You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We're #1!

Which holler you out of? I was born in Pikeville, my mom's whole family is from that neck of the woods. If it wasn't for the Tug I doubt anyone could tell where Kentucky ends and West Virginia begins.

Fuckin A, I'm going to have to start doing that with QR codes. Up to present I've been asked about my vaccination status exactly once and that was privately by an airbnb host.

My brother has been over there since August but he's headed back to this side of the Atlantic this weekend.

Next time you're having your beer or whiskey and banjo music, check these guys out (if you ain't heard them already)

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Well ain't that some shit, my cousins went to Pikeville high and the ones that made it far enough went to Pikeville college. We were about 20 minutes out of town by the old coal mines, It used to be a big ol redneck trailer park just outside greasy creek. Haven't been back there in years. Spent a lot of time growing up in Ohio, Kentucky and West Virginia. We traveled a lot, mostly when the rent was due.

As for The Dead South those boys are always a good listen.

Small world eh?

Small world indeed. My parents' trailer got flooded there back in the 80s, dad used to teach industrial arts there until we moved to Lee County.

Dead South was one of the last concerts I went to before covid shut everything down here. They had a Kentucky band opening for'em, Th' Legendary Shack Shakers, you might like them too. Lol, I'd went to the concert to see the shack shakers, the dead south was just a bonus.

 3 years ago  

Hahaha fuckin brilliant, blood on the bluegrass and punk rock retirement plan are my favorites. I got confused music playlists. All the trailers in the valleys flooded when shit went haywire. But if you moved to Lee county you moved upmarket (at the time, like I said ain't been back in a while.)

Industrial arts, my kinda guy. Need more real world education these days. Duck tape and wd40, if it don't fix it a hammer helps.

If it moves and shouldn't, duct tape. If it should move and doesn't, WD40. If that doesn't do the trick there's always bondo or a ball peen hammer!