I don't want it but I need it

in Rant, Complain, Talk5 months ago

pexels-photo-5598292.jpeg

I've not had any rest since we moved to the UK and frankly, I don't think I need one. However, next week, I will be taking an enforced paid break from work.

On Friday, I'm saying goodbye to the warehouse job and I'll be having my usual day off work at the customer service job. This works nicely for me, I must say as I'll not need to rush back to the office on the weekend.

It's a funny old holiday, if you ask me. I don't actually want the break, as I made it known to my team leader but I have to because it is company policy.

Can you imagine that? I am being forced against my will to take a break. When I say it out loud, it really sounds incredible.

You must be wondering why I really don't want the holiday. Well, the thing is that the holiday interferes with my plans.

It normally requires 8 weeks of training to be signed off as a full staff. Being signed off comes with a slight increase in your salary but most importantly to me, it also means that I get more hours.

The one week holiday means that my signing off is pushed forward by a week. So, instead of being signed off at the end of this month, I'll have to wait until the first week of January to be signed off.

It's a slight delay but a delay, nonetheless but yeah, it is what it is. In any case, I intend to actually enjoy my holiday. I'll get plenty sleep, play video games

Sort:  

Can you imagine that? I am being forced against my will to take a break

I just could not stop smiling when I read this. Yeah! It's a good your company could give you such break but I think it would have been better if they allowed you to choose you time of break...but hell no! Company policies must be fulfilled 😅
I hope you enjoy the break

What a sweet dilemma!!

nonetheless but yeah, it is what it is.

Exactly, some situations are best described with this, accept and move on.

Baba go rest before you slump for working place o. These guys know how to take care of their staff health...not in Naija where you will work the hell out of yourself and still get paid penny.
Health is wealth. When you are back, you will feel refreshed.