Cooking with kids: Black Bean and Guacamole Quesadilla ๐ŸŒฎ๐Ÿฅ‘๐Ÿซ˜

in Healthy Happy Kids โ€ข 9 months ago

Hello darlings,

Two days ago I was cooking this recipe with my preschool child; he's not even five, but he's into cooking and following recipes. Gladly, I was inspired to buy a few books that combine healthy eating and cooking with kids. I love our books so much. ๐Ÿ“š๐Ÿ’–

Caleb has a favorite one and he's really into it. He's willing to try all the recipes in this book. He's the one to remind me cooking together. This book really has a special place in our kitchen and healthy eating education.
This time we tried the Black Beans and Guacamole Quesadillas.

Do you know what intrigues me?
When we cook together and my child is fully in, super involved and everything, he is more inclined to try new foods and combinations.
This time was Guacamole.

This was his first time trying Guacamole.

He doesnt like to combine foods and have sauce like consistency on the foods he eats. For example, he doesnt really like mashed foods or purees. And this isnt something new. He didnt like mashed foods not even when he was a baby. He would prefer small pieces than puree. I couldnt give him many "baby" foods.
He likes oatmeal and chia seeds though, such a relief ๐Ÿ˜. But when it comes to cooked food, he doesnt want to try recipes with too many ingredients.
But with all this, he tried the Guacamole now. And trust me, in our home I do a lot of guacamole but he never tried it. Me and husband would eat the guacamole and he eats the avocado pieces. Thats how it works.

But see? Thats the benefits of cooking with kids and trying recipes they want. They are aweare of the things happening at that moment in the kitchen. They are willing to try THE FOOD they have made for themselves. They learn to appreciate the food and the procces of cooking.


20231030_124256.jpg


Ingredients:

  • one tbsp olive oil
  • 2 small onios (chopped)
  • one clove garlic
  • one can of black beans, drained
  • one small tomato (or a few cherr tomatoes)
  • 2 flour or corn tortillas
  • one avocado
  • one tsp lime/lemon juice
  • salt and pepper
  • cheddar cheese
  • one tbsp coriander (we didnt have any, so I guess you can skip it in case you dont like it or dont have it too)

20231030_120912.jpg

20231030_120930.jpg

Instructions:

Put olive oil in a pan. Add onion and garlic, saute for 5 min and then add the beans. Season with salt and pepper, cook for another 2-3 minutes and set aside.

20231030_121357.jpg

20231030_121457.jpg

20231030_122149.jpg

Start making the guacamole.

Toss avocado with a fork.

20231030_121654.jpg

Add lime/lemon juice to the mashed avocado.

20231030_121801.jpg

Mix in tomatoes, red onion, salt and pepper, coriander. Mash everything together.

20231030_122351.jpg

How to assemble these quesadillas?

On a tortilla, spread the beans all over.
Do the same with guacamole.
And on top add grated cheddar.

20231030_122624.jpg

20231030_122712.jpg

20231030_122843.jpg

20231030_122836.jpg

Add another tortilla on top of all that and pan fry it on both sides for 2-3 minutes, until tortilla gets nicely brown and crispy.

20231030_122956.jpg

I used two different corn tortillas. One plain, with no other seasonings and a sweet paprika one. Thats what I had at home.

20231030_124057.jpg

20231030_124253.jpg

20231030_124350.jpg

You can see on the book how attractive to kids this can be. The pages are colored, with images, easy to follow recipes, with minimal cooking and heat using. They can prepare the recipes with a little help.
Also the food ingredients are brought to life, there are fun dialoges in there and easy explanations so that children can understand the role of vitamins, minerals and healthy eating in general.
I'm really happy with this book and I truly recommend you.
The book is called Children's Cookbook: Eat Your Greens, Reds, Yellows, and Purples.


20231030_123449.jpg


Thank you guys for reading. I truly encourage you to try cooking with your kids, I really believe its a healthy habit for you and the whole family.
Kids can become responsable for their eating habits and I think this is the beggining of a healthy happy life.

Love, missdeli ๐Ÿ’—

Sort: ย 

Getting children involved in making their own food is definitely a good way of getting them to try new flavours. I love your idea of getting recipe books and getting your little guy (love the name Caleb by the way) excited about food. My kiddos love avo so guacomole in any dish is a winner

Heeey! I apologize for my late reply ๐Ÿ™ˆ. Just last night I realized I didnt reply to anyone in here. I've had such a crazy time this last week! Sorry.

I always look up for kid friendly recipes and books. My little one loves to follow instructions written in there and he's not that exciting to cook together unless we use a book. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Glad you love his name. We do too, hehe. It's a biblical name. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Cool your kids love it. I'm so curious to see if he'd eat it from now on or only with this recipe. But in case its happening this way, I am not surprised! ๐Ÿ™ˆ

Also thanks for stopping by, I appreciate your feedback. โ™ฅ๏ธโ™ฅ๏ธ

What an awesome experience for you and your kids. Such a fun and productive activity to do @missdeli. Thank you for sharing this recipe โ™ฅ๏ธ

Thank u so much for stopping by and yout lovely comment.

Greetings from Romania ๐Ÿ˜Š

My pleasure โค๏ธโค๏ธ

Wow amazing preparation i really love

Thank you. Glad you love it.

How cute, this is such a great moment to share with your kids. I look forward to having my own and cooking with them all the time. I always cook with my young niece and nephew and it's so much more fun. I love cooking on my own but when you have to explain and show someone how to make it, the experience even better. I love teaching other how to cook. Amazing post by the way. I should be starting to post my food recipes as well, also a fun series with recipe books ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

I can imagine what you're saying. I always enjoyed cooking and doing all kind of activities with my nephews.
A series with recipes book sounds amazing. I truly encourage you writing it if you feel so.

Mhmmm, I can smell some nice and delicious Mexican memories in this post :) We used to eat guacamole almost every day when lived there. I miss those days... Glad to know that your kid is so much into cooking, thatยดs cool :)

ย 9 months agoย (edited)ย 

I'm sorry for my late reply. I thought I replied herr lol. Truth is I have had a rough week, just to speak.

I've just read your last post. Definitely you'll be missed here but dont u worry. Now its time to be with your family. And thats amazing! What precious times! Wishing u lovely memories and good times together as a new formula family! All the best to you!

yes yes it's very tasty I see it and FEEL it!;))
I know guacamole well, I tried it many times, it's cool! my son hates tomatoes;)) but I like it!
corn tortillas is simething new and complicated for me...:))

Ohh really? Vlad hates tomatoes? Caled adores them. Really really bad. ๐Ÿ˜…

I didnt make my own corn tortillas. I bought them too ๐Ÿ˜

Saludos si cocinas con el baby es genial despierta su creatividad y sano crecimiento, y quien quita y sea un gran chef..

Well, thank you for stopping by! Appreciate your comment and agree 100%.

Saludos from Romania ๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡ด

Estamos cerca..From Venezuela