Take Studio Portraits with me!

IMG_20220604_085708.jpg

IMG_20220604_085727.jpg

I gave studio photography a shot again this year after years of trying not to. For most of my photography journey, I've mostly been shooting outdoors, making use of natural light, chasing shadows and scouting different locations. A little back story why, when I was taking up a photography class back in college, I had a bad memory learning studio lighting from our teacher who wasn't of much help. We were basically on our own, I had a lot of questions how things should work, and a lot more frustration. Trying to avoid the embarrassment of looking like a complete fool, I avoided studio photography.

IMG_20220604_085838.jpg

But over time, I've met other photographers who were very comfortable with shooting at a photography studio. A buried interest sparked and what little knowledge I had before with this controlled light environment, I tried to learn and observe from other creatives who mastered this art form. I grew up and wasn't afraid or embarrassed to ask questions anymore. If i'm going to try this again, I'm going to do this right.

There are still equipments I'm familiar with but don't know what the names are, a few I think I have an idea how it should work, but then again maybe I'm wrong. I don't mind being proven wrong though, and being showed how it should properly be used.

The first few photographs of this blog are some behind the scenes of me art directing my subject, Cyrus, making sure I'm able to communicate how I imagined the photographs to look, suggesting poses, and showing him the results afterwards.

IMG_20220604_090100.jpg

This photoshoot was for mainly for his personal portfolio, Cyrus is a doctor and needed clean portrait photographs of himself to show if where he was working at needed these requirements, and since I was also practicing with the lights and everything studio photography, I made sure to make this as much of a learning experience as possible. 😌

Here are a few results I photographed from that day. Do share your feedback, thoughts and wisdom on studio photography, I would love to learn more.

20220604_091832_0002.png

20220604_091832_0000.png

20220604_091832_0001.png


About the Author
A human being with a passion for creating, Richard John is a photographer, artist, stylist and creative director from Cebu City, Philippines. He is always challenging himself to do better, learn more and try different mediums to create more.

.

If you like his content about the creative world he's in, don't forget to upvote, share your thoughts in the comments and maybe reblog. All forms of love is always welcome. Follow his journey here on Hive for more. ❤️