Stud wall repair update on the old garage at my Son's new rental house.

in Photography Lovers3 years ago (edited)

Update on the garage wall repair we started several weeks ago. The frame wall is finished and installed, with the temporary lifting wall removed. I am pleased with the results, and I'll put a link at the end for the previous post.

Here's the final framing in place:
IMG_20211019_180320511.jpg
True and plumb, with anchors in the cement stem wall; and a new top plate over the door. It may be the only square surface in the entire garage, but it looks good, and is now doing its job supporting the roof.

We still have our cheer leader:
IMG_20211019_152329974_HDR.jpg
Petunia kept the neighbor's dogs properly barked all day long! Obviously the most important part of the job....

They are splicing the frame into the building:
IMG_20211019_152323328_HDR.jpg
This stiffened up the wall they tied this new wall into. They are adjusting it for plumb, while I hold up the rafters over the door.

We added diagonal wind bracing into the frame:
IMG_20211019_180319070~2.jpg
Cutting the brace into the frame itself gives us wind bracing, without causing sheathing problems later.

Here is the window framing:
IMG_20211019_180319070~3.jpg
The top plate over the window carries the roof loading to the studs on each side.

This is how far we had to raise the rafters, to place in the new framing:
IMG_20211019_151904683_HDR.jpg
Once placed, we removed the blocks, and lowered the rafters onto the new framework. Then we cut up the temporary support wall and used the lumber for framing over the door.

Here is the lever I used to lift the rafter over the door:
IMG_20211019_151901800~2.jpg
This allowed my to hold the structure up while they spliced in the new wall. Then we raised this rafter up with the hydraulic jack to raise it while we added the header over the door.

Frame is done, and is ready to cover. We will set the door first, and add the window after the sheathing is added.

Here is the first post, where we did the Demolition:
https://hive.blog/hive-119845/@smithlabs/extreme-garage-repair-or-fun-with-a-hammer-lol

Sort:  

Any time i see work like this being done I have a great deal of regret regarding my own childhood and stubbornness. My father was a farmer in his youth and in that time he basically learned how to do everything and was itching to pass that information on to his son. From auto mechanics to carpentry to welding, he knew how to do it all. I know how to do none of these things and was a brat when it came time that he was trying to teach it to me.

I'm part of that lost generation that had the opportunity to learn real-life skills for free and resisted ever step of the way. Now I have to call a professional to get just about anything done when my father has been DIY guy his whole life and almost never has to pay anyone to do anything. I done screwed up big time.

Anyway, it's great that you did this and to do it with your kids makes it even better :)

He has learned a lot, and so have I; at times. With both my kids, I had a deal that if they didn't know how, I'd show them; but if they knew how, they were to do it themselves. Both rebuilt a number of cars, including engines and major body work. He just finished a Dodge Charger highway patrol interceptor he bought because it had a blown engine. He wanted to play with the blower on it, and fixed it all...runs sweet!

They are also Very good shots, and had their own rifle from î years old.

I enjoy working with my kids, who are all grown up now. This job needed more than one set of hands. You should try to get some of that free training now, he'd love it!

🤠💙💗😅

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

We did plan ahead, but we had a few surprises. Smashing through anyway, so it's coming along.

Why was your reply hidden? 😭 Looks fine to me....

🤠🤕💗

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Don't sweat the small...people! They must have you on their list, maybe I'll stop posting here myself. I had to block a few that wouldn't quit myself, damn kindergarten fools!

But the garage is coming along well. He will be able to rent it out soon.

🤠🤕💗

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Best to ignore small minded people! Your numbers are good, and the best revenge is to succeed in spot of them.

So go for it Godzilla, LOL! 😆

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment