Sunset as the cold moves in

in Photography Loverslast year (edited)

Winter has not even begun yet, but temperatures have dipped into the low 20s Fahrenheit. I have noticed on those late evenings the sunsets are more impressive than days with more stable temperatures. No idea if thats really true, but I captured some photos of one of those sun sets. I usually have only a few minutes as the sun goes down to notice how pretty it is out side. So glad I was able to capture some shots of a pretty sunset around here recently.

Camera ModelLumix GH6
LensOlympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12mm-50mm
Filternone
Aperturef/11
Shutter Speed1/60 sec
Film Speed320
SpectrumVisual Light
Wavelength380 through 700 nanometers
LocationCentral Virginia USA.

Honestly most of the sunsets I just enjoyed from the window, and trying to take pictures through a window (a dirty one) at that is just no good.

Though I have yet to do any sunset photography with my new fancy camera.. The GH6, so I went outside and got some pictures of one of our pretty sunsets.

At this point in the year all of the leaves have dropped off the trees. Waiting for warmer weather to produce new leaves, we are many months away from that at the moment. Winter starts in a few days and should keep going well into the first few months of the new year.

Seeing around outside at this point was getting difficult, my weather station barely visible. Quite impressed by my camera night low light abilities. I did all of this by hand, no tripod. I thought it would come out all shaky, a bit dark but still in focus.

The colors of the sky started changing quickly as the sun left our skies. Falling behind the hardwoods that have dropped all their leaves for the year.

The pinks in the cloud tops got brighter and stood out more. Just as the orange crested below the treeline.

As the sun set the temperatures dipped from over 50F down to the mid 30s in just a few hours. Around 6:30pm I retreated back into the house to warm up. Both my camera and myself quite cold. But glad I got a few shots of the pretty sunsets around here.

With much more open skies where I live now I hope to share many great shots of cloud patterns, and how great the sunrises and sunsets look around here. With so little pollution the clarity is just amazing and I feel like I should share a view of it with others.


Sort:  

aha, the sunset really looks great indeed, the third one really looks great. thanks for sharing that sir♥️
have a great day and upcoming week.

thanks man, it sure was. As it got darker it just got more impressive.

yes indeed that is the best time to take photos 😄

Happy sunday
love your image of sunset
sky and trees are magic

Thanks much, and to you too.

They sure are.

Excellent photos of sunsets dear friend @solominer , they are very interesting and impressive photographs. Merry Christmas.. Success

Thank you, and glad you liked them. Much to you too!

I reiterate my friend @solominer that the places shown are a paradise, where we can clear our minds, it would be interesting to develop yoga in such a beautiful sunset. successes

Really pretty colors in the sky !! i loved the colors of the 5th one, a golden sunset!

Yeah that orange hue was just so awesome, I love how many colors can go through on just one sun set.

Nice sunset photos man! As you said, it's winter and we only have a few minutes for these photos. It's a bit sad, but capturing that moment makes me happier 🌆.

Thanks much, I missed so many already so glad I could get one good one.. Hope I can capture more in the future.

Those are really nice :) It sounds like you might need warmer clothes though?

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Hehe yeah I have started bringing out my heavy jacket.

Great clicks👏😀

“Softly the evening came with the sunset"

Great sharing. Best of luck!