Welcoming 2022 • New Year Family Photoshoot

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

new year cover.JPG

christmas.png

Welcoming 2022 • New Year Family Photoshoot

As 2021 came to an end people had different ways of celebrating the New Year from playing parlor games, singing karaoke or making some noise. We decided to do a family photoshoot to make things different. I am no professional photographer but I have been shooting for 4 years now and still have so much to learn. Last year I completely stopped shooting due to depression and anxiety but friends here encouraged me to pick up and shoot again. Now I am back on track and doing what I love once again.

2.JPG
f/1.8 1/4 secs ISO 400

The location was at my brother-in-laws house but there is not much space inside to do the shoot. So I decided to do the shoot outside on their front lawn.

My camera is a Lumix GX85 which I had since 2017. The lens is an Olympus 45mm 1.8 which in 2020. I also used an ND filter for this shoot.

1.JPG
f/1.8 1/3 sec ISO 400

As a remote, I used the Lumix Image App which I find very useful. The downside tends to have a delay in response when the mobile phone is blocked. You could see me holding a phone to trigger the shutter. Doesn't look good in the family photo 😆. You can hide it but sometimes the delayed response can be annoying.

3.JPG

4.JPG
f/2 1/8 sec ISO 800

I usually depend on natural lighting and I am still trying to learn about studio lighting. I am hoping to get some tips from professionals as I know there are a lot of people here who do this for a living.

5.JPG
f/2 1/13 sec ISO 800

The light I used is two cheap softboxes pointed at the back and a ring light set up in front on the right side.

6.JPG
f/2 1/8 sec ISO 400

7.JPG
f/2 1/13 sec ISO 800

Here is my brother-in-law and I did my first ever prenup wedding shoot back in December 2019 for them.

You can check the post below posted with my old watersnake101 account when I still had access to it.
Wedding Prenup Photoshoot with Philippine Culture Theme

Some of you might ask what happened to watersnake101. It's a long story but you could read about it here.
The Unfortunate Event of WATERSNAKE101 • A New Journey

8.JPG
f/2 1/10 sec ISO 800

The photo below is one of my favorite photos and I like the soft warm subtle lighting. I would like to hear from you if I could have done something else different to make it better.

9.JPG
f/2 1/8 sec ISO 800

When I was checking the photos I feel there is something wrong with the positioning of the softboxes. If I put it in front the light is too intense that is why I pointed them at the back instead.

10.JPG
f/2 1/13 sec ISO 800

I also have never used flash in my photography but something I also need to learn sometime if I want to get better.

11.JPG
f/2 1/10 sec ISO 800

Here are my in-laws and I love how my mother-in-law enjoys the shoot. I may ask her to do a photoshoot in the future.

12.JPG

Another issue I am getting is the flare, you would notice the two green dots on the right side of my daughter. I am trying to figure out how to get rid of them for years now. I could get rid of it thru photoshop but I am hoping there are other ways.

13.JPG
f/2 1/6 sec ISO 800

14.JPG

15.JPG
f/2 1/10 sec ISO 800

16.JPG
f/2 1/15 sec ISO 800

So there we have it our very first family photoshoot for 2022 and may you all have a great year ahead.

Please let us know what you think about our shoot as I would love to hear from you. I am very open to all feedback as a way to learn and grow.

Thanks for spending a little of your time with us and hope to see you again soon.

17.JPG
f/2 1/13 sec ISO 800

christmas.png

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and Olympus 45mm f1.8

hive youtube.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful portraits... :) Happy New Year!

Thank you @ackhoo I think I did a good job because you liked it 😄
Happy New Year and may all good things come your way!

Great shots! You have a lovely family.
Don't you dare and stop photography😉

Wish you all the best for this year✌🏻

Thank you a great warm up for the start of the year. Photography helped in my recovery and will never stop again. 😊

Happy Family together.
Happy New Year to all of you

Thank you @ace108. Happy New Year!! Looking forward for more beautiful sundays this year.

The shots are beautiful and very detailed. I love it, Happy new year Mhel1

!PIZZA

I appreciate it thank you. Happy New Year! Thanks for the pizza

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@tpkidkai(1/5) tipped @mhel (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Happy New Year. Wishing you happiness all year round for the whole family. 🎉

I wish you prosperity this New Year. Thank you!