Why some applications ask for the active key ?

in DTube4 years ago (edited)


In this video I talked about some applications that ask for the active key.

We all know that the posting key can be used for posting. I created content on @dtube for more than 2 years and they never asked from me the active key. I don't really understand applications that ask for active keys while they need only the posting to give our accounts the posting authority.

Maybe there is a reason I don't know about. Tell me in the comments about that.

I know that the active key can be used to transfer money and to power down. That's why I prefer to not share it.

I understand if we share those keys in the keychain because it save keys only on our pcs, but why we need to share our active keys in websites if that so dangerous.


pngfuel.com (3).png

Follow me in twitter here : https://twitter.com/Clixmoney1

Join @dcooperation community I'm building here : https://hive.blog/trending/hive-177976


▶️ DTube
▶️ BTFS
Sort:  

As far as I know, you need the active key in order to share posting authority, so with the likes of HiveSigner, you're using your active key to let an app use your posting permissions.

For example, I have given these apps (via SteemConnect) permission to post as me
image.png

I agree that it's still not great, but that's the rules of the blockchain. Still, I'd NEVER enter my active key into any site that I don't absolutely 100% trust.

If using hivesigher, I think it's ok. But some ask to put the active key directly on their websites.

If you're talking about PeakD via PeakLock, they use it to sign transactions (involving money), if there are any other sites doing it, I'm not too sure.

Brother. Greetings. Please how do I recharge my tipu power? I learnt that it is rechargeable. Thanks so much.

I don't know. Check that in their website.