The Final. Contents of Hall 4- Franschhoek Motor Museum.

I have done halls 1,2,3 and here is the last hall 4.
IMG_4925.jpg

Hall 4 is part old cars and a special section is also allocated to South Africa's racing car history.

This old Peugeot Hillclimb Special 1953, for instance has a fascinating story behind it, as it is not a Peugeot because it was built by a private guy named Don Tout.
But due to him using the Peugeot premises to build the car, and it was built on a 1930 Peugeot 402 chassis, Peugeot claimed the car as theirs.
Interestingly the car has a Supercharger of a WWII Merlin 76 Aircraft Engine. So it might look like a piece of blue tin, but this car can go like a rocket.

At the end of the post, I have posted a small section on our racing history as South Africa has a very rich crop of champions in the car racing industry. We are also engaged in many other forms of races, such as the Dakar offroad contests and others. My first love, of course, is all the old classic cars and I have some beauties and some strange ones in here.
Come and look.

IMG_4924.JPG

Each of the cars will tell their own stories.
IMG_4899.jpg

IMG_4901.JPG

IMG_4900.JPG

IMG_4902.JPG

IMG_4904.JPG

IMG_4903.JPG

Look at this strange car, as I have never seen it before, but its number plate gives it away.
IMG_4905.JPG

Can you believe that it is a Studebaker Avanti 1964 and it was designed as a "Personal Luxury Coupe".
IMG_4906.JPG

The James Bond car we all know as the Aston Martin, featured in his movies.
IMG_4928.JPG

This Mazda series was a motor experiment.
IMG_4929.JPG

I was selling ice-creams at our international Kyalami racetrack in the 60's when one of these Renault Gordini cars came second in a 24 hour race. There were heavy rain downpours, and this little car sat like a bug on a blanket on the track, especially around the corners. And it beat many of the super charged racing cars.
IMG_4933.JPG

IMG_4934.JPG

IMG_4936.JPG

IMG_4938.JPG

And now for a few faster cars.

IMG_4918.JPG

IMG_4919.JPG

IMG_4921.JPG

Finally, a racing trophy showcase on display.
IMG_4922.JPG

I could have loaded many more cars in here, as there are more than 200 cars on show at the museum, but I hope that you liked my selection. It was mind numbing to see the precious old wheels on show here and we had a very great experience.
I also took some nature photos in the area, got a hawk or two flying over, and the best of all is that they make super coffee at the restaurant of the museum. So my day was made.

I promised that I would place a list of the contents of all four halls. Kindly visit the secure link below.

https://www.fmm.co.za/on-display/

Yes, I also have photos of the bikes, and there are some great bikes to see, but I will do that in a separate future post.

I hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and the story.

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post on behalf of @papilloncharity

Sort:  

I love convertible cars

Thank you and so do I :)

These cars are so beautiful and thanks for sharing.

Thank you and I am glad that you enjoyed the cars.

!BEER

Its collection so great

Thank you for your appreciation of the collection!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @emeka4 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I just love classic cars!!!

Thank you and I share your love of classic cars milady!

!PIZZA

I have a friend who owns a 1964 Studebaker Avanti. That car was way ahead of its time, but unfortunately it was not enough save the company. Studebaker was on its way out and closed down shortly after this in 1966 I believe.

I unfortunately never saw an Avanti on the road, but our police force in the 1960s used the Studebaker Larks as police cars. Pity that they had to shut down, as I wonder what their cars would have looked like nowadays.

!LOLZ

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@papilloncharity(3/10) tipped @littlebee4 (x2)
papilloncharity tipped joelai (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Great over view of this hall. I have to go for the Chevy again. Stunning 🤩
Beautiful colour too.
Thanks for sharing Zac love your selection of everything you saw.
Looking forward to the bikes one day.

!ALIVE

@papilloncharity! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @littlebee4. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you and there are many other Chevvy cars there, but this particular one brought back memories of my army days. We could pack 12 to 16 soldiers in one with a boot full of cheap wine on our way to the sea on a break.
Great that you loved the selection and thank you Jackie.

There is a very special Norton bike that also has a great history.

!PIZZA

Hahaha that’s cool to remember 😎 wow 12 to 16 men. Chevy’s are great.

Oh nice 👍🏻

!PIZZA

Oh yes, we packed the men in like sardines in a can 🤣

!PIZZA

Hahaha fun fun fun

!ALIVE

👉😁😲😜😂🤣👈 !LOL

@papilloncharity! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @littlebee4. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Dear @papilloncharity,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May we ask you to review and support the new proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can support the new proposal (#248) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Done! And as usual a pleasure to support, as you are doing great work!

As usual, thank you so much! 🤗

200 cars?! damn too much to look at, at once.
keep them for more selections, please.
by the way: !LOLZ at Renault Gordini -- model looks suspiciously similar to a soviet Zaporozhets - or rather, it's Zaporozhets look like Renault... I need to make some research to see if there was any copying here ?

No way do I have photos of 200 cars my friend. I only took photos of the cars that I liked.

I know that Renault partnered with a Romanian car company, but I don't know if they are also in Russia.
Zaporozhets is a very long name for a car and maybe they should just have called it a Biscuit !LOLZ

uff, relief! 😁 !LOLZ

Oh yes, they could have also called the car "Relief" 😜 !LOLZ

Dear friend. I mistakenly downvoted. Sorry, the pictures are great, it reminds me of my son's childhood toys

Thank you and we all make mistakes. Glad that I could give you some memories.