Rising Star: Ego, Substance Abuse, Skills and Lesson Inequality

in Rising Star Game4 years ago (edited)

The Beta date for Rising Star is set for November 1st after all the hard fork stuff is done, dusted, and hopefully, by then we have a stable blockchain.

RisingStar.JPG

Some things I have noticed that would help even out things are:

Skills and Lessons

Everyone is scrambling to gain Drums or Production items as the rare cards give 50+ skills and there are several in both areas.


image.png
...'great idea to focus on Orchestra cards, but there are so few that it's just not worth it'...

The word 'rare' is not especially true as every pack contains one, and unlike Magic the Gathering booster packs where there is a single rare card, 3 uncommon, and 11 commons to a single rare, here we have 2 commons and 1 rare per pack.

Should there be an uncommon rarity, and how would that fit in with the packs? Maybe they should contain more cards as three seems a little sparse.

There is a need to have equal numbers of rares, commons, epics, and legendaries for ALL types of instruments.

This way the Grand Piano may have some value (as literally, nobody focuses on keyboards now), with Singing and Guitars being the other ones.


image.png
...'I have several Grand Piano's, but they sit in a corner, unplayed and unloved'...

Guitar has a legendary instrument that massively boosts your skill possibilities but lacks any rare cards.

I am confident Jux is aware of this, and the instruments are going to have a level playing field in the next month.

Ego Reduction

It has been talked about in the chat channels, and as it stands Ego is permanent and cannot be reduced. A mission should be created to remove some, and it needs to be long and not very productive to the aspiring career of you, the Rising Star.


image.png
...'I can control my large Ego, but not being able to reduce it seems limiting'...

Going into rehab is never easy, and while this isn't to remove any substance addictions, those hammers you need to hire to bang and reduce the size of your growing head cost.

Substance Abuse

Substance abuse should be another part of Rising Star. Do you know any famous singer or band who has not fallen foul of it? This is another one to think about.

image.png
Source

The topics make this look like some kind of serious post. It's just a game and a very addictive one with much potential.

Sign up here, earn Starbits, and become the next Rising Star!

RedLine.png

  • Earn FREE EOS from Coinbase by taking partaking in a simple quiz here
  • Earn currency while you play brewing virtual beer with CryptoBrewMaster
  • Earn currency while you play and become a global Rock Star with Rising Star


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, rehive, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I've been doing nothing but music lessons for the last week trying to bring my ego at least down to 20% ish, was as high as 80% when the change came round, down to ~50%.

What instruments are you focusing on? I do 4-5 lessons every day. They impact the starbits earnings, but I keep a tight grip on it. My Ego goes to 1% occasionally.

My best quest is with mics at the moment, don't really have a whole lot of cards been playing it without putting anything in so far, doing the slow grind.

Is there a good ROI on this game?

None of these games should be used or looked on as 'ROI', but they all are.. that's just the way it is. For me, it's decent, but I plough a lot back into it.

Yeah I understand that, but the perk of crypto is we can great games that provided that benefit.

Adding the ego seemed necessary as people were able to just keep running missions to accumulate masses of Starbits. I have mine more or less under control, but will have to keep doing one or two lessons each day.

We have a few new cards dribbling out. The storage ones could be useful for those with ego issues. It would be better to not have all those vehicles cluttering the market at silly prices.

I plan to keep buying cards and packs. Almost up to level 200 now.

There needs to be a way of removing Ego, that would be true to life as well as adding it. I figure it's coming and there are plans for something.

I had 0 interest in this game (I lost a large part of my 40s to Mincraft) until I saw the comment "I've been doing nothing but music lessons for the last week trying to bring my ego down". That's just GOLD!

I lost a large part of my 40s to Mincraft

Haha.. I lost part of mine playing Everquest. Fear not, this game take much less of your time, just start a mission and then go wash the dishes or dog!

I've just started the game yesterday ( I did login ages but didn't get around the play it) so I guess I missed the 'good old days' and have to grind my way up. Any tips of newbies?

Get a pizza box, a coffee cup and a cold slice as you may run out of energy otherwise. At 100 missions (Illegal Busking), you will get a pizza box, but you can never have enough. I have around 10 and never run out of energy.

If you want to get going, you need to spend a bit. I have been downsizing my SPL collection to pay for some of it. Almost every card has a use, so buying boosters always helps.

Instruments are for lessons, and you will need to do them on a regular basis once the Ego meter kicks in.

I would not say you have missed the 'good old days' yet, most of the present cards will be capped soon, meaning they have a limited print run.

So i can run multiple pizza boxes and coffee cups in one go? I dunno if i want to let go of my Splinterland stuff yet cos land is coming up lololol .....

You can have as many as you like, there's an 18% chance after every mission of getting a pizza slice, coffee refill or sometimes both. Depends on how lucky you are.

I'm not getting out of SPL, just not interested in the Champions league anymore.

I agree, rehab should totally be something you can do. I haven't really gotten into any of the instruments yet. I just don't have a high enough level to mess around with that stuff right now. I look forward to the game gradating to the next level.

You will need to focus on one set of instruments soon enough. Skills is needed to compensate Ego, and once it starts it carries on forever. I figure some of the less used ones may suddenly become popular once some new rare instrument cards are issued.

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 62000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 63000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP