More Snow Photos! Yup, It Snowed Again...

We've been getting a ton of fresh snow here in Tahoe, again. It's been a big year! We broke records for early season snow totals, we have got to be getting close for record breaking season snow totals. And we are expecting even more snow soon...

Good thing I love the snow! After swinging by Gallery 5830' in Downtown Truckee yesterday afternoon, I took a walk and a drive around town with the camera. The roads were super slick and there were wrecked and stuck cars all over the place. Fortunately, I have studded snow tires so driving in icy conditions is easy, just a bit slow on days like these. Everything was looking beautiful but it was one of those days where I was having difficulty finding a photogenic scene.

The Truckee River did not disappoint! This is a fairly easy location to shoot, I was standing on a bridge. However... I was wearing blue jeans, not snow pants, in knee deep snow so there was a little bit of a challenge factor. Which always makes photography a bit more fun!

These were all shot with the Canon 5DS R and a 24-105mm lens. The ISO was 200, the shutter speed was 1/200 of a second, and the lens aperture varied a bit for each shot. These look a lot like black and white photos but they are not. The grey sky and falling snow really decrease any color saturation naturally.

_Q1A0131.jpg

After walking around Downtown Truckee, I drove over to Donner Lake. There wasn't much parking available. I was parked off the road but I'm not sure it was actually a legal spot so I had to work fast.

The snow was piled up on the rocks and shoreline, the lake had a bit of an icy/slushy layer on top. Again, I was in blue jeans so I was cold, and now wet, and parked questionably. These were quick handheld photos, no messing around with tripods or lens filters.

_Q1A0185.jpg

_Q1A0202.jpg

The docks were still looking great too. The snowy docks usually have footprints on them. Not this time!

_Q1A0207.jpg

_Q1A0213b.jpg

I'm pretty happy with these photos, especially since I really wasn't expecting to get any "keepers". They will soon be up on my website's "Recent Work" gallery.

There's been a little break in the snow today, which means it was a big snow removal day around the house. Here's a look at my driveway after I was done with the cleanup. My yard is flat and even with the driveway. This is going to take a while to melt, veggie garden season is going to be a bit delayed this year...

20230225_113113.jpg

Thanks for looking and I hope you are all having a great day!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1629666759681744898 twitter metadata:MTU2MTc1Mjk3Mjg0NDg2MzQ4OHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNTYxNzUyOTcyODQ0ODYzNDg4L3N0YXR1cy8xNjI5NjY2NzU5NjgxNzQ0ODk4fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @scottshots, @jijisaurart ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Walking in snow or living on the place where you can have Snow fall is a dream to many, I myself like it very much , Enjoyed snow only once in my life, the pictures you have shared are amazing and beautiful. I just love them.

Glad you like seeing the snow photos! I did not grow up with snow and didn't move here until I was in my 20s. It was a dream come true, for sure. Cheers!

There is no doubt the pictures you have shared are very amazing and beautiful with full of natural scenery and view. Everyone will love with them after seeing these picture's beauty. I loved them all, fabulous 👍

I'm glad you like them @tornad! It's fun to go out in those kind of conditions.

Yes I remembered that we also enjoyed a lot almost 4 years ago when we go out Northern areas of Pakistan and those were full of snow.

That is a metric ton of snow, about 5 feet of snow, nice pics btw very cinematic the ones from the dock, you can barely see the lines of threes in the horizon

I really like how the snow makes it hard to see across the lake, always a serene look. Glad you like the photos, cheers!

That certainly looks like black-and-white photos. beautiful shots as always.
I have a question do you need to cover up the camera in this situation, as the snow might melt and ruin the camera?
!VSC

@ekavieka has sent VSC to @scottshots

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@ekavieka ha enviado VSC a @scottshots

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 2/5

Thank you @ekavieka! I use weather resistant camera gear, however it's not totally waterproof and I have had to send a lens to Canon for them to repair after being out in a very wet snow storm for a while, many years ago. These days, I usually just have a small towel mostly over the camera and lens when shooting in snow storms. It's not perfect but it's been enough. Yesterday's snow was cold and very dry so I didn't need the towel. I do use a lens shield though, to keep the snow off the front of the lens. Cheers!

Some beautiful winter shots! We've been dealing with quite the winter here in Utah as well, and I must say -- as much as I hate being cold, all the snow has gotten me some of the best winter shots I have EVER gotten! LOL So, the trade-off is ultimately worth it.

Thank you! And nice photos, I just checked them out. Shooting the snow is definitely challenging thanks to the cold. But yup, always worth it. Cheers!

Glad you enjoyed them! Yes, snow can be challenging. But you are totally right -- SOOO worth it! LOL Keep shooting!

Beautiful shots! My favorite shot is the first one. I have never seen snow, so thank you for sharing this! 😊❄️

!PIZZA

Thank you! Yes, I like that composition best on the first one, for sure. Cheers!

Getting deep there 😅 we got about 12" this week but the ground was almost bare. No big piles this year.

It's nice to have it freshened up around here, it was looking dirty. But it just won't stop... 12" sounds nice and reasonable. Cheers!

Tremendous photos friends I loved them, and I share with you the taste for snow.

Greetings!

Glad you like the photos, thank you!

Winter!

Winter is great! And thank you for the reblog. Cheers!

It doesn't snow where I live. If we want to see snow, we have to go up to 3,000 feet. I am very fond of living in a place where it snows and one day I will shift to a place like this. I love snowfall and walking around in it is so much fun. Have a nice day to you too.

Living in the snow is great! Most of the time... It can be a lot of unpaid work too. But it's worth it. Cheers!

The whiteness of the snow is very beautiful and I can say that photography in the snowy atmosphere has a completely different mood.

It's a fun mood that the snow creates, I love it. Cheers!

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@jijisaurart(4/5) tipped @scottshots (x1)

Join us in Discord!