You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Explaining Rising Star’s List of Rules

The one thing that I worry about this is that when I go over to a friends house, who plays RSG, that if I am on his network and I log into the game and play for a day, both of our accounts will be banned. We get together with a couple of other people and we play Table-Top games all day, so RSG completion pops up for me while I am there.
So my question is, if I am playing the game over there, at max 2 days a week, but still less than 7 days a month, will the accounts get banned? Since all the other times my account plays from my IP and Physical location.
Thank you if you have time to respond to this question.

Sort:  

That does sound risky. The safest thing to do would be to start a long mission before you enjoy table top stuff (are you part of the Tabletop community here on Hive, btw?) and not log in to the wifi.

Or maybe, if you're able, run RSG over cellular if you really need to simultaneously play?

I'm not officially associated with RSG support though, so I'd mostly recommend asking there. Chances are you'll be told to do this first thing (aka don't do missions on the same network).

Okay, I was thinking of running it over cellular as well, especially since we will play for about 10 hours or so, it is a fun day for Dads to get away! :)
I haven't had time to look into the TT community on Hive yet, but I am getting there!
Have a slice of !PIZZA for the good answer as well! :)

we will play for about 10 hours or so, it is a fun day for Dads to get away! :)

Sounds like my kinda tabletop session. That's room for at least 3 nice heavy games (or one superheavy!)

Cheers and hope to seeya in TT 😀

Honestly, that is not an acceptable response. They need to figure out a better solution here. They are doing this in my opinion as a coping mechanism to handle botters and multi-accounters which do need to be handled but catch-all rules like this are generally poor design. Same situation as with a VPN; just asking to lose an entire sub-section of the player base that is concerned with their privacy.

that is not an acceptable response.

Acceptable for whom? RSG doesn't have to answer to anyone but themselves :)

They need to figure out a better solution here.

They really don't need to. They could. They may! They'd like to but not at any cost, including their own sanity. This reality of them not having to answer to anyone but themselves is the entire point of being a private entity operating in a free and open economy.

just asking to lose an entire sub-section of the player base that is concerned with their privacy.

It's important to understand that growing or even maintaining the userbase is not a game goal. Growth is this emergent thing that may or may not happen. The dev and his team want nothing more but to build cool things that they enjoy making. That's it. The end. They don't plan stuff, have a whitepaper, or a roadmap (and probably never will). Which is why it makes RSG a bad "investment." It's why they insist that this "is not an investment."

Okay, so if you want to look at this as its their pet project and nothing more than fine, anything goes. Devs can do whatever they want whenever they want. DYOR etc. RS absolutely is NOT an investment to your point.

100%!

It of course gets tricky when you consider how many people play it, that there's a web3 market attached it all of it... like many things in life it's not a simple this or that answer.

But it's always good to control what you can, right? You and I cannot control what the devs do, especially if they've been clear it's a pet project and could go poof! on their whim. So if I'm putting my assets into it, it's at my own risk, knowing what I know.

Personally, I hope that it remains successful and indie and fun. That's the main value I get out of it. If some extra "ROI" finds it way in... amazing. If not, well, I knew what I signed up for.

This popup and rules stuff is all in service of helping others "know what they signed up for" too. 🙂

I do exactly the same. I have 4 friends who also play the game. And we meet up quite often. And it is kind of strange that you prohibit people from playing the game when they are together, or otherwise they might get banend...

I do understand why these rules need to exist. But to be honest, I never read these strict rules in any other small crypto game. So I am kind of confused sometimes, why this is the only game having so many strict rules.

This game earns EXTREMELY well, more than any other game I know. So yes, it needs strict rules. But I fell it gets more strict from month to month and I feel as if I am not sure if I do something wrong and I feel guilty all the time, only cause my friends play it too and my girlfriend does too (she does not live in my household though). And having players feel guilty is not a nice feeling to associate with a game you normally love.

So to be honest, I hope that there won´t be added even more rules over time. It doesn´t feel too good anymore. And also why not 2 people in the same household are allowed to play the game... Why? If they all have fun doing it? What would I do if I move in a house together with my girlfriend? One of us needs to stop playing?