With Lightroom

Today, I also learned that moon phases has different names each month. For example, The January full moon is traditionally called the Wolf Moon because wolves can be heard howling at the moon more around this time of year. I hope this year, I can get a better camera + better lens. So I am manifesting this and hoping it can come through just before the end of the year 😂.

These moon pictures are taken with different settings and zooming. Like this one was taken with optical zoom instead of digital zoom.

DSC02542.JPG

Meanwhile this one was taken with digital zoom over 70x
DSC02552.JPG

I wanted to capture the craters like I used to in the past. I guess, I was lucky that time. So, all I can do right now is research when we can see the moon's crater and I can only hope it won't rain.

Without a tripod, sometimes I get results like these below:

DSC02548.JPG

DSC02553.JPG

DSC02537.JPG

So, it's really better to use a tripod and a timer when capturing still object like the moon.

Did you go out and watch the moon today?

If you didn't, grab a camera and hopefully you get to be at a nicer spot than mine. Unless, you want to suffer like me and going through a lot of blurry ones before getting the good shots.

Find me on my instagram @ mactravelogue for more photography related content.

thumbnail.jpg

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this !


image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
Sort:  

Come see craters, they said, there will be craters, they said, but I see no craters. Where are my craters!? 😁

It still looks rocking without craters. Much better than my blob of light with the smartphone. Did you use a tripod?

In the past couple of months, I've seen the Sun once or twice. It pours buckets in Winter. Now it's not only cloudy, but it's also misty. So not a chance for a moon shot, but I'm happy with a moonwalk

Totally. Just bright spot. Lol

I checked your photography lately, they are all so cool! sorry that I didn't visit yours more often than I should have. 😅 I am often either too overwhelmed and tired to do that. That one, I didn't use my tripod so it's all bit shaky and blurry before I got a proper one. I hope you get to shoot the moon. It's pretty cool. Then you realized, you want a better camera and upgrade your lenses 😅

I've been having fun with my new camera. I do wish I had one with multiple lense choices and so on, but I think that this little guy is unique enough to stand on its own, and even swim.

I didn't use my tripod

I had no idea the tripod was such a key piece, so I got a cheap one before doing my propper research. Now, I know I have to get a better one, but I'll use the one I just bought for the rest of the year. They say it helps if you don't touch the camera when taking a picture with a tripod. Thankfully, Olympus has an app that allows you to take pictures remotely with your smartphone. I can't wait to try this. Maybe a moonshot if the sky ever clears. 🙂

Nice pics!!!

Totally right, digital zoom use software to zoom in and quality will be affected. For quality choose only optical zoom.

You may edit after and zoom in using Photoshop or other, and will get similar result and maybe with few edits a better quality pic.

I read that's the case, digital zoom is better during processing than before the processing. So, I guess, I'll just use optical zoom from now on especially for shooting the moon to get better clarity of it.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Keren fotonya👍

Excellent, I also made a post of the moon, but it was in its maximum splendor and with a totally clear sky.

Interesting. I have heard the wolf moon before but I didn't know it was because of that. Now I'm curious to find about the rest of the months.

Nice moon shots. Hope the rain there isn't terrible?

I'm heading to Instagram now Lol

!PIZZA

It wasn't that terrible but still, it'd be nice if that was crystal clear sky.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@samostically(3/5) tipped @macchiata (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!