Reviving old negatives

in Photography Lovers3 years ago

While my DSLR was in getting its shutter replaced, I decided to dig through some old negatives for a roll that I hadn't yet scanned. This roll was shot and developed about 3 years ago and has tumbled around in a backpack ever since.

I had previously been shooting on Kodak Porta and decided to give Ektar a try, this was the first roll trying out the new film. At ISO 100, this film is hungry for light and really struggles to pop in overcast conditions. Full sunlight and bright scenes put out some dreamy looks with just the right amount of grain. I'm really drawn to the higher contrast and saturation it provides and I'm excited to shoot more now that I have evolved as a photographer over the years. There is definitely noticeable damage on every frame but that was to be expected. Here are some of my favorite shots off the roll.

1207.033.jpg

1207.035.jpg

1207.038.jpg

1207.003.jpg

1207.021straightened.jpg

1207.013.jpg
I have been working my way through another roll and hopefully will have some scans of newer work in a few weeks. I took a long break from analog photography so the film I'm burning up expired in 2019. It will be fun to see how that effects the image, especially since the film was stored in extremely poor conditions. I also got my DSLR back from factory service today and will finally be able to do paid work again. Hallelujah!