Kyu Nakagawa's Kawazu Cherry Blossoms

IMG_3028.jpegIMG_3029.jpeg

IMG_3035.jpeg

This was my destination when I was walking around a peaceful neighborhood on the northeast part of Tokyo: Kyu Nakagawa (旧中川) or Former Naka River. There's not much noise about this place so how come I've come to know of this place?

IMG_3031.jpeg

IMG_3032.jpeg

IMG_3040.jpeg

Actually I just stumbled this by accident. As I was browsing for places in Tokyo where to see the plum blossoms (yes, plum blossoms not cherry blossoms!), I found this park where one could enjoy Kawazu Sakura, which blooms earlier than the usual cherry blossoms. I'm not really a fan of the touristy places and I'm sure there will be full of people in those places. As much as I can, I'd like to avoid the crowd to enjoy the flowers that I've been wanting to see in peace.

IMG_3045.jpeg

IMG_3064.jpeg

I was hoping to spend my afternoon break in the park, with the cherry blossoms in sight and with the river. When I lived in Osaka, there's this place I go to in my afternoon weekends, enjoying the view, reading a book or just reflecting - and yes, that place was a riverside. In the place where I live now, it's a bit far to enjoy the cool breeze of the river. So I was really hoping for that here in Kyu Naka River.

IMG_3053.jpegIMG_3049.jpeg

IMG_3073.jpeg

When I arrived in the park, I was surprised there were many people than what I expected. Some were laying down their mats under the cherry blossoms and enjoying hanami with their company which is the usual and I approve of (I'm in no condition to approve or reject though LOL). I even saw lovers having a sweet moment under the cherry blossoms. WOW! Excuse to single people. 😅

IMG_3034.jpeg

IMG_3044.jpeg

But more than 50% of the people there came for pictorials. What?! I was surprised that these people came for their photos taken with the cherry blossoms as background. I mean it's understandable but I also kinda hope they would enjoy the scenery than taking selfies.

IMG_3067.jpeg

Well, I'm not really in a position to rant either because I was also holding my phone in hand taking a photo of the cherry blossoms. Ahihi.

IMG_3055.jpeg

IMG_3054.jpeg

It was hard to take a decent photo of the fascinating cherry blossoms because I was still not used to my camera settings. I didn't really play around with it that much when I got this. This was practice. Practice after a month of usage. 😅

IMG_3039.jpeg

IMG_3047.jpeg

IMG_3046.jpeg

Did I mention this park has a view of Tokyo Skytree in the distance? Look, this tower's photobombing my cherry blossoms photos.

IMG_3033.jpeg

IMG_3037.jpeg

IMG_3071.jpeg

Eventually I got tired of the cherry blossoms area because of the crowd. I also didn't have a mat with me so staying under these trees was a no.

IMG_3048.jpeg

IMG_3050.jpeg

I found benches by the river and that's where I stayed for a while. Luckily there was a vacant bench so I was just sitting there and had my sunbathing. No worries, even when the sun was on my face, I didn’t get burnt. 😅


Thanks for reading!
See you around! じゃあ、またね!



With love,
wittyzell--rc.gif


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You got some gorgeous shots! You did a great job framing and composing your shots while keeping the backgrounds in mind. Thanks for sharing the beauty with us here in the community my friend.

Thank you! I was still in the process of learning what my phone can do 😅

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Travel Digest #2204.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

wow, thanks kim and pinmapple team!

Iba talaga ang gondo sa Japan, makapag byahe nga dyan mamaya uwian lang. Dapat nagdala ka kahit karton ng lucky me para you can sit parin sa may shade ng puno. Pag nagtanong bakit hindi mat ang gamit mo sabihin mo Pinoy ka and yan ang standard.

HAHAHAHA! Kainis, ang kalat ko pag ganun hahha

Di mo malalaman pag di mo susubukan hahaha

HAHAHHAA grabe ka tp! try mo nga yan

Beautiful shots @wittyzell. You even made it more fascinating with a photobomb.

Thank you! I got lucky I was able to find that angle

You're welcome. By the way, congratulations for winning the Travel Digest 2204. 🎉

What a beautiful place. Love spring and cherry blossoms!

I also like cherry blossoms! 😅

KIREI!

nice talaga sya 😅

Ang ganda talaga ng cherry blossom. You will not get bored in this place with these lovely cherry blossoms around.

Agree! It's short lived though so gotta make the most of it jud

Yes true. Enjoy life to the fullest😊

wow a lot of beautiful photos O.O. you live in japan? :O

thanks for the compliment! yes, i live in japan 😊

owh thats cool. When I was in highschool, I wanted to go study and live there but my japanese was no good

That’s alright! Some people come here with 0 japanese. Eventually you’ll still be able to learn here. You should try to come.

haha its ok i realized now maybe it was too much of a dream TT i wasnt realistic

You are so good in photography Ma'am @wittyzell it is my first time to see closely on the picture the flower of Sakura tree. You also have an amazing vacation trip in Japan Ma'am. God bless

Thank you! I'm still practicing more with my phone~

Criminal 😍