Autumn Leaves and Acorn Tops 🍂

in Photography Lovers3 years ago (edited)

The autumn is here. For some, it's all about grey weather, shorter days and rain - for others it's about colorful nature, chestnuts and new wine. It's on us to choose what we focus on.

As someone who loves the summer sun, it's easy to only think about the things that are gone, and miss out on the beauty of the new season. That's exactly why I took my camera to the park today (it's just a phone, actually, but it does the job) - to notice the little things.

IMG_1381.JPG

With abundance of oak trees, it's no surprise the ground is covered in acorns (I'm sure @oldtimer🐿️ would like this).

I remember receiving a children's book as a gift for finishing the first grade of the primary school. The book was called Little Man's Lucky Day (written by Max Velthuijs) and the story was about a tiny boy that lived in the woods and wore the acorn cupule as a hat. A bunch of really bad events happened to him - I only remember the instance when a chestnut fell from the tree above him and nearly smashed him with the spikes - and, every time, the little man was so happy that nothing worse happened. He believed it's his luckiest day.

It's kind of how I'm feeling these days. Thankfully, I have a lot of things to appreciate, including a caring family, a stable job in the most exciting industry, and a few good friends that I can have a laugh with. And I was COVID positive about 2 weeks ago so now I have the EU digital COVID certificate that's valid till March (sorry vaxers, I'm not quite on your side yet).

IMG_1371.JPG

I tried getting back into some of my old hobbies but the music group I applied to is not offering auditions at the moment and the swing dancing school is only accepting registrations in couples.

At least the libraries are still operating and I have a bunch of great podcasts to listen to (if you're interested in science and science-based tools for everyday life, check out Huberman Lab, it was my discovery of the summer, along with Jordan Peterson who's more into psychology and philosophy but often has some great comments about relevant topics like the recent Justin Trudeau and the Election that Should Have Never Been or Bitcoin: The Future of Money where he chatted with a software engineer who writes code for Bitcoin Gigi Der, ex-hedge fund manager Robert Breedlove, the creator of the film Hard Money Richard James and John Vallis, host of the Bitcoin Rapid-Fire podcast that brings on the industry’s experts to discuss world-changing technology.

IMG_1365.JPG

For now, I'm looking forward to the jazz concerts on Ljubljana castle on Fridays throughout October and November. Should be a fun season!

Sort:  

This is an interesting and current story. The pictures are beautiful too.
Did you mean @oldtimer instead of @olditmer? :) Thanks for sharing, @penticton.

Thank you @zoricatech. Quick fingers :)