A Wednesday Walk That Made Me Smile. A Lot.

IMG_20221207_132725492.jpg

text16.png

I recently purchased a one third share in a lake house in central NYS. Today's Wednesday Walk was along the shore. We have a good 700 feet of shoreline, and I could walk it all today because the water level is so low. Here are a few shots so you can see how lucky I am to be part owner of this property. We have lots of privacy on shore, and nature galore.

IMG_20221207_130822768.jpg

Looking north from the shore in front of the house

IMG_20221207_130830008.jpg

Looking west


IMG_20221207_132143605.jpg

Hazel braving the very cold water

IMG_20221207_131043844.jpg

I just think this is a cool shot

text15.png

Today's walk was from well beyond the far point in the photo below, which all is my land, to where I took this shot on the neighbor's land. As you can see, both homes have left the shore fairly natural. Lucky me!

IMG_20221207_132025598.jpg

text15.png

Look how nicely my pup waits for me as I traverse this somewhat treacherous terrain! Good dog!!! I love this shot. She looks like she is about to fly off into the great unknown.

IMG_20221207_131739350.jpg

text15.png

I saved my favorite shot for last. I'm not much of a photographer, and all these photos were taken with my not-so-smart phone. I did very little editing on most of them except for the thumb, which I spent quite a lot of time trying to make artsy.

For this final shot, I did no editing at all. I love the light as is, and the mood it evokes for me. I would NOT like to do a puzzle of this scene, but boy did I ever wish I had a canoe handy! Well actually, I did have a canoe handy, but no paddles!

Next year.

IMG_20221207_130846491.jpg

Looking south

image.png

image.png

This is my contribution to the Wednesday Walk and Make Me Smile challenges brought to us by @tattoodjay and @elizacheng.

Thank you so much for coming along on this walk with me.

Sort:  

Beautiful photographs @owasco!

These not-so-smart phones take pretty decent pictures these days, but one still needs to have an artistic eye for the right capture. You certainly have that gift!

I love those hazy distance shots, and the one with Hazel looking out yonder into the foggy looking abyss is kind of cool :)

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you my friend. I love being in hazy weather. The colors! Hazel is the best dog I could have hoped for. Right temperament (spunky, but no too), right size (not small, not big), loves people. Thank goodness I have had her these past few months.

Congrats on buying the property and what a beautiful spot it is

Thanks for joining the Wednesday walk :)

My pleasure! These are so nice to do. Gets me looking around myself in a very different way. Thanks for hosting it all these years!

totally my pleasure ot host the walk especially now I am not able to get out for many walks

Because of the weather?

The weather is part of it, secondly I have a blockage in my leg it seems which makes my right foot really feel the cold, had a scan yesterday and in a week and a half will find out if I need a surgery to clear the blockage, and thirdly, although my wifes shoulder is improving, she still cant use it for much so I stay home more to help her

Oh! I'm sorry to hear that! I hope you don't need surgery, and that it clears up by itself.
And that your wife's shoulder gets all better soon. My shoulder was out for months and months, and it really cramped my style - I couldn't do much of anything without help.

Ohh yeah without use of one shoulder it slows one down so much

thanks for the well wishes

Lucky indeed. That looks wonderful.

It's turning out to be a whole lot of work! It's been in my family since 1790, but only recently am I responsible for the place.

Beautiful pictures, I would love to live on the water but here if I could buy on it I would not be able to keep it because the property taxes are so high.

Yes they are high here too, but because we have enough land farmed, we get a bit of a break.

You do live on the water! I'm sure you spend a whole lot more time on water than I do.

I did not think of it that way, yes I spend a lot of my time on the water but always wished that I had a home on it.

Congrats for your acquisition! now that you are a owner of that shore, what can you do with it?

Nothing! I like it the way it is. It needs to be cleaned up, and we'll put a simple dock out there.

I'm happy to hear that you smile. It is good to go along a foggy bank.

Magical. The entire day was like that. I'd had a short walk in the back fields with my dog at dawn. The crows! I would have extended that walk except for the gun shots all around us, even on shore.

Of course I smile! lol

I'm reading Professor O now. Your illustrations are excellent, as always.

Oh good - it reached the destination. I just checked and the laptop I sent for Ifeanyi is still underway... Seems it has reached Nigerian Postal so I hope it will soon be delivered.

I am tempted to paint the last photograph. I agree with you, it really is a successful photograph. And although I don't like this grey in principle, I love the sun and the warmth, I would probably appreciate it less if it weren't for this grey-fog contrast.
So you own a third of it, how wonderful. I envy all landowners. I don't have any. What will you do with it?

It's a family home, been in the family since 1790. My sister and I bought out the other three of our siblings, and now each own 1/3. The remaining 1/3 is owned by a couple of women who inherited from a great uncle of ours. They are suing us to sell it all off so we can give them their free money. They have refused three reasonable offers for us to buy their share, because they are insisting that they should be paid what they would get if we sold the entire place off, in small pieces (there's 100 acres), to maximise their free money. We are challenging them in court.

If we settle that, I would like to get some permaculture plantings and design going on there. I may even move there. Who knows? Currently, because we don't want to invest too much on an unsure thing, I just go there regularly for upkeep purposes, and of course to enjoy the place, when I'm not slaving away keeping the house from falling down.