You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Look at this funny fella

in Photography Lovers3 years ago (edited)

It's been going on for a while, remember canned laughter to tell people when and how much to laugh? XD

Given that I have one adrenaline junkie child who is vaguely interested in base jumping and bungee jumping and all that I kind of amended the jump off a cliff thing to "everyone doing it doesn't make it right" which was more of an irritated retort to some ads (and even not ads) claiming "[large number of] people can't be wrong" yes they bloody well can be, hello history.

Thinking is a lot of hard work though. It leads to a lot of cognitive dissonance and also the risk of blame both of which cause bad/uncomfortable feelings and discomfort is to be avoided at any and all cost :)

ps - I've kind of developed a similar kind of banner blindness to post titles as I have for ads, they're just kind of things that may give some indication of what the post is about but is otherwise just there because they're required to generate the url XD

Sort:  

remember canned laughter to tell people when and how much to laugh?

Yes - I have a great post about this from 4 years ago - I think it earned 40 cents :D

9 out of 10 dentists...

I have a curiosity with the titles themselves, but not as indicators of the story, more as an indicator of what apparently works on society.

Of course you would have written about it 🤣 now I’m trying to remember if I’ve read it.

They have to say 9/10 or 99.98% or something like that because 100%/every could be considered “false advertising” because there is always that annoying dissenter who won’t just accept that everyone else is right and they are wrong because they just are 🤣

I do wonder about the people I hang around with versus “everyone else”, as most of the people I hang around with think clickbait titles are stupid. Do most people think they’re stupid and just click to be able to read the article or do people consider them at all or do people actually “fall for” them? 🤨