Sublime and Beautiful Sunday ~ A scene that will stop me in my tracks every time!

It doesn't matter how many times I see these beautiful animals, for whenever I do, they capture my undivided attention.

Here in Upstate New York, White Tail deer are plentiful, bringing hunters to this tranquil paradise from miles around. Over the last week, I was lucky enough to come across them several times. Most often they were in a group, looking for food beneath the snow.

I wonder name.png

Etsy Item Listing Photo (35).png

Once the hunting season comes to a close and the echoes of gunfire cease to rumble through the landscape the deer seem to know that a simple walk in the woods or stopping for a bite to eat will not end in their death.

IMG_0645.JPG

Herds of these prized mammals litter the landscape once the threat of a speeding bullet is no longer a danger until the following year.

IMG_0640.JPG

I spotted this guy yesterday as he meandered around our pond.

IMG_1076.JPG

Disappearing behind a stand of trees, he again came into sight as he made his way past our garden.

IMG_1080.JPG

There was no urgency to his pace.

IMG_1081.JPG

Moments after walking by the wire that supports our cucumbers he disappeared into the woods.

IMG_1083.JPG

Just before retreating back to the house, another one appeared.

IMG_1090.JPG

This deer was smaller in size

and was following in the footsteps of the one just ahead of him.

IMG_1091.JPG

Being a yearling he struggled to make his way through the snow.

IMG_1092.JPG

As life seems to be passing by quicker with every day, I become more thankful to be living in an area where #nature is still king.

This is my first post in #sublimesunday and #beautifulsunday. I've read what it takes to engage with the #photography #lovers community and I think I've followed the rules. If something is not as it should be, please don't hesitate to let me know, thanks.

Sort:  

Incredible shots! I also have white tails right on our land every other day, but I don't have the right lens, and they run away the moment they can hear me. The way they run away is so nimble, just like that they're gone!

Thanks, seeing these beautiful animals never gets old. I stuck my head out the back door this morning and I was treated to this.

IMG_1236.JPG

They immediately sensed my presence but didn't seem to mind.

My dude I just saw I don't know how many of those from a distance. Might've only been 5 but at times looked like 25. Across a river, dense dead forest, Atlas spotted them about 50 yards away. All I saw was an occasional shine from various white tails in various areas like a cd reflecting in the sun.

Good morning buddy. After the hunting season, they seem to gather in large herds, no longer afraid to be spotted. It was probably a good thing that there was a river between the deer and Atlas or he may have taken off after them.
When the kids visit, their dogs are constantly chasing after anything that moves. The last time our son Bobby was up, his dog Hunter decided to go after a porcupine. That didn't end well. He had to take Hunter to the vet for an emergency visit. Not having an appointment cost him $150 to begin with and another $250 for the vet to remove all of the quills.

Have a splendid day.

I've never hunted, so I wonder what they eat in the winter? We have quite the population of them in my state.

In the winter they will browse on any green vegetation that is available, especially any low-hanging branches from pine trees. Other times they will use their hooves to kick back the snow until they get to the green vegetation below.

https://leofinance.io/threads/@thebigsweed/re-leothreads-2ngb5v
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( thebigsweed ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Animals are not daft, and know when it is safe to wander!
Great post AND I saw it in threads! (also commented there that as you a valued Silver Blogger that you can use #silverbloggers on your threads tags!)

Sometimes I think animals are smarter than people.
Thanks for the compliment and for the heads up on being able to include #threads as a tag.
Have a splendid day.

Sometimes I think animals are smarter than people.

Oh yes at times they most definitely are!

Here in Pakistan, where we live, it is hot now, but the way I have seen and seen this snowfall, it is very heartening to go to such a place and have fun, and all these animals are very beautiful. Some are having problems due to snow and others are enjoying more.

Pakistan, that's not around the corner from me. 😁
Where we live we experience all four seasons with each one being so different from the rest. I would imagine that where you live it's hot all of the time.

The young deer known as yearlings are sure to have some difficulty during the cold and snowy winters. Statistics show that 35% of the deer born the year before will not make it through their first winter.

Thanks for stopping in.

It good they can roam around freely

That's the beauty of living in a very remote area, no restrictions on movement, even for people. With lots of undeveloped lands, animals are not losing their habitat and are free to roam wherever they wish.