You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mushroom Kingdom

I am sorry I missed this one while it was still under the 7 day timeline for upvote. I am impressed! The architectural shots with the finer points of alignments, all in-camera, are something else. I just shoot wildly and then try to fix stuff in Photoshop with alignment and lens-distortion tools. But it certainly is better to not be sloppy aligning the shot in the first place.
This is a keeper, though my reaction is late, I reblogged it anyway.
Hope I catch your next one in a more timely manner!

Sort:  

No worries, i am just glad you liked the post and the content within. With all there is to see here and all of it being on a timetable... it's EASY to miss good stuff... so please don't think of it. Thank you too by the way! You would be even more impressed if you knew how shitty my camera is! hahaha

I learned long ago that the better you get the shot originally the less work there is to do in the editing process. I learned that the hard way! Thanks again for stopping by and taking the time to comment. It means a lot! Cheers

That is another way to do an upvote: via comment!
As for camera: I have 5 by now (that I still use), but I find the large ones too cumbersome to lug around and use them only on special occasions. I got a Canon Powershot TX1, which was introduced in 2007 and after that, disappeared from the market. I was intrigued by the unusual design and function, and my spouse got it for me as a birthday present. I used it off and on, but at one time some years ago the focus was not working anymore, but instead of tossing it out, I kept it around. At that time I was already in Austria, and tried to take it to a Canon shop, but they said I would have to send it to Canon in the US to have it fixed, they cannot do it here in Vienna. One time last year I fired it up again, and to my surprise, it worked perfectly again!
So now I carry it with me (220 grams) when I don't want the bulk of my Canon EOS 30D (700 grams body only!). I had a couple of small Nikon pocket cameras also that worked reasonably well, but didn't last long since I am rather rough handling, and they are just cheap plastic.
For zoom function, I do like the Canon PowerShot SX540 HS I bought 2 years ago (it was on sale, much cheaper than the MSRP). It is my choice to lug with me on a photo safari: much lighter than the other DSLR's I got.
But it is not all about Megapixels: what counts more is the lens. My two large DSLR's have 8MP only, but the images are superior, so I use them mostly for taking photos of my artwork.
Cheers 🍺

Yes, i just found out that comments are a post of their own with the same 7day payout window... even when commented on old posts that have paid out already. That was nice to discover... and thanks again for the support.

Those are some cool cameras and i know what you mean about the bulk. I have never really cared for the side grip design of the digital cameras... but maybe it's because of my lack of experience with them. You are going to get a laugh at the two cameras i use. Unfortunately, i have a scratch on the lens of my Canon which i preferred and it obfuscates especially in macro shooting. I mostly use my Nikkon now. Here are the links to check my specs!

Canon PowerShot SD1100

Nikkon COOLPIX S4300

That's super cool that yours still functioned after so long. Time to make an old thing new again... and they definitely don't make them like they used to.

Not laughing at all at the cameras you use - the Canon Powershot SD1100 is from the same family as my TX1, and your Nikkon Coolpix S4300 is the next generation of the Nikon Coolpix S3200 I used for several years until I broke it by dropping it while it was turned on (can't remember what happened to the first one). It made some good images, and I even used it recording some of my artwork, as you can see in this here on Flickr: ENTWOOD - NOT JUST ANOTHER PRETTY LANDSCAPE - zoom in and see the quality of the image! I actually was looking for a replacement, since I had, as mentioned, two of them before, and at the times I bought them, they came with spare batteries, so now I have batteries galore, but not the camera to fit.
My other "ancient" camera is a Samsung Pro 815 which I also use on occasional photo safaris - I bought it when it came out in 2005. It still works great. It survived some grueling Canadian Winters, outdoor shots at well below -25°C: EXAMPLE.

Man, you have some great photos... and you already know great artwork as well. Those were some really good quality images and the details were even better when zoomed in.

That frozen landscape looked really crisp and was well composed. I know i had to continually put my cameras in my pockets to keep them warm when not in use when i would take photos in Sweden during their winter.... though i don't think we ever got quite down to -25°C. Sometimes i thought i was going to lose my clicking finger or two... but i am probably just embellishing how cold it felt. You probably could have at those temps! ahhahah

Glad to hear that my stuff isn't as outdated as i thought. I bought the Canon PS for myself as a Christmas present in 2012 if i remember correctly. My sister gave me her Nikkon when she upgraded... so i have been pretty fortunate.

One day it would be cool to take rewards from some photography posts and buy some upgraded equipment. Until then... i will make do. Thanks for all the interaction lately. It's always a real joy and pleasure connecting with you. I did see that Giger influence in some of those Flickr arts!

About Sweden: when I was a kid, I read books about south-sea islands, pearl diving and adventures. I always wanted to go there. Instead, in my late teens I went to Sweden and lived there for almost 5 years, and subsequently Canada for the better part of my life. Going north, instead of south. Taking leave of Canadian Winters only occasionally to fly to Hawaii the odd January, for a quick warm-up for a week or two.
Worse, for the most part in Canada, I worked for the railway, the last 20 years in the mechanical department, mostly outdoors, and in Winter, we had often derailments we had to go to attend to.
Scenes like this I was used to - got snowed in quite often:

CP RAIL WINTER.jpg

Yes, Hawaii and Florida are two hotspots for the winter months to avoid the cold. It makes sense after spending that much time in Sweden that Canada and North rather than South would be more similar. It's funny how things work out sometimes.

The rail is very interesting in and of itself. I have a couple of friends that worked on the lines and here in Texas, Dallas and Fort Worth are both railroad cities dating way back. Though i think it would have to be a cold day in hell after if froze over to get that kind of snowdrift.

Your photo reminds me of SnowPiercer... which has a movie and a show. Both are good but i prefer the original movie which i linked there. You are probably familiar with both if i had to guess. Are you still in Canada now, and if so whereabouts if i may ask?