Let me show you what a Zombie is.

Some of you saw this sign in my introduction post that I did a while ago, and I promised that I would show you the zombies in a post.
Remember this sign?
335.JPG

I like to explore places and this was right at the back boundary of the Plaasmol nursery near Hopefield town.

The last picture in the post will show you the big structure that called out to me to come and have a look at it. The sign above was next to one of the structure's legs. Yes, I should have figured what a zombie was, just by looking at the black and white statue of a "horse", but I have become a bit senile these days :)

Now look what was standing in the road behind that sign.
1209.JPG

Oh yes, a very real live Zebra. I asked around later why the locals call the zebras zombies, and nobody could tell me why.
1263.JPG

Again, I didn't catch on as this guy continued to look toward the right-hand side.
1297.JPG

Nonchalantly, he strode nearer to us and had we known we would have had some carrots on us. But it was a totally unexpected sight.
024.JPG

286.JPG

Casually, he strode back to his position on the road, still looking towards the right. And still I didn't click.
701.JPG

Finally, he looked toward the right again.
1301.JPG

So, I decided to walk in the direction that the Zebra was looking at and a big surprise was waiting for me.

Look! There was the mom and the baby, with the baby having a drink. I have never seen a baby zebra drinking from its mommy before, so this was a real treat.
485.JPG

Look at that cute little bugger!
659.JPG

I looked back at the father, and when I looked back I got a fright as I didn't hear any gunshots.
846.JPG

The baby was gone!
973.JPG

But now look again, something was sticking out from the fynbos.
962.JPG

And something more was sticking out from the fynbos. Then I realized that the baby was having a roll on his back in the growth.
1027.JPG

A great sigh of relief as he started standing up again.
1028.JPG

This was the sign that attracted me in the first place. It is a huge structure and the sign reads in English, "Ragdoll's chair".
1320.JPG

The saying is, to go out there and search as you will find what you are looking for. Sitting constantly inside, allows so many surprises to pass one by. Since childhood, I was hardly ever - and still am not - inside the house, as outside was my big playground. We didn't have toys those days, and Christmas was reserved for the purchasing and presenting of new school uniforms. So, we had to do our own thing, and I am so glad that we did, as it taught us independence. Street-smart little buggers, the adults used to call us. And as teenagers, we were all graduates and post-graduates from the university of life. Some of us turned out very bad, and others started to create a better life. Just the way that life is.

I hope you have enjoyed the story and the pictures.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting this post.

Sort:  

In my childhood, I always enjoyed going out to play on the streets or in my local wood. I still do! I love zombies and zebras. Thank you for an interesting post. 😊

Glad to hear this as then we are very similar in nature. Zombies as they call them are indeed beautiful animals, but I don't think that I would want to see real Zombies !LOLZ
Thank you for the visit :)


I really enjoyed both the story and the photographs.

It was a pleasant surprise this unexpected contact with this sweet and special zombie species.

Thank you very much dear @papilloncharity for sharing this pleasant experience!

Sending you warmest regards!

Thank you kindly and yes, it was a wonderful experience. Especially seeing the baby drinking from his mommy.
We are now also starting to call them Zombies !LOLZ
My pleasure to share and I am glad that you enjoyed it.

!LUV and take care.

@bravofenix, @papilloncharity(3/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

@ewkaw and the @qurator team, a sincere thank you for the curation.
Blessings to your work.

Oh yeah, I remember the post where you talked about the baby zombie and and the mother zombie. Wow! You got a zebra, I love zebras especially their skin design. It so good of you to have kept your zombie promise☺️

Thank you for remembering and oh yes, the Zebra's are magnificent animals. The bad thing that we have discovered since then is that they hunt the Zebras up there and we were shocked. I simply cannot understand why anyone would want to want around with a zebra skin handbag.
!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@papilloncharity(1/15) tipped @iskawrites