You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why some applications ask for the active key ?

in DTube4 years ago

As far as I know, you need the active key in order to share posting authority, so with the likes of HiveSigner, you're using your active key to let an app use your posting permissions.

For example, I have given these apps (via SteemConnect) permission to post as me
image.png

I agree that it's still not great, but that's the rules of the blockchain. Still, I'd NEVER enter my active key into any site that I don't absolutely 100% trust.

Sort:  

If using hivesigher, I think it's ok. But some ask to put the active key directly on their websites.

If you're talking about PeakD via PeakLock, they use it to sign transactions (involving money), if there are any other sites doing it, I'm not too sure.