Working a Scene

Hello Hive!

One of the few things I learned in my photography class was "working a scene". Wait. Is it something theatrical? Well, it's a creative process that's familiar to photographers who's already into the business (or hobby) for a while. It's a creative process of learning more about your camera and making use of it in a way that's natural for you. It will, of course, start with a scene to work on, hence the term.

I will be trying to engage in this creative process this weekend as part of my course objectives, but I decided to have it a try with the very first photos I took when I got my camera. I will be hiking this weekend on the same trail as before. I wrote about it before, but I believe I haven't shared these photos because I'm not really sure if I should be proud of them.

Now, I decided to bare it all. As I've said before, we are so obsessed with perfection that we forgot that everything is a process. I want to share everything about my journey here. I want to get rid of that perfection mentality in me.

Here we go:

We decided to hike in Good Shepherd, Banawa here in Cebu City at dawn because we wanted to see the sunrise. It was also my first time to test my camera so I really don't what I was doing at that time. I took a lot of photos, but I think the photo above was the best of the group. Some are blurred while others are too dark.

As the sun had risen, the whole view of the city was enveloped by fog and the sun was blocked by the clouds. At that point, I was fiddling with the ISO and Shutter speed because it got darker and I couldn't get the details of the photo that I liked. I guess I also messed up with the White Balance.

We were already on top of this hill that's overlooking the whole metropolitan area. As we turned our back to the city, there was this rainbow that was behind us all this time. I took photos, but it was too dark to see all the details. I tried to adjust everything, but that's the best I could come up with even after editing it in Lightroom. Can you notice the changes in tint in all of the photos so far? I really didn't know what I was doing at that time.

As it was getting hot, we decided to come back down and we decided to rest under the tree near a mausoleum of a wealthy Chinese businessman here in Cebu. I just took photos like the usual without any thinking of the outcome.

Those are the hills of Monterazzas de Cebu. It has a very commanding view of the city which is why the land is very expensive.

I don't really like the photos I took at that point because I felt it was lacking something. Maybe because I can't still figure out the right balance of light to make it look natural.

I messed up with the white balance again and I chose the bluish tint. The foreground is too dark and I couldn't work my way out of it, but hey, what's the purpose of this "working a scene" anyway?

That photo was at north of where we were and I liked the framing of the leaves and branches. The only difference was I went for the orange tint.

I will try to have the same "working a scene" this weekend and we'll see if what I can come up with. As for those photos, they're fairly okay individually, but they don't work as a whole. That's the reason why I didn't share them in one post.

That's all for this post. See you in the next!

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines) and the rest of the world even if he's still a poor corporate slave with tons of bills to pay and two siblings to support in college.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

Sort:  

I have just learned from you that Cebu has a hiking place. And really love last two photos on this post. It is not perfect but very touchy and real.

!tan - Please tip @ybanezkim26 for this great post.


Congratulations, @andyjim You Successfully Trended The Post Shared By @ybanezkim26.
You Utilized 1/3 Daily Summon Bot Calls.

TAN Current Market Price : 0.500 HIVE

Cebu has a lot of hiking places. I'm glad you liked those two photos. I agree with the very touchy and real part. Nice choice.

Thanks for stopping by!

You seem to love what you're doing. It shows in the photos and the way you tell each story.

I do! I'm glad you noticed it.

Congratulations @ybanezkim26! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is November 1st 2020
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge

Congratulations @ybanezkim26! You received a personal badge!

You made another user happy by powering them up some HIVE on Hive Power Up Day and got awarded this Power Up Helper badge.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is November 1st 2020
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge


Congratulations @ybanezkim26, You Earned 1.684 TAN & Curators Made 1.684 TAN.

upme.link


Join CORE / VAULT Token Discord Channel or Join UPMELINK Web Site
TAN Current Market Price : 0.201 HIVE