Work Life - How I saved money during my stay in Ushuaia exchanging work for accommodation. / Cómo hice para ahorrar dinero durante mi estadía en Ushuaia intercambiando trabajo por alojamiento. 😃❤️

in WorkLifelast month

When planning a trip, one of the most important things to consider is accommodation. Before getting ready to go to a new place, it is necessary to make a small survey of all the available offers and choose the one that best suits our budget. My country Argentina is very big and has many destinations to go to, as well as a variety of prices and services. However, Ushuaia is one of the most expensive cities to go on vacation and even if you look ahead of time, it is a bit difficult to get something "cheap". Luckily for me, I was able to get to this place on a work-for-accommodation exchange, which allowed me to have more money for excursions and tours ❤️.

Al momento de planificar un viaje, una de las cosas más importantes a tener en cuenta es el alojamiento. Antes de prepararse para ir a un lugar nuevo hay que hacer un pequeño relevamiento de todas las ofertas disponibles y elegir la que mejor se adecue a nuestro presupuesto. Mi país Argentina es muy grande y tiene muchos destinos para ir, así como también variedad de precios y servicios. Sin embargo, Ushuaia es una de las ciudades más costosas para ir de vacaciones y aunque busques con anticipación, es un poco difícil conseguir algo "económico". Para mi suerte, puede llegar hasta este lugar con la modalidad de intercambio de trabajo por alojamiento, lo que me permitió tener más dinero para excursiones y paseos ❤️.


Varios (18 x 12 cm) (25).png



Since I started traveling with this modality, I have had the opportunity to stay longer in each place I visit. The agreement between the accommodation owner and the volunteers is to do chores for a few hours in exchange for accommodation and some food. In general these tasks are cleaning, receiving guests, gardening, maintenance, or whatever is needed. Each exchange is different, but none of them should lose the thread that they have to be a few hours of work, ideally no more than 5 hours per day and with two days off in the week, since being a job without economic payment, it cannot exceed a regular working day. Also, the idea of this exchange is that each volunteer has free time left to tour the place that is visiting, which is for me, the real payoff of the exchange 😃.

Desde que empecé a viajar con esta modalidad, tuve la oportunidad de quedarme más tiempo en cada lugar que visito. El acuerdo entre el dueño del alojamiento y los voluntarios es hacer tareas durante algunas horas a cambio del alojamiento y algo de comida. En general estas tareas son de limpieza, recepción de huéspedes, jardinería, mantenimiento, o lo que sea que se necesite. Cada intercambio es distinto, pero en ninguno tiene que perderse el hilo de que tienen que ser unas pocas horas de trabajo, idealmente no más de 5 horas por día y con dos días libres en la semana, ya que al ser un trabajo sin pago económico, no puede exceder una jornada laboral regular. Además, la idea de este intercambio es que a cada voluntario le quede tiempo libre para recorrer el lugar que está visitando, lo que es para mí, la verdadera paga del intercambio 😃.

IMG_20231214_122130014.jpg


Throughout Argentina and the world, there are many lodgings that operate in this modality. Generally, contracts are by word of mouth and can last from weeks to a few months, since the idea is to continue traveling in a nomadic way. Regardless of that, each volunteer must have some economic solvency, either from savings, a casual job or freelance work. In my case, I can sustain this trip mostly thanks to the earnings from this blog, in addition to the online math classes I teach 😃.

A lo largo de Argentina y el mundo, hay muchos alojamientos que se manejan con esta modalidad. Generalmente, los contratos son de palabra y pueden durar desde semanas hasta algunos meses, ya que la idea es continuar viaje a modo nómada. Independientemente de eso, cada voluntario debe contar con alguna solvencia económica que corre por su cuenta, ya sea proveniente de ahorros, algún trabajo eventual o modalidad freelance. En mi caso, yo puedo sostener este viaje en su mayor parte gracias a las ganancias de este blog, además de las clases online de matemática que doy 😃.

IMG_20231214_122042620.jpgIMG_20231214_121936495.jpg


In the case of the accommodation job in Ushuaia, getting it was a great chance. As it is a small city, I asked everywhere if I could work under this modality and I received only negative answers. The way I have to contact these places is via Instagram, although there are also apps especially for this like Worldpackers or Workaway, but they have paid subscriptions. When I was about to give up, I was contacted by a hostel asking me if I wanted to go cover the vacation of one of the employees for two weeks. Of course I said yes, and there I went, staying almost 20 days in total for which I didn't have to pay anything but the ticket there, my food and the excursions I liked 😃.

En el caso del trabajo por alojamiento en Ushuaia, conseguirlo fue una gran casualidad. Como es una ciudad pequeña, pregunté en todos lados si podía trabajar bajo esta modalidad y recibí puras respuestas negativas. La forma que tengo de contactar estos lugares es vía Instagram, aunque también hay aplicaciones especialmente para esto como Worldpackers o Workaway, pero tienen suscripciones pagas. Cuando estaba a punto de rendirme, me contactaron de un hostel preguntandome si quería ir a cubrir las vacaciones de una de las empleadas durante dos semanas. Por supuesto que dije que sí, y allí fuí, quedandome casi 20 días en total por los que no tuve que pagar nada más que el pasaje hasta ahí, mi comida y las excursiones que me gustaron 😃.

IMG_20231214_121853174.jpg
IMG_20231214_121907891.jpg


In this hostel, the work I had to do was to serve breakfast. My shift was from 7 AM to 12 PM, where I had to prepare a buffet style breakfast starting at 7:30 and ending at 10 AM. Then, I had to take care of getting everything up, cleaning the living room and the kitchen and that was it. In Ushuaia almost in summer there was daylight until 11 PM, so after my work day I had plenty of hours to go around the city. In exchange for that, the accommodation gave me a bed in a shared room and the same breakfast as the guests, which included toast, eggs, cookies, jam, dulce de leche, cheese, butter, juice, coffee, milk, yogurt, cereals and infusions. Pretty complete if you ask me 😃.

En este hostel, el trabajo que tenía que hacer era ocuparme de servir los desayunos. Mi turno era desde las 7 AM hasta las 12 PM, en donde tenía que preparar un desayuno estilo buffet que empezaba a las 7:30 y terminaba a las 10 AM. Luego, debía ocuparme de levantar todo, limpiar el salón y la cocina y eso era todo. En Ushuaia casi en verano había luz del día hasta las 11 PM, por lo que después de mi jornada de trabajo tenía un montón de horas para ir a recorrer la ciudad. A cambio de eso, el alojamiento me daba una cama un habitación compartida y el mismo desayuno que a los huéspedes, que incluía tostadas, huevos, galletitas, mermelada, dulce de leche, queso, manteca, jugo, cafe, leche, yogur, cereales e infusiones. Bastante completo si me preguntan 😃.

IMG_20231214_074536951.jpg
IMG_20231129_101014345.jpgIMG_20231202_083358399.jpg


In all this time traveling, I met many other travelers who move thanks to this same modality of work and they all say the same thing, that it is very difficult to get a volunteer position in Ushuaia. This place is one of the most beautiful in Argentina and one of the most expensive, so many people want to get there no matter what. When I first arrived in the city I felt very lucky to have that opportunity, and now I feel special knowing that not everyone can make it. I have very good memories of my mornings serving breakfast as that was the time when the hostel was full and I could interact with all the guests: there I was able to improve my English conversation a lot, as most of them were foreigners, and I also made some friends with whom we later shared treks. This experience could not have been better for me: Im glad it was possible and I would definitely repeat it 💖.

En todo este tiempo viajando, me encontré con muchos otros viajeros que se mueven gracias a esta misma modalidad de trabajo y todos dicen lo mismo, que es muy difícil conseguir un voluntariado en Ushuaia. Este lugar es uno de los más hermosos de Argentina y de los más caros, así que mucha gente quiere llegar ahí como sea. Cuando apenas llegué a la ciudad me sentí muy afortunada de tener esa oportunidad, y ahora me siento especial sabiendo que no todos pueden lograrlo. Tengo muy buenos recuerdos de mis mañanas sirviendo el desayuno ya que era el momento en el que el hostel estaba repleto y podía interactuar con todos los huéspedes: ahí pude mejorar mucho mi conversación en inglés, ya que la mayoría de ellos eran extranjeros, y también hice algunos amigos con los que luego compartimos trekkings. Esta experiencia no podría haber sido mejor para mí: me alegra que haya sido posible y sin dudas la repetiría 💖.


❤️ Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading. ❤️

❤️¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer. ❤️




With lots of love. / Con mucho amor.
Lau 💕.


📸 Cover created with Canva. All the images are my property 💕.
📸 Portada creada en Canva. Todas las imágenes son de mi propiedad 💕.


Sort:  

Vaya! Que fortuna y hayas conseguido ese hotel en Ushuaia siendo tan difícil conseguir uno en esa pequeña ciudad bajo la modalidad de alojamiento por trabajo. Según lo que narras fue una grata experiencia y trajo muchos ventajas para ti, tanto así que hasta pudiste practicar conversaciones en inglés. Parece que tuviste mucha ganancia aquí y ellos también ganaron con tu buen servicio.

¡Así es! Creo que fue una buena experiencia para todos, en verdad estuvo todo muy bueno ♥️.

!HUESO

Greetings from the Virtual World Community. We send you Hueso token to support your work.
Click on this banner, to be directed to the Virtual World Discord and learn more about the curation project.


Uses: 46/48
!LUV

Damn! I miss Argentina. From all the countries I've had the pleasure to vagabond on, Argentina and Chile are among the most epic. In Ushuaia I stayed at the backpacker's hostel, remember it clearly. I'd go back there anytime.

Be my guest if you ever come to southern Brazil.

Of course I also applied for a job in that hostel but had no luck 😅.

It would be great to go to Brazil! Thank you very much for the invitation ❤️.

You gave me an idea of what to do next time haha.. but I guess not all accomodation accept this kind of set-up.. unless you are close to the owner or the place truly need more manpower..

If you look at the worldpackers website, searching with the location you want, you will find some opportunities... however, there are also other places that work with this modality and are not registered on that website, so it is best to ask directly on their own websites or Instagram :)

https://www.worldpackers.com/search/work_exchange/asia/philippines

Thanks for this info ☺️

Me encanta porque cuando quiera arrancar mi etapa de viajero vos podrás ayudarme en todas estas cuestiones, ya que estas acostumbrada y adelantada en estos de los viajes jaja

I had no idea there was something like this, work in exchange of accommodation and food. This will definitely save you a whole lot. Great idea. Either ways I hope you enjoyed your vacation☺️

Thank you! The whole experience was great ❤️.

You’re welcome

I'm happy to know you are enjoying your traveling adventures. I like this work-for-accommodation modality. It's a great way of enjoying what you love doing at a minimal expense.
You are always happy Laura, and I love that energy💝.

Thank you very much :) There are many travelers who move with this mode, it is very useful indeed ❤️.

This work for accommodation modality is good I would say. I can only picture your excitement when you finally had a call from the hostel. Glad you enjoyed your time there.

I couldn't believe it, it was so cool 💕💕💕💕.

That's such a good deal. 🤗

Yess ❤️

Reminds me of a book I read, the author did something very similar, he would just walk from one place to another, offering work for a place to stay. Such a cool idea, and neat it still happens.

Yes, here in Argentina it is widely used. You travel, work a bit and get to know each community in depth ❤️.

How great that you were able to travel to see Ushuaia and not have to pay for accommodation, I think that in addition to the ticket, this is one of the biggest costs of the vacation. It's good that thanks to Hive compensation you can afford your transfers to different cities in Argentina
Without a doubt you have been very lucky in getting this exchange accommodation in the city
Have a great day dear friend @lauramica

Hello Luis! It's true, accommodation is the most expensive thing, I'm glad I saved quite a bit on that. The whole trip was very beautiful ❤️.

Mira que no sabía de esta modalidad, parece bastante justa, me gustó mucho el post, Saludos 💯🌟

Gracias por pasar, me alegra que te haya gustado ♥️.

Amiga excelente!! Me encantó tu post! Como quizás sabés, hace años que viajo en modalidad de voluntariado y me parece una delicia desde cualquier lugar que se mire (excepto desde el lugar del ingreso económico, je). Pero creo que hay muchas maneras de “ganar” haciendo esto.

Nunca lo he vivido en Argentina y me encantó que nos acerques a Ushuaia desde esta manera de viajar y experimentar el lugar.

Hermosa experiencia!!

Que lindo Belén, espero algún día animarme a hacerlo fuera del país. Sería increíble ♥️.

Nowadays, we know all the things through the internet, how much will be spent on this trip, so it is better that the more information there is about all these things, the better the trip will be, the more beautiful this place will be. And these clouds that we are seeing, I myself like this kind of view very much.

Absolutely ❤️!

If you can save your money while being outside from home, you can achieve everything in life 💞

Yes, this is great :)

Congratulations @lauramica! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 12500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 13000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain

!ALIVE

@lauramica! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ cryptoyzzy. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Es toda una aventura, no imagino como será su próximo viaje.
Le deseo la mejor de las suertes.

Muchas gracias ❤️😊

Que interesante lo que comentas en este post me llama mucho la atencion esta modalidad de pago del alojamiento, en general que tal ha sido para ti vivir en Argentina, con el tema economico y de empleo?

Nyam,,nyam 😋😋😋