A well spent moment with the Moro-sphinx (hummingbird hawk moth)

Yesterday I went for a walk with my dog. We wandered on dirt road along field of oak and vegetables. Beside the path are growing weeds such as thistle that attract bumble-bees and other cute insects such as this little Moro-sphinx also called hummingbird hawk moth.

img_0.36962095441290477.jpg

I might have spent 20 minutes looking at this interesting moth which is a mix between a colibri and a moth/butterfly. I was even more surprised coming back home to discover these little guys migrates up to 3000 kilometers from northern Africa or southern Europe till the Northern European territories.

When foraging, it flys on site with about 75 wingbeats per second!

Every time I go out, Nature blows my mind and I wanted to share this capture with you.

Take care,

Vincent

Sort:  

Congratulations @vinceboisgard! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation