Work Life - Everything I have learned about hotel management so far: a plus in my engineering career. / Todo lo que aprendí sobre administración hotelera hasta ahora: un plus en mi carrera de ingeniera. 😅❤️

in WorkLife2 months ago

Surely during those long nights studying advanced calculus or food microbiology I never thought that five years later I wouldn't be even close to practicing my university degree, but that's life: uncertain and it takes you down unthinkable paths. The other day I was asked if I didn't "regret having studied for so many years to not be working in that field" but the answer was no, I could never regret having studied something that I love and now be doing something totally different. I don't know what I will be doing in another five years, but there are two things for sure that no one will take away from me: my degree in Food Engineering and the experience I gained traveling at the same time I work in hospitality 😅.

Seguramente durante esas largas noches estudiando sobre cálculo avanzado o microbiología de los alimentos nunca pensé en que unos cinco años después no estaría ni cerca de ejercer mi título universitario, pero así es la vida: incierta y te lleva por caminos impensados. El otro día me preguntaron si no "me arrepentía de haber estudiado tantos años para no estar trabajando de eso" pero la respuesta fue que no, nunca podría arrepentirme de haber estudiado algo que me encanta y de ahora estar haciendo otra cosa totalmente diferente. No sé que voy a estar haciendo dentro de otros cinco años más, pero hay dos cosas seguras que nadie me va a sacar: mi título de Ingeniera en Alimentos y la experiencia que adquirí viajando al mismo tiempo que trabajo en hotelería 😅.


Varios (18 x 12 cm) (19).png



The fact of exchanging work for accommodation in different hostels in my country started as a means to be able to travel longer in each place, but it brought with it something else which is the experience in hotel work. Six months have passed since I started with all this and I have already been in five different establishments in Argentina. Besides the traveling and relaxing side of this exchange, there is also the responsibility to do your job well. And I think I've been doing pretty well so far, since in one of the places, besides accommodation, they wanted to offer me a salary in exchange for me not leaving and staying as responsible for the hostel (which of course raised my self-esteem a lot) 😅.

El hecho de intercambiar trabajo por alojamiento en diferentes hostels de mi país comenzó como una forma de poder viajar más tiempo en cada lugar, pero trajo consigo algo más que es la experiencia en el trabajo hotelero. Han pasado seis meses desde que empecé con todo esto y ya estuve en cinco establecimientos diferentes en Argentina. Además del lado de viaje y relajación de este intercambio, también existe la responsabilidad de hacer bien tu trabajo. Y creo que hasta ahora me ha ido bastante bien, ya que en uno de los lugares, además del alojamiento, querían ofrecerme un salario a cambio de que no me fuera y me quedara como responsable del hostel (lo que por supuesto me subió mucho el autoestima 😅).

IMG_20240303_094616485.jpg](4)![IMG_20240303_094632776.jpg


In case you don't know, the difference between a hotel and a hostel is that in general the first one consists of private rooms with breakfast included, while the second one consists of rooms to share as well as the kitchen and in some cases the bathrooms as well. Another thing is that there is a big difference in the rates of each one, being the second option a little more economical and more chosen by solo travelers looking to economize their trips. So far, I have only stayed in hostels and I like the vibe these places have, always with people in a good mood and with great cultural exchange, since I met people from all over the world (even from some places I don't even know where they were) 😂.

Por si no lo sabes, la diferencia entre un hotel y un hostel es que en lineas generales el primero consiste en habitaciones privadas con desayuno incluído, mientras que el segundo son habitaciones a compartir al igual que la cocina y en algunos casos los baños también. Otra cosa es que hay una gran diferencia en las tarifas de cada uno, siendo la segunda opción un poco más económica y más elegida por viajeros solitarios que buscan economizar sus paseos. Hasta ahora, solo estuve en hostels y me gusta la vibra que tienen estos lugares, siempre con gente de buen humor y con gran intercambio cultural, ya que me crucé con gente de todas partes del mundo (incluso de algunos lugares que no sabía ni de donde quedaban) 😂.

IMG_20240303_094447503.jpg


Before starting to work in hostels, I was in many of them as a guest so I knew how they worked and what a traveler expects from each place they go. In each of these places the tasks I had to do were different, including cleaning, receiving guests, preparing breakfast, laundry and gardening. This exchange is generally 20 to 24 hours a week divided into different schedules that allow you to have free time to explore the place where you are. There were also others who made me work longer hours, bordering on labor abuse in this type of unpaid exchange, but that is another matter that I will talk about later 😅.

Antes de empezar a trabajar en los hostels, estuve en muchos de ellos como huésped así que sabía cómo era el funcionamiento y qué es lo que espera un viajero de cada lugar al que va. En cada uno de estos lugares las tareas que tuve que hacer fueron diferentes, pasando por la limpieza, recepción de huéspedes, preparación de desayunos, lavandería y jardinería. Este intercambio generalmente es de 20 a 24 horas semanales repartidas en distintos cronogramas que te permiten tener tiempo libre para recorrer el lugar en el que estas. También hubieron otros que me hicieron trabajar más horas, rozando el abuso laboral en este tipo de intercambios sin paga, pero ese es otro asunto del que hablaré luego 😅.

IMG_20240303_094745914.jpg
IMG_20240303_094336805.jpg


In hospitality work I learned that there has to be a commitment to fulfilling the schedules promised to guests, as well as the services offered and at the same time, making each person feel comfortable and well received. Something we must not forget is that many of them may be on the only vacation they have during the year, so it is better that they get a good impression of the entire establishment in general. From the position that I had in each case, I always gave my best, whether it was leaving everything perfectly clean, meeting the agreed deadlines to have the work ready, beautifying each place or treating kindly those who come to me for recommendations or questions. . I think you have to be very helpful in this type of work, and above all kind and patient with people, because they are the ones who give life to these places. So far I haven't had any bad experiences and I hope it continues like this, because I like what I'm doing 💕.

En el trabajo de hotelería aprendí que tiene que existir el compromiso con cumplir los horarios que se prometen a los huéspedes, así como los servicios que se ofrecen y al mismo tiempo, hacer sentir a cada persona cómoda y bien recibida. Algo que no tenemos que olvidar es que muchos de ellos quizás estan en las únicas vacaciones que tienen durante el año, asi que es mejor que se lleven una buena impresión de todo el establecimiento en general. Desde la posición que me tocó en cada caso, siempre dí lo mejor de mí, ya sea dejando todo perfectamente limpio, cumpliendo con los plazos pactados para tener los trabajos listos, embelleciendo cada lugar o tratando amablemente a quienes acuden a mí por recomendaciones o dudas. Pienso que hay que ser muy servicial en este tipo de trabajo, y sobre todo amable y paciente con la gente, por que son los que le dan vida a estos lugares. Por el momento no tuve ninguna mala experiencia y espero que siga así, porque me gusta lo que estoy haciendo 💕.

IMG_20240303_094514748.jpgIMG_20240303_094426969.jpg


I don't know what I'm going to do with this acquired experience once I want to work as a Food Engineer, but I'm sure I won't regret the days I'm living now. This job is what allows me to stay in beautiful places in Argentina, without forgetting to mention Hive that supports me financially along with the online classes I teach, so I would never deny what I did in these months. Although I would never have imagined I would be working in this field, I am glad I took the opportunity because I am getting to know much more than I would have imagined, and for me, the time invested in traveling will never be wasted time ❤️.

No sé que voy a hacer con esta experiencia adquirida una vez que quiera trabajar como Ingeniera de Alimentos, pero seguro que no me voy a arrepentir de los días que estoy viviendo ahora. Este trabajo es el que me permite hospedarme en lugares hermosos de Argentina, sin dejar de mencionar a Hive que me sostiene económicamente junto a las clases en linea que doy, así que nunca renegaría de lo que hice en estos meses. Si bien nunca me hubiese imaginado estar trabajando de esto, me alegra haber tomado la oportunidad porque estoy conociendo mucho más de lo que hubiese imaginado, y para mí, el tiempo invertido en viajar nunca va a ser tiempo desperdiciado ❤️.


❤️ Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading. ❤️

❤️¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer. ❤️



IMG_20240303_135530767.jpg


With lots of love. / Con mucho amor.
Lau 💕.


📸 Cover created with Canva. All the images are my property 💕.
📸 Portada creada en Canva. Todas las imágenes son de mi propiedad 💕.


Sort:  

It reminds me of what I studied before and ending up being the owner of a small business selling handmade products. Anyway, we can't truly know what will happen in the coming years. Our wants and happiness about things that we like to do keep changing, too. The important thing is that we are happy with the things that surround us and love what we're doing. Life is short so follow your heart. 😊

Hello Jonalyn :) I liked your way of seeing things, that the important thing is that we do what makes us happy. Sometimes paths change and there is nothing wrong with that. I love the products in your store, it shows that you make them with love ❤️.

Yeah, because what's the use of doing the things that we liked before if you're not happy now? It will only bring you frustration, failure, and sometimes depression. But when you're doing what you love at the moment, no matter what challenges you will be dealing with, it will be easy for you since you love what you're doing. Plus, you will be more effective with your chosen path. Just like my handmade products, which, as you say, show that I make them with love. 😍

WhatsApp Video 2024-01-22 at 9.03.58 PM.gif

It is incredible how things are, one makes plans in this life and destiny is the one who decides about our future, who would have thought that after years of having received your degree you would be doing an exchange as an administrator in a hotel

What a beautiful experience you are having, and how great that they offered you a fixed salary so that you could stay working at the hotel permanently as the person in charge of the establishment, that speaks very well of you.

Without a doubt, to work in a hotel you must have a vocation for service incorporated, it is the key to this type of business.

It never hurts to learn something new, you never know when you may need or use the learning.

Thank you very much dear friend @lauramica for sharing this wonderful experience
Have a wonderful night

Thank you for your good wishes Luis. Yes, this experience is something I had never thought of doing but I am having a great time so I am grateful. I send you greetings, thank you for visiting my posts ❤️.

Wow! Me parece muy interesante lo que estás haciendo. Es una experiencia única que estoy segura te servirá en un futuro si lo combinas con tu carrera de ingeniera en alimentos. La gente siempre quiere una rica y cálida comida cuando llega a un lugar a descansar. Jeje! Bueno, es lo que creo!☺️

Amé está publicación porque me hubiese gustado hacer algo parecido de joven!

Gracias por compartir y que sigas brindando lo mejor a de tí a cada huésped!❤️🥰🧑‍🍳

¡Muchas gracias Zu! Definitivamente de algo me va a servir en el futuro, y mientras tanto disfruto el presente. Y nunca es tarde para cambiar el rumbo de tu vida 😅.

Te mando un saludo, que tengas un lindo día ❣️.

I'm a lousy follower 😔 it's been a long time without visiting you 🙏 but here I am, fascinated reading your post and learning the difference between a hotel and a hostel, a word I've always heard and never tried to find out 😅 I'm glad that you say that people are usually very friendly in hostels, because I can't imagine sharing space with a bitter stranger hahaha. I was also impressed by how much you have studied, I congratulate you for being such a prepared woman, we need more people like you in the world. Happy start of the week Laura!...

Soy un seguidor pésimo 😔 ha pasado mucho tiempo sin visitarte 🙏 pero aquí estoy, fascinado leyendo tu post y aprendiendo la diferencia entre un hotel y un hostel, palabra que siempre he escuchado y jamás intenté indagar 😅 Me alegra eso que dices que la gente suele ser muy amable en los hosteles, porque no puedo imaginar compartir espacio con un desconocido amargado jajaja. También me impresionó lo mucho que has estudiado, te felicito por ser una mujer tan preparada, necesitamos más personas como tú en el mundo. ¡Feliz inicio de semana Laura!...


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project! Check out our Reading Suggestions posts!

Comment Footer.jpg
Please consider voting for our Liotes HIVE Witness. Thank you!

¡Muchas gracias! Por suerte en los hostels es más la gente buena onda que la que trae malas vibras, después de todo, ¿quién podría pasarla mal estando de viaje en un lugar hermoso?

Te mando un saludo, feliz semana para vos también ❤️

Conozco muchas personas que le pasaron los mismo que a vos. Terminar una carrera que nunca ejercieron. Igual no es tiempo perdido, para nada. Ese título es un seguro para que nunca estés sin trabajo.
Te deseo mucha suerte y te sigo en la aventura.

Si, yo también conozco gente que estudió algo que después nada que ver jajaja. Lo importante es que hagan algo que los haga felices :) ❤️

Gracias por tus buenos deseos, que tengas lindo día 😃.

Me encanta mucho leerte colega, en verdad nos regalas lindas experiencias y flexiones personales. Espero que nos sigas regalando tu contenido de calidad, saludos.

¡Muchas gracias!

Si ambas experiencias te hacen feliz, personalmente no dudo de que vayas en el camino equivocado, además como dices es algo que nadie te va a quitar!!. Gracias por compartir la diferencia de hotel y hostel, realmente no sabia. Me parece muy chévere lo que haces y que conozcas muchas culturas a través de las personas que conoces en tus viajes.

Gracias por pasar :) Si, estoy disfrutando mucho esta etapa de mi vida. Diferente pero linda ❣️.

Lo importante es hacer lo que nos gusta, disfrutarlo y aprovechar!


The important thing is to do what we like, enjoy it and take advantage of it!

¡Totalmente 😃!

Doing business is just like that, it is not easy. If you want to open a hotel, you have to learn many things.