Adding more Iron in kids diet - Spinach Pancake Recipe

Hello everyone,

My kid has had a mild Iron deficiency but now its all behind us.

In the last months, I've been very carefully to his diet to make sure he gets a lot of Iron foods.

Spinach was one of the foods I've tried to incorporate in his diet and this recipe is a proof of that. Haha.

They were actually pretty delicious, with a mild taste of spinach. If the color wouldnt have been green and serve it with honey, mapple or whatever, you wouldnt even know they're having spinach.


20230106_083521.jpg

20230106_083721.jpg


The recipe is easy to make, as all pancakes are.

I found this recipe online, so to make sure, its not my invention.

Everything was ok with the ingredients, except one. The milk. In the original recipe the milk required was 1/4 cup but its not enought. The pancake mix was tooo thick. I added more milk. At least 1/4 cup more.

Here's the recipe.


INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • one pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cups milk ( I used oat milk)
  • 1 cup mashed bananas or applesauce
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 2 Tbsp melted coconut oil
  • one or two handfuls of spinach leaves

Here I leave you the link to original recipe from which I got inspired.

https://thenaturalnurturer.com/blender-banana-spinach-pancakes/


20230106_074330.jpg


INSTRUCTIONS

In a blender, add dry ingredients together with oats. Blend until oats came into a powder. Transfer it to a bowl.

20230106_074648.jpg

Combine banana, spinach, milk, oil, eggs and honey in the blender. Blend until smooth.

20230106_075235.jpg

20230106_075327.jpg

Add wet ingredients to the blender and mix well until is well combined.

20230106_075832.jpg

In a non stick skillet, pour batter and cook 2 minutes on one side then another 2 min on the other side.

20230106_083040.jpg


Serve them warm with your favorite topping. In my opinion fruits or honey works best.

My son likes them plain, no topping at all. This is valid to all pancakes, no matter the recipe.

You can store them in the fridge after cooling completely.


20230106_083807.jpg

20230106_083821.jpg

20230106_083751.jpg

20230106_083622.jpg

20230106_083720.jpg

20230106_083629.jpg

20230106_083554.jpg

20230106_083814.jpg

20230106_083529.jpg

20230106_083521.jpg

20230106_081847.jpg

20230106_083516.jpg

20230106_083842.jpg


So, what do you think?
Are you maybe interested in trying them? Would you do them differently?

I personally find their color attractive for kids because its different than "normal".

You can make these sugar free (cutting out the honey too), eggs can be replaced with flax-egg.

I think this is a good choice for a breakfast. Its high in fiber, good carbs and keeps you full for the day.


Enjoy it!

Missdeli 💚💚

Sort:  

That's gonna be my breakfast tomorrow! I have a whole bunch of spinach waiting for that. I generally use spinach on my green smoothie, so great to have another option.

Sounds nice. Just make sure to add more milk, at least thats what I nedeed to do differently than the original recipe frroom which I got inspired. Ii hope they turn good forr you too. We enjoyed them for sure 🙂

untitled.gif

So, was it? Dod you try them by now? 😁

Yeeeeeah, today's pre cycling breakfast! But I addded to much milk, so fixed with more oats. I should've also made them smaller. It turned out awesome despite kinda massing it up 🤣

Great way to eat spinach, since I don't like it as a regular salad serving.

Well, then its good you fixed it. I think pretty much all pancake recipes can be fixed somehow, right? You cant go 100% total fail.

I also have struggles to incorporate it more into our diet so from time to time, these works. 😁

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @virgilio07 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

My kid too don't have much iron I must try this pancake, plus they love spinachs ❤️

Apparently, liver and red meats are the best for Iron deficiency. Unless you and your family arent vegans/vegetarians, you could incorporate more beef in their diet. (my kid loves all recipes with minced meat so I use beef pretty much all the time. Like Lasagna, pasta, meatballs). Also I make a beef soup with veggies and its his favorite.

I'd not eat these...

and if you believe that you're more bonkers than me! 😁

They look great, although I'm not sure I'd be able to eat the whole stack...I'd give it a try though. 🤔

Well, just make sure to access the link to original recipe where you'll find more instructions and tips.
I only need to say that 1/4 cup milk is not enough. Everything else went smooth though.

And I'm guessing you wont be able eating the whole stack, its pretty large.

P.S. I wonder what you mean exactly here cause I cant get it 100% and I needed to ask. 😁

I'd not eat these...

and if you believe that you're more bonkers than me! 😁

And I'm guessing you wont be able eating the whole stack, its pretty large.

I'm always up for a challenge and not the sort of man who runs away. Lol.

P.S. I wonder what you mean exactly here cause I cant get it 100% and I needed to ask. 😁

What I said there is called sarcasm.

Ahh ok. Lol. 😅
You're being funny. I get it now! 😁

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @artmom.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you @artmom ! What a lovely surprise. Thank you for thinking of me! 💙💙💙

You are welcome @missdeli 🤗

💙💙🥰🥰🤗🤗