Over the top HDRs from another life

There was a period about a decade ago when I enjoyed making multi-bracket HDRI's (High-Dynamic-Range imaging). Bracketing is taking several shots of the same subject using different camera settings. I then blended them using Photomatix Pro HDR, not shying away from using surrealistic blending modes. Unlike most modern cameras, the Canon 550D I was using at the time didn't have auto-braketing so I took 5 to 10 shots, manually altering the settings by hand between each shot.

Making these kind of images is not something I'm a fan of doing these days. I guess light painting taught me to get texture rich results straight out of camera and also I feel like the HDR look lost its charm over the years, but I thought it would be fun to share nonetheless.

This is a selection of some of the best ones from that time, starting with an abandoned farm in Alentejo followed by snowy landscapes in The Hague.

8358448519_cbcce38534_o.jpg

8359498564_95e24aa533_o.jpg

8358432841_9b870e4529_o.jpg

IMG_0828_29_30_31_32Enhancer1.jpg

IMG_0843_4_5_6_7Enhancer2.jpg

IMG_0774_5_6_7_8Enhancer1.jpg

Sort:  

back in the time when over-processed HDR was cool :D

i feel that there is still time an place for bracketing but it should less obvious :D

Indeed, though it's still nice to reminisce even if just to appreciate how much I've grown since then.

believe me or not, I never tried HDR even once. tho I assume its comically easy... maybe I should try it - at least a few times, just to dip my toes into it, to know the process better ?..

On most mobile phones these days it is done computationally in one click. A modern photo camera often packs enough dynamic range in raw format that it's possible to achieve the effect in one click too. The old fashioned way (that some still swear by) involves taking different photos at varying exposure values and blending them with software specifically for the purpose like Photomatix HDR or in Photoshop. Most of the work with these is choosing an appropriate blending mode in a computer. Lots of sliders and decisions in post. Some cameras have the function of blending different exposures into an HDR straight out of camera often giving not so many choices how they will do that.

With light painting I've grown to prefer single photographic exposures with no editing required.

I understand all the theory behind HDR technology - thanks for your time and explanations kindly suggested. I just never felt the urge to try myself. I even was not using the .raw format too... not until the recent 1-2 years. I know HDR can be multiplexed of one shot in PS... I prefer to play with all those sliders and 'develop' digitally each image separately... yes, this do not look too PRO and is time-consuming. I am just an amateur :P

There are all kinds of flavors of PROs and of amateurs. Neither have the right or wrong way of doing things. I often got into discussions about the topic of right and wrong with my old photography teacher in high-school. He was an absolutist insisting there were axioms in photography one should not break and I disagreed with most of them. We do what feels right for us at the time of doing. Time changes us and so do our tastes. It's all part of the many expressions of photography.

We do what feels right for us at the time of doing. Time changes us and so do our tastes. It's all part of the many expressions of photography.

OF COURSE! TOTALLY!
Same in typography. There are rules. RULES ONE CANNOT BREAK! Axioms.... and after you know them and aware of them all, its time to spread wings, and tell yourself, everything is possible, I should not follow everyday within this narrow route always. The subject is very sizeable to discuss, tho.... and it will bring no fruits. I totally fill the same as you (I hope I understood you correct). With just one correction (or addition) - this does not means the Rules should not be learned. they should! We build our skills, our experience standing on the giants shoulders, standing on the great experience of the centuries passed. One probably should not start everything from the scratch - or it would take him centuries to do that, too (haha). which is obvouusly is not possible, our life is too short for this!

have a !BEER my friend, and a little more !ENGAGE 30 token as an extra reward for your time.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @oddballgraphics, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Amazing pictures! They really have a special atmosphere to them, very surreal. Especially the third and the fourth one look quite trippy. Love it <3

Thank you! 😊

damn, looks like in a fairy tale :)

@tipu curate

Thanks 🙂.
No 🧚‍♂️ was harmed making these. Only maybe a few 👀

No 🧚‍♂️ was harmed making these.

really hope so!

Wow!
!discovery 40

Glad you like it. 🙂

I am a fan of HDR when it's not been done over the top, it can look quite good, but I do like these images lol.

Thank you! 😊

Posted using Dapplr


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

lovely shots, HDR gives a light why they are looking so unusual. too late to add my tiny upvote, so let me add a little !BEER instead as an extra reward, and appreciation of the efforts :)

Thank you! Unusual light indeed. Some hate it some love it. I enjoyed that phase while it lasted.


Hey @oddballgraphics, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.