Cannabis Clone Experiment

Hello Everyone,

Today I am conducting a clone experiment.

Let's have a look at the experiment!


image.png
Preparing The Experiment



image.png
Lemon Drip Cannabis Clippings



image.png
Cutting Slits For Hormone Absorption and Root Growth



image.png
Applying Rooting Hormone



image.png
Inserting Into Vase



image.png
Inserting Into Vase



image.png
Insertion Complete



image.png
Admiring My Work



image.png
Big Mac Superstar


After successfully coming up with a system that I feel is efficient for cloning, a fellow cannabis grower raised the question of:
"Can't algae buildup occur and cause issues with root growth in that clear vase?"

I have heard this before but I do not know the full effects of having exposed clippings to light.
Algae buildup could occur and could cause some issues, or maybe not? I am growing these in a tent under artificial light and am curious to see what happens here.

My thoughts are the extra light through the vase could help speed the process up, or it could be detrimental. I really do not know, which is the reason for this experiment!

I 3D printed two vases, one clear and one green. The green one should keep most of the light out as desired.

Both clippings have been taken from the same plant Lemon Drip cannabis, at the same exact time, and will be in the clone tent together under the same exact conditions.

This seems like a proper experiment to me because all conditions are exactly the same except for the fact that the clear vase is... well... clear! :D

I'll check on these clippings everyday and will let everyone know the progress of this experiment.

What do you all think? Did I forget anything or make any mistakes, or did I do something that you would have done differently? I would love to know in the comments!

Thanks for stopping by, have a great day! -@futuremind

Sort:  

Looks like it's going exceptionally well

Thank you brother, yes it's going very well! 😎

Where are you located? In the States?

Yes in New York

I think we've had this conversation before... Maybe? Either way. Appreciate the upvotes. I'm in Maryland.

I think we did but I have stoner memory and don't remember for sure.
For sure bro, keep up the great work with your freestyles, I'm always listening :)
Happy blazing , hope you have something good to puff on today :)

Shhhh.... We try to not talk about it openly, 😂

So what you call cloning, is really rooting a cutting. Interesting.
I mean, it stands to reason because a cutting rooted in genetically identical to the original, just never thought about it that way.
I don't see a clear vase, I see a whitish translucent vase (picky picky picky)
Do keep us updated about the algae and the success please.
Love you my friend, Happy Caturday

image

↑Upvoted↑and←Reblogged→

Hi Jerry,
Thank you for the kind words!

In botany and horticulture, cloning is a recognized term.
"Coined by Herbert J. Webber, the term clone derives from the Ancient Greek word κλών (klōn), twig, which is the process whereby a new plant is created from a twig. In botany, the term lusus was used. In horticulture, the spelling clon was used until the early twentieth century; the final e came into use to indicate the vowel is a "long o" instead of a "short o".[2][3] Since the term entered the popular lexicon in a more general context, the spelling clone has been used exclusively." Wikipedia

The easiest way to differentiate between horticulture and botany is that horticulture involves the propagation and management of gardens, where botany is more the scientific study, research and cataloging of plant genetics and function(s) in conjunction with propagation and management. It seems cloning is more of a horticulture term according to what I've been reading, which is a little confusing considering botany is more scientific. We could just call it a clipping or cutting :D

Essentially what is called cloning with plants is just that, rooting a cutting, but in scientific terms it's creating an exact copy of the genetic of the plant, in this case while still actively living, but cloning from a mother plant could occur from the clones after the mother plant is long gone, continuing the genetic line/copy.

I don't see a clear vase, I see a whitish translucent vase (picky picky picky)

Yes you are correct, this is more of a whitish semi translucent, not completely clear, I don't think it's picky that you called this out, it shows your attention to detail ;)

Tom is looking so healthy and happy. Much love to you Jerry, thank you for stopping by, have a great rest of your day 🤗

great explained gj
Happy weekend

Thanks bro, have a great weekend as well! 😎

Got to admire the work! That is the most important step, skip that then it’s all in vain ;)

Indeed, thank you for the kind words and support as always!

That's a nice guide my canna friend 👍💚

Thank you so much my friend! 😎

i hope that you will have a great plant in a few weeks, Why do you prefer to clone instead of germinating seeds?

I used to prefer seeds, but I am really starting to like cloning. I think I might prefer cloning.
Why? It's faster than germinating from seed I think, and also I know what I am getting if plant sexes are established. Like right now I have 4 clones that I know are all female :)

was gonna say before i read the last part they look like 3d printed vase! lol nice work

Thanks so much @doitvoluntarily! 😁


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @futuremind ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.