You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dowry Of The Banatians

in Photography Lovers10 months ago (edited)

Woah! Is this really what dowry means? Women pay the bride price here. I heard about it first in Bridgerton but I didn't think anything of it. We should stop using the word dowry then, cause it's the man "paying" another man to take his daughter away in marriage.

🇳🇬

PS: Those outfits are not bad at all. Love the cultural feel of looking at them. At least they aren't as bulky and tight as the ones the English used to wear. They look free and comfy.

Sort:  

Women pay the bride price here.

I hope things are going to change over there too as we live in the 21st century. We don't have such thing here anymore, for decades now.

At least they aren't as bulky and tight as the ones the English used to wear. They look free and comfy.

Each country, each region has it's own folk costumes. Comfy? I wouldn't go that far, but I suppose people got used to it.

Oh shoot! I meant to say men pay the price to take the women away... but I see you already made your point though. "Dowries" should be abolished. I doubt it'll ever be here though, it's our culture, and boy do Africans hold culture to very very high esteems. I mean everyone does or used to but are open to change but not us. Not typical Nigerians. Not while our old are still there. The only way it's going away is if only the Gen Z are put in charge and generations from the millennial and older are wiped out. Haha.

Comfy? I wouldn't go that far, but I suppose people got used to it.

Oh well. I dunno. Over here, the clothes we used to put on were even more comfy than the suits and stuff we wear these days in the name of fashion.
I've just got a post idea. I'll tag you so you can see what we used to wear.