Mina: an NFT art magazine is born

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

page_1.jpg

Last week I launched an NFT magazine in partnership with journalist Giovanna Franceschi, who is also one of my closest friends.

"Mina", slang that in Brazil we use to refer to a girl, was born after a few weeks of hard work. The idea of conceiving this project invaded me unexpectedly and in such a strong way that I couldn't avoid materializing it.

And it came all at once: format, name, ideas. I knew I wanted to dive into a project to value and strengthen the work of women artists, especially after I started selling my own artwork as NFT.

After feeling the strength and welcome of this community, the magazine couldn't exist in any other way than without being a token itself.

Our focus is to bring the story of women artists, primarily from photography and visual arts, fields in which we feel most comfortable curating and talking about.

For the first cover of Mina, we chose a photograph by artist and photographer @barbarabezina, who I'm sure is also an old acquaintance of the Hive community. In my opinion, Barbara is one of the most influential women in the NFT crew and it was thanks to her that I also started my first steps in this universe.

So, nothing more fair than to recognize this great Latin artist that inspires me (and so many others) every day.

I'm very excited about this new project, because it has been a long time since I ventured into something new. Also, it has been a long time since I felt happy working as a journalist. Writing about topics that I believe in, that are aligned with my values, and that I feel I'm contributing to something bigger, makes me extremely happy.

Not to mention that this new project demanded from me skills that aren't usually part of my work routine such as publishing texts in a language that isn't my own and that I've great difficulty speaking and also creating a graphic design without ever having done this before on my own.

I'm leaving here some pages from first issue of Mina and I will also paste below the fully text I wrote for our first editorial.

Editorial

Respect our corre

page_3.jpg

Mina is a Brazilian slang used to call a girl, a woman. Around here, in Tupiniquim land (yes, we are Brazilian), girls (or minas) are the queens of another “slang term” very popular to our people: corre.

In native Portuguese, correr is a verb that literally means to run. But in street language, corre becomes a noun. And it’s translation becomes more difficult to explain.

Make the corre is a way to survival. Is to balance work, family, relationships, physical and emotional health, all togehter. It’s to look for ways to produce art, sometimes bleeding, sometimes holding a child in our arms, even in the middle of all of this.

The corre of the woman artist seems to be historically non-existent or underestimated. There’s not the same recognition. Our representation in museums, galleries, and publications is truly tiny compared to the men. We have been on the margins for centuries and still today we struggle to occupy spaces that are also ours.

So, every month, Mina will promote the work and empower women. Mina is born to strengthen and respect the corre of the woman artist. Mina is a magazine in NFT (Non-Fungible Token) that emerges in the global south, made by Brazilian women for women around the world.

In this first issue, you will get to know the stories of seven incredible artists and find out how they have used different techniques to raise their voices and be an example of resistance in the field of art in the communities where they live.

Featured artists

page_2.jpg

Among the artists featured in the issue, besides Barbara, are: Kristina Podobed, Tania Morozova, Joanna Canara, Elizabedsh and the Brazilians Juliana Naufel and Elaine Soares.

As Brazilians, we will always try to bring women artists from our own country as highlights, so that they are also recognized for their incredible talent among the crypto art community.

I cannot fail to mention that this project also had the indispensable collaboration of our columnist Jessica Valmorbida, talking about the representation of women in art and how often the artistic work of women is not recognized beyond their personal lives.

page_4.jpg

page_10.jpg

page_14.jpg

page_22.jpg

page_26.jpg

page_34.jpg

page_36.jpg

page_74.jpg

page_79.jpg

How to support Mina Magazine

If you are a collector of NFTs and want to support this project emerging in the Tezos community, which has become a major cultural epicenter of web3, you can collect the first issue on our Teia page.

If you aren't a collector, but would like to read the full issue and check out all of Mina's content, you can also go to the link and download the pdf for free.

In my next posts I will bring you texts that I wrote exclusively for the magazine, with stories of women artists who made a deep impression on me. But if you want to follow our work and not miss any content, you can join us on our social networks by following us on Twitter and Instagram.

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations on the conception and launch of Mina!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Yes, Congratulations! This looks really awesome! Way to go. =)

Silvia querida! No te imaginas lo feliz que me hace todo esto. Gracias por tus palabras tan amorosas hacia mí, realmente las siento y me hacen llorar (estoy mas sensible que nunca 😅 😭). Me encanta saber como surgió la idea y festejo que decidiste materializarla. Debo decir que el contenido es muy completo y disfruté muchísimo leyéndola, no caben dudas de que las mujeres tienen mucho que sacar afuera, y también digo que lo están haciendo de las formas mas interesantes, autenticas y profundas. Me gustó mucho la elección de fotos que eligieron mías, la de la tapa la tenía olvidada así que gracias por hacerla reaparecer. Muchas felicidades con este proyecto y muchas gracias por invitarme a formar parte de esta primera edición. Ojalá nos sigamos encontrando en mas y mas proyectos, las mujeres tenemos que desocultar las maravillas que atesoramos dentro durante tanto tiempo. Salud por las que estás comenzando a compartir! ♥