Almost Foiled

in Rant, Complain, Talk2 months ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to chat a little bit about how I almost lost my posting streak LOL

IMG_6898.JPG

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Almost Foiled

This was a tough week in a number of ways! With the crazy stuff still going on at work, all these weeks later, and then at the end of the week falling ill with the flu. It's been a hell of a ride hahaha.

IMG_0774.JPG

I made it through all of that though, and thankfully am feeling a lot better. What was crazy is that throughout all that I had written and scheduled a few posts which was good, except I wasn't planning on being sick on Wednesday and Thursday night so that meant I was not able to write a post the way I wanted to! I was thinking "well fuck, here's where it ends!" I was almost foiled in my attempt at keeping the posting going!!

In all seriousness, I know it's definitely not the end of the world or a truly horrific thing but when you have a streak going for so long, you just gotta say fuck it let's keep it going. What was interesting and funny is that not even the work or sickness was going to hold me back from posting, but we were planning on going on a short vacation!

IMG_6835.JPG

When I'm on vacation, I make it a point to bring my phone but spend minimal time on it. My time is spent with my wife and my son, in all manners of my attention. I think this is crucially important because these days, we have to give the people in our lives our fullest and best attention in a day where our attention is constantly being torn away from us at every turn to distract us and keep us frustrated, tired and confused.

This meant that if we were going on vacation, and I was sick those few nights, I didn't have ANY posts prepared and none were scheduled over the weekend. Shit! LOL. I feel bad for sure though, because our plans got cancelled. My son still isn't feeling the best and the weather is going to be cold as shit this weekend. Snowboarding in single digit weather as an adult sucks - as a kid it's the worst because the dude would definitely catch pneumonia and we'd be screwed.

IMG_6898.JPG

In some weird way, the gods of Hive were in my favor and the trip got cancelled for the weekend, postponed until later in the week. I hope we can still go, as I've got a few other days off but I was also breathing a sigh of relief that I wouldn't lose my precious posting streak :D. Thankfully I am feeling quite a bit better now that I got some great rest, took the various meds and things to assist getting rid of that damn thing and my son is on the mend as well. We felt it was definitely not the right course of action to risk it all and go snowboarding for something as small as a few hours of risk for pneumonia versus a weekend resting and recuperating, as well as cleaning the damn house! Given that I was sick and my wife was fielding all of the crap, the house certainly is going to get a deep clean this weekend hahaha. The priorities as you get older, huh? Gone are the days of drinking until 3 AM and working at 7 AM..

The good thing is this weekend, I've got quite a few posts to catch up on! First night into writing and I'm already at 2. Hoping to get another 3 tomorrow night but calling it an early night tonight so I can get back to reducing my sleep debt.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

One thing I was able to catch is that you were still able to write no matter how the article may be and that means you are dedicated to writing everyday
Kudos to you!

 2 months ago  

Yeah writing often is an important thing for me in my ability to stay sane these days!

Kudos to you for keeping up the streak 👌

It might be silly to ask, but do you use the help of the Schedule option? I find that I always get struck with inspiration during the weekend but most of my Communities aren't active. Yet I can't control the urge to post! 😅 So I Schedule it. Then I can have a backup of posts while still working on current ideas.

Anyway I'm glad you managed to keep in mind what's important: family! It can be especially difficult when you're sick, very easy to become wrapped up in yourself and how crappy you feel... I hope things improve soon 👍

 2 months ago  

Thanks for stopping by :D yes I absolutely schedule them!! I rely heavily on scheduling, so much so that I don't post as often on Leo right now because the scheduling is broken lol. I'm glad that you do it! I also use it to write a few posts when I have the energy and motivation which is a great thing.

We are feeling a lot better thankfully! We relaxed this weekend and took time to clean and take care of the house so we are getting off on a better foot this week.

Would you believe that my husband wasn't aware of the Schedule option, and he's been here for 6 years?! 😱 So I had to bring it up! 😄

I'm glad you're all feeling better, and a clean slate, so to speak, can do your mind wonders. Enjoy the rest of the week!

 2 months ago  

Damn, you almost lose something precious 🤣

 2 months ago  

Hahah yeah, if we went on vacation I would've said fuck it, it was a good ride!

Mate don't let it run your life 😂😂😂

 2 months ago  

Lol for sure! No I was fully committed to letting it go if we went on vacation. I’m not on my phone at all for those things, my wife and son are way more important than that!

It’s going to happen one day and if it does that’s fine, I’ll pick it back up after things settle down.

 2 months ago  

We're going streaking!!!!

= }


Whaddup. Got a couple email notifications said you messaged me on discord. Man, I'm probably missing out on some good stuff.

By the way, I didn't know discord alerted emails like that.

Anyhoo.. Got a new phone in December. Haven't been able to sign back into discord since.

 2 months ago  

Cheers dude! Glad you’re alive and okay. That was my biggest concern! I need a new phone myself so I’m with you there. I have NO idea what my discord account password is hahaha I don’t even think I know what email it’s associated to anymore so it’s going to be interesting.

Happy to see you stop by man, seriously! Also here is what I sent you haha

8E56D35C-8881-4DAD-A9D0-42CE0EC7B9A6.jpeg

That was pretty close lol, but good to know that the gods of Hive intervened. They want you to keep that posting streak going :)

 2 months ago  

Hahah yeah, I was for sure going to let it go if we went away but things worked out for that and we took some MUCH needed rest and relaxation! It’s been a heck of a sick season that’s for sure lol

Rest and relaxation is good for the body and mind, especially just after a sick season. I hope spring and summer make for better seasons with great health :)

 2 months ago  Reveal Comment
 2 months ago  

Yeah that's good! I know sometimes are more difficult than others. Glad you were able to get through it!