Monkey Rock, Lake Tahoe Photography

Yesterday, I got out for another hike up to a Lake Tahoe spot that I'm embarrassed to say, I had never been to before. I have shot from this area many times in the past, but I was never able to find the Monkey Rock, until yesterday. I went out with a friend who had been there before, she easily found it and pointed it out to me. DUH! How had I missed it?! I also noticed that the rock now shows up on Google Maps which makes it easy to find, it had not been on there before.

Oh well, better late than never, I finally now have some photos of the famous Monkey Rock. We arrived there just before sunset, it made for some great late afternoon golden light. The monkey looked like it was really enjoying the last of the day's sunlight while taking in that incredible Lake Tahoe view. I believe my face looked similar while I shot the monkey, smiling while feeling satisfied that I was finally capturing this scene.

_Q1A2990.jpg

These were both shot with the Canon 5DS R and a 24-105mm lens, no lens filters. The ISO was 320, the lens aperture was around f/9.0, and the shutter speed was 1/200 of a second. Handheld, no tripod for flash.

_Q1A2999.jpg

20231222_161600.jpg
See? Two smiling monkeys! lol

Thank you for looking and I hope you are all getting out for your own fun adventures.

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful! Looks like he is facing the winter solstice sunset, I wonder if that shadow from a rock in front of him covers his face at the sun set?

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family 🎄

Hmm, I'm not sure if the rock shadow covers his face. I moved on a bit for a different sunset view...
Happy Holidays @shasta!!!

See? Two smiling monkeys! lol

Look at you ape-ing the monkey 😂
Lovely view of the lake 👍

Yup, lol!!! I'm a bit jealous of the rock monkey. It always has the best view of the lake. I only get to see that view every once in a while... Happy Holidays!

To me, the face does not look like a monkey, it looks like a smiling teddy bear😂

Teddy Bear Rock sounds nice, I like it! But there are so many real bears around here. They might get offended...😂

You captured the Monkey Rock perfectly, considering another monkey was taking the photos, lol. Merry Christmas @scottshots

Thank you! I think... lol. Merry Christmas @sunscape!

Wow, very beautiful scenery and colors. And the stone is an addition to the entire frame, incredible work)

Glad you like that @alokeen! It's hard to go wrong with that lake as a backdrop.

Always happy to help

@scottshots Nice view with the roundness of the rock

It's a great view indeed! I love that lake.

The lake looks beautiful and very spectacular

Indeed! Such a great spot.

So cool!!
Nice view!!!

It was actually pretty warm for this time of year, lol. Glad you like that view!

This really looks so beautiful
Your pictures never disappoint

Thank you @biyimi! Glad you like them, it's such a great spot.

First of all all Scott, Merry Christmas to you.Nice scenery and so at peace to see the sunlight added with the blue sky.Wow such a majestic wonderful day.Never been there..but in my dream..one day will go there, to see this smiling monkey.

I was so happy to finally see monkey rock in person, it's really not that hard to find, but I have somehow always missed it... I hope that you do get to see it ine day. Merry Christmas @rencalson!

Your content has been manually curated by sagarkothari88
Upvote recommended by @bhattg as part of Encouragement Program
Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️

I myself like this season very much and this view is also very beautiful. We pray that the coming year will be good for all of us.