When greed ruins everything

more-g7c25f2f82_1920.jpg
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

I just lost a few dollars because I was trading in a bad mood, the worst combination I have ever done in my life, it is something I will never repeat.

The more money I lost, the angrier I got and I kept opening orders, the worst of all is that I wasn't even analyzing the charts, I was just getting carried away by the moment, and that's what left me with a fatal blow.

I always try to be a little positive in these things, because at least it was not all the money I was willing to trade, I know that soon that will be recovered because the money must be allowed to flow to return to our pockets.

But it hurts!

The problem is that it is not the first time it has happened to me, sometimes I am a very impulsive person, I have learned to control my emotions very well, but sometimes I get carried away by them, and I end up ruining everything. It's something I'm still working on because I know that in the future it can bring problems.

The worst thing is when those "stumbles" make me lose money, since I'm the kind of person who saves a lot and when I lose it that fast the first thing I think is "wow, I could have bought something with that money".

But why keep thinking about the past? These are things that happen and we have to leave them behind, because if you keep thinking about all the mistakes you have made in your life you will never get to old age! Besides, better things always come and as I always say, you have to see the positive side of everything.

They always say that everything in life happens for a reason, and I agree with that, even if they are cruel and sad things, everything must have always happened for a reason. Besides, this kind of thinking makes you think about things more calmly and not worry about unnecessary things, always live your present and prepare certain things for the future.

So, move on!

Sort:  

Every rookie trader makes this mistake and learns from it. Don’t be discouraged. Even the pros fell victims to their emotions at some point in their early days. It’s normal. The important thing is that you learnt from it.

You need to learn discipline and market psychology rules. For example, you could limit yourself that if you lost 3 times in a streak, you would take a 2 day break from the market. This way you’ll take 2 days to cool down and not open any positions based on emotions, because this will just bite you in the ass in the end.

I’m talking from experience, the market fucked me up reeaaal bad a couple of months ago. You learn the hard way. That’s the only way the market teaches.

Don’t worry yourself too much over it though, shit like this happens all the time, and you’ll eventually master your discipline and that’ll be the end of the losses due to emotions. I wish you luck in your future trades man.

Thanks for your words man, i really appreciate it.

Anytime man! Hopefully you’ll tell me about some winning trades soon.

Yep why should we keep thinking of what has happened already when we can’t change it? Somethings really hurt when you know you could have prevented it with a little patience.

I must admit that even In my right state of mind I normally loose money trying to scalp trade in a bear market😂. I find it funny because I know that most of my trades will fail me or I might have to leave with a little loss. But the thing that motivates me to do it is for the chance that I might just get it right one day and get huge gains.

The remedy I have to loosing a trade is leaving the exchange were you are trading immediately, put your phone down or leave the the pc and go watch a movie or take a walk outside to forget about it and you will come back all refreshed and pumped up to open winning positions🤙🤞