Let me show you some Pied Crow intelligence.

Many studies have been done on the intelligence of the Corvidae family and here is my own version. Note that this is in South Africa and over here we have the Pied Crow (Corvus albus) species.
077.jpg

I was amazed at the dexterity of the crow, as it didn't destroy the container.

Instead, he opened it neatly to see what's inside. This told me that it was not the first time for the crow to do this type of thing and bear in mind that he has received no training. The crow is a self-taught entrepreneur:)
We also have other species of the Corvidae family here, such as the White-necked Raven, Cape black crow and the House crow, but the pied crows are the most dominant in the built-up areas.
So, come and let's see how clever this crow is.

I will start from the beginning. The crow landed on this bin and there was a sealed container at the top of the bin.
073.JPG

Corvids display remarkable intelligence for animals of their size and are among the most intelligent birds thus far studied. Specifically, members of the family have demonstrated self-awareness in mirror tests (Eurasian magpies) and tool-making ability (e.g. crows and rooks, skills which until recently were thought to be possessed only by humans and a few other higher mammals. Their total brain-to-body mass ratio is equal to that of non-human great apes and cetaceans, and only slightly lower than that of humans.

Source

The crow gave me a quick look, but I was no danger to it, as I was at a distance away from him and on my zoom.
074.JPG

Now here's the clever part. He bit off the top corner of the container lid.
076.JPG

Stuck his beak into the open top corner, grabbed the lid and flipped the lid off the container.
077.JPG

Bang! Easy as you please as the container was now open and the crow took a little taste of the contents to see if it is up to his quality standards :)
078.JPG

Then it was lunch time and he filled his stomach.
079.JPG

080.JPG

Finally with a full stomach the crow was off to go and tell the gang that he found some food.
027.JPG

And he conveniently left the container open for his new lunch guests.
084.JPG

Some cleaner is going to blame the wind for blowing the container open :)
085.JPG

Then I left the scene to go and have some hot coffee.
105.JPG

Some clever points to mention here. Firstly, the crow was very neat in his actions. He knew that his chances were good to find food inside the container, as it was sealed. People normally crumple things up when they throw it into the bins. Then we see that the crow did not jump down to get the lid in order to place it back on the container, as he knew that other birds would also want to eat. The crow was also clever enough to test the food before he ate it, as it might have been poisonous.
We have to give the crow the credit for his intelligence.

I hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and the story.

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Until next time, Zac.

Sort:  

This would have taken a chunk of your time. I love every bit of this knowledge sharing.

Cheers

I do have the patience and time never worries me. Glad that you liked the knowledge sharing.

Cheers!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@papilloncharity(3/15) tipped @mandragora88
papilloncharity tipped ma3str0

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 13
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12

Incredibly intelligent - what a treat to witness. I simply adore wildlife, and have a special place in my hearts for all birds. This little cutie tugs at my heartstrings!

Thank you and I share your love for nature. There are a few YouTube videos about the intelligence of the crows and I was happy to get this crow in action and to share it.
Take care.
!PIZZA

I've never seen a pied crow before
It looks good
I don't think we have it here though

Nope, you won't see one as the crows are not migratory.
Very clever birds.
!WINEX

Wow! They really are smart, I've never seen anything like it.

Thank you and I am glad that I could show it to you !LOLZ

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 13
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - July 2023 Winners List
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 12

Here in Sweden we have pica pica Magpie a group that lives in the neighborhood, I have gotten to know them and they know me. When I come out with some food, they shout, now she's here!
Yes, Magpie is indeed present.

I have seen photos of Magpies as we don't have them here in South Africa.
Great that you give them food, as they have gotten used to you. Birds know who cares for them.
!PIZZA