1 year of doggo fun!

in DTube3 years ago (edited)


I have my dog for about a year now, and it has been an absolute job to have this rascal here with us. Even though we didn’t get him as a puppy but as a dog with ‘issues’ through a foundation, I never had an issue with him. (okay maybe except for that his Appenzeller side of him is a real barking and guarding ass towards me, poor mailman)

Last week I got a call from the foundation that I got him from to ask how he was doing. It was like an aftercare kind of conversation, and that is just a really neat thing I find. So many dogs have been purchased and rescued during covid times and when I look around, it wasn’t always in the best interest of the animal, but more in the best interest of the bosses. Not always the best kind of situation.

The lady on the phone was telling me she also had some heartbreaking stories of people who thought it would work out with their new pooch, but they eventually ended up with tying up the dog to the heater because he would run through the apartment the whole day. That maybe this was because they chose a breed that needed a ridiculous amount of exercise was something that they didn’t think about before this went for this breed. So the dog went back to the foundation and was on the hunt for a new boss again.

That is the cool thing with these kinds of foundations, they tend to look a little bit better than the average bargain place for puppies in terms of if an animal suits the situation. For instance my dog isn’t the best one with other dogs and needs to be left alone every now and then. If he doesn’t get his calm, he will start acting all jumpy.

But when he gets his rest decent you can see these fantastic dreams like in the little movie. It is so hilarious to watch a dog when he is sleeping, and I always think that he is dreaming about being chased by a gigantic rottweiler or something. Rapid eye movement is definitely in place for this situation haha

But what I want to mention is that these rescue foundations are almost always based on charity work, and that they need support and you should never forget this. Check out your own local foundation or shelter to see what they need. Often with a bag of food a dog can be helped again already. Or with helping cleaning the pens. Or just by telling these volunteers already that they are doing an excellent job, and that they must never forget that.

As said, I have been enjoying the presence of my dog for a year now and it is nothing but joy, but this is surely not the case in all homes. Just look out for each other a little bit, and don’t forget our furry friends!.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Your current Rank (64) in the battle Arena of Holybread has granted you an Upvote of 27%