I tried

in Rant, Complain, Talk2 years ago

20210726_121735.jpg

Let us be grateful to people who make us happy, they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.

- Marcel Proust -



I tried, I honestly did...But sometimes no matter how hard one tries to do something the results don't come and one simply has to give in to failure.

This afternoon I met a sales guy from a well known home improvements company who had come to my house to discuss my needs, measure up and arrange a quote. The work is likely to cost me a significant amount of money, well over $25,000, and needs doing; it's a lot but it will improve the value of my house when complete. I say this to demonstrate that the home improvements company will make a reasonable sum of money from the job. You'd think some effort would go into the meeting, that the person would be friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and generally personable. Wrong.

From the outset the guy was argumentative, dismissive, spoke over me as I was explaining what I needed done and basically seemed more intent on denigrating the structure that was already there rather than discussing the future plan. He failed to answer my logical and well-phrased questions with substance and was generally flippant, rude and stand-offish.

I've been in sales for over twenty years and I know how it's done; and this guy ain't it! I understand how to build instant rapport, listen to hear not respond, ask questions, reflect the answers back to show understanding and all the other techniques one needs to employ to have a good chance at securing the work. So...After two failed attempts to get the meeting on track with this cock-knocker chap I began to get annoyed.

I tried to turn it around though, I promise you I did...I started thinking about nice thoughts to divert my attention from my annoyance.

As the asshole gentleman was going about the measuring process I thought about flowers and spring blossom, fluffy cats, sunny days and ice cream, fresh cut grass and the scent of vanilla, the smell of the forest after rain, all things that make me happy and calm. I even thought about boobs...Yeah, you know the G-dog is pissed off when boob-thoughts don't make him feel better! I was working up a pretty decent anger and whilst I did my utmost not to let it show...Well, it probably did. Boobs boobs boobs boobs...Think about boobs!

Nope...It didn't work at all. After about forty minutes I could take it no more and asked the guy to leave. He looked shocked.

I basically told him that his behaviour towards a potential customer was unacceptable, that his company wasn't going to get any business from me and that I'd never call them again. I was reasonably polite of course, but not totally polite. I reiterated with a firm dismissal; you can leave now mate, and I looked at the open side gate meaningfully.

He actually had the nerve to say, But I've been here for three quarters of an hour and have already done all the measurements. (This almost tipped the old G-dog over the edge). Instead, I gave him a look that conveys my intolerance to any further assfuckery and tilted my head towards the open gate in a non-verbal suggestion he should fuck off.

I'm really annoyed about how the meeting went as I now have to go through the whole process with someone else. I was a little bemused about the way that guy was also. I mean I know people have bad days, but treating a potential customer like he did is inexcusable. If a salesperson can't do the job properly, act professionally, for whatever reason then reschedule the appointment - Sales 101.

I'll call a couple other companies tomorrow and see if I can get someone better and the company from today can go without my money...I have to wonder though, how much damage is that fellow is doing to the company with his behaviour; a lot I'd say.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

The image is mine

Sort:  

Awesome. When you are spending that kind of cash you don't want that kind of cock-knocking.

And if the boob thoughts didn't work then it much have been bad!

 2 years ago  

Boob-thoughts are my go-to distraction. Ah hell, I think about them even when no distraction is required...Still, it didn't work! That guy really got under my skin.

I played it down in the post but in truth I was furious man. I left work early and rushed home and all...Then to be treated like I was. Yeah, he's lucky he didn't walk out with a shovel in his head. (ok, not really but you know what I mean.)

They are a good distraction, always helps with me.

I don't blame you. Sales people should be doing all the things you have established above, building a rapport and listening to the customer but when you get some fecking twit that just wants to belittle the home you live in in some weird attempt to be knowledgeable it gets on your wick. I had a plasterer go on and on about one of my rooms earlier in the year and I was like, dude, can you do it and how much, don't tell me my room needs rebuilt and whoever did it before was shit!

A shovel to the head is also a calming thought in these times when the boobs fail :OD

 2 years ago  

That plasterer probably worked for the company I had in today! Twat!

#shovelheadsolutions
#boobdistractions

Companies that will never see the likes of our custom ever!!

You must be getting some right funky work done at that cost. Your place will be amazing after the fact.

#shovelsmacked

 2 years ago  

It's a pergola/verandah thing, gable-roof, sky lights, LED lights, fans etc. It runs the length of the house and half is my covered entertainment area (pizza oven, BBQ table etc.) The rest is where I park my off-road camper trailer and my box trailer to keep them out of the weather. There's double gates that lead out to my drive way. I could put a car in there too if I need to.

I'm dreading the quote to be honest but it has to get done.

I can imagine how bad it must have been for the thought of boobs not to work.

I know, a terrible terrible state of affairs when those don't work!

Haha the poor guy :-D but you were right doing this way.
Your post reminds me of what @dswigle wrote about her houses roof, wich needed to be renewed. And we were talking about, how important it is to have a good-minded company as well as caring and friendly people doing these works.
Good luck for finding the right ones !

 2 years ago  

I just don't understand why a sales person who is there to win business from a customer would go out of his way to be rude, obnoxious and disrespectful. Oh well, his loss; no commission and no in one for the company. Maybe one day he'll be looking for a new job huh.

I'll find someone to do the job eventually; I'm disinclined to work with people I don't feel comfortable with so will take some time to find the right company.

My grandpa always used to say the customer is the King. And I think he was right ☺

 2 years ago  

Here there's a saying, the customer is always right.

I disagree and change it as follows:

The customer isn't always right, but is always the customer.

The same thing as your grandpa really.

 2 years ago  

I like the phrasing of that much better! They aren't always right but they are a customer. You can treat them proper and still sort-of let them know they're a dumbass or asshole and then refuse their business.

 2 years ago  

So with doesn't seem to value courtesy much anymore.

Crazy... right ?

Did he own the company? If not, there would probably be a kind but detailed letter to the owner from me, explaining why they did not get my business. If he owns the company, nothing much can be done, but if not, you are probably not the only "business" he has lost for them.

Good thing there are options.

 2 years ago  

Considering they are a giant company, I reckon this was just a regular salesperson not the owner.

 2 years ago  

I am considering an email but will have to decide whether it's worth my time. I am thinking I'll just put my energy into calling someone else and moving on.

I understand leaving it and moving on..... but for me it would be a matter of principle and the added fact that I usually have plenty of extra time.

 2 years ago  

I get it and agree. Maybe the company doesn't know...But there's the time thing and in truth I don't really feel inclined to give the fellow a heads up. He'll come to learn over time...When he gets fired.

 2 years ago  

Reading this, I was thinking in my head "hopefully he's going to think about boobs to distract himself from this fool" and sure enough, you did but it didn't work! Now damn, that's some insane level stupidity this guy brought!

I think that people are sadly foolish to the fact that their behavior is important. This guy obviously was, thinking that just because he worked for "x" company that he could do the job and make you purchase regardless of the way he acted. Not to be a Karen, I would call the company and try to give them a heads up anonymously without implicating him directly. He might have been having a bad day but like you said, reschedule the shit or at least be cognizant of your ridiculous antics.

Hopefully you can get a better chap next time, jeez!

 2 years ago  

I'm still contemplating contacting the company and letting them know but I'm not sure if I can be bothered. If it happens enough one day the company will go out of business and will probably wonder why. Idiots.

I had a chap do some electrical work at my flat. I didn't expect him to be chatty because he was there to do a job. Politeness goes a long way though. He was quite abrupt with me. I only asked him if he wanted a drink, so that I could give him a mug with a picture of a cock .... eral on it. 😆

 2 years ago (edited) 

🤪

Indeed, when they're working I leave them alone. When I'm explaining what I want I expect courtesy and attention, not indifference.

I guess the guy doesn't know the first rule of sales

Customers are always right.

It can be very annoying when I decide to buy something with the money I toiled for and I begin to get an attitude from a saucy seller.

Well, I guess they will learn the basics of selling when they lose a lot of potential buyers.

The only painful thing is that most of them don't even own a fragment of the company so they don't care

 2 years ago  

Hahah the negative sentiment of saucy sellers sucks serious shit!

How's that for an alliteration! :D

 2 years ago  

Not caring seems to be societies superpower.

Good words to learn life.actions!!

 2 years ago  

Thank you. Which words precisely did you like the best?

 2 years ago  

If they actually read it, boobs would be what I would say but sadly they didn't read it at all lol.

 2 years ago  

Exactly.

 2 years ago  

I think at the moment your post is at the top of the list of posts I liked to read. I simply love the way you write. Tank you for a beautiful post.

 2 years ago  

Thank you for your kind words. ✅

 2 years ago  

Galen is a wordsmith that's for sure!

These words have deep meanings, if someone understand!

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

 2 years ago  

Indeed.

Only one thing that makes the perfection of the photo so great, high quality photos are very beautiful to look at.
I hope your activities run smoothly. 🤗🤗

 2 years ago  

The picture is cool but reading the post is even cooler! You should give it a whirl.

I read the story from the beginning I saw this post, and said I hope the activity goes well, I know there @galenkp is explaining his frustration with arrogant workers, and can harm him. But here I try to look in another direction namely the photo and conclude at the end of my comment.
Thank you for your kind response @cmplxty 🥰🥰🤗🤗

 2 years ago  

That's great! I'm glad you did. I see a lot of people just drop a comment and not even read so I was just making sure you weren't one to do that :D cheers!

I don't want to do that silly thing, what's more, I really like the world of photography.
Thank you for your kind feedback, I hope you have a nice day 🥰🥰

 2 years ago  

Thank you.

🥰🥰🤗🤗

Oh! Imagine the guy's attitude over a good customer to the company. I just do hope he doesn't loose his job from this ugly act of his.

 2 years ago  

I hope he does actually, he isn't a very good representative of the company. In fact if the sales person acts like this then the company has no real future and will close. I think it would be a good thing.

Maybe it's a problem for all salesmen. This is so disappointing anyway.

 2 years ago  

Not all mate, I do the job, as stated in my post. I do it well.

I think you made a good choice in ending the conversation and any initiation of negotiation with him or the company. If at the beginning of the whole process, we feel uncomfortable and the attention is lousy, I am almost sure that things will go from bad to worse. It is important to feel that our ideas and our opinions are heard, because it is a complex job, for us. I hope you can have better communication with the next employee and that the same thing doesn't happen!

Your patience level must be amazing hahaha.

 2 years ago  

That's a good point and one of the reasons so ended the meeting. If it started like this what may happen down the track when I've paid for the job already?

I have reasonable patience and am a professional salesperson myself so I know how difficult the job can be...But I have my limits.

As the asshole gentleman was going about the measuring process I thought about flowers and spring blossom, fluffy cats

LOL, I know this experience.

I even thought about boobs...

The failure of that underlines what you had to deal with. Excellent you showed his self-entitled butt to the door. Better to find a new company and start again.

These days, it seems very much the case that this is what one experiences in attempting to do business with companies. I find better luck dealing with small businesses (once I screen them with an initial phone call).

I feel your pain. Good restraint.

 2 years ago  

I'm pleased you approve. I mean the work required is not insignificant and whilst there might be bigger jobs it's still business right?

I find I have less tolerance for fuckassery these days...Ok, never had much tolerance for it to be honest. 🤪

I'll find someone else and it'll progress.

You don't need my approval, lol. I deal with people like that in the same manner. They lose my business. Simple. Business is business and if someone cannot relate in a professional, respectful manner with effective listening and communication skills, I refuse to do business with them to the point that I'll find another way, or do it myself.

I find I have less tolerance for fuckassery these days...Ok, never had much tolerance for it to be honest. 🤪

I have been operating with a zero tolerance policy for years. I find it amusing how they never understand what's wrong with their approach, even when explicitly told in a respectful and clear manner.

I'll find someone else and it'll progress.

Exactly.

 2 years ago  

I rarely offer feedback to the person/company when they've been rude like the guy was yesterday. I figure they'll work it out on their own or not and no amount of input from me will help as it'll generally be ignored. So...They can fail all on their own.

I've moved on, called another company and have an appointment booked. We'll see how it goes.

LOLOL, I like your way of thinking. Don't waste energy on it, it's their problem.

I've moved on, called another company and have an appointment booked. We'll see how it goes.

Nice. I can hear you grimacing. I hope it goes much better this time.

 2 years ago  

I hope so too, a good result will be welcome.

This dude sounds like a real piece of work. He should meet my landlady, I think they would get on like a house on fire.

What did surprise me is that you pulled out all the stops of thinking of other nice things before boobs....are you running a fever? You feeling ok there Galen?

 2 years ago  

Can I be honest, boobs were the only thing I thought of to try and distract myself, I just threw those other things in for the post. Alas, boobs didn't do the job on that particular occasion.

I'd say your landlord and that. Hap would get on famously for sure. Both dick heads.

I've rebooked another company so let's see how they go. Fingers crossed.

It's about attention to detail. If the sales guy is poor quality, what's the job going to be like?

 2 years ago  

That's what I was thinking; I wouldn't have felt comfortable moving forward to the actual job. I'll not be calling them again. Ever.

One thing i learned from working in sales is leaving my emotions at home. The client is the master and I'm the robot (for a time till they ask for my own opinions). But I don't impose my will. Sorry he made you feel that way and he is definitely causing a lot of damage.

But he won't accept that and go ahead to blame you for your lack of foresight or the universe for hating him when his problem is his attitude.

Also, thinking ABOUT boobs is a great way to reign In anger. They look like stress balls afterall 😂

 2 years ago  

This is a good point about leaving one's emotions home as a sales person; after all, one represents the company not oneself I guess. Well said.

Also, thinking ABOUT boobs is a great way to reign In anger. They look like stress balls afterall

I'm glad you agree...It all seems so logical to me! 😀

😂😂😂.

Seems like He believes You were a...

"Captive Customer"

I get that a shit ton out here on the road. Shippers and receivers are so used to shitting on drivers because they are just that..."Drivers."

More than once I have turned and walked away. Called the Agent/Freight Broker and explained that I will not be treated like You were by the Cock Knocker, Ass Clown, Douche Bagger, Ball Jiggler, Shit Stain...


I could do this all day, but You get the point right?

I say the way You handled it was almost perfect. I would have probably have not made it a quarter of an hour. You got wayyyyy more mental testicular fortitude than I do...

Thee other kind of testicular fortitude is shown here... (WTF?!?)
untitled.gif

 2 years ago  

I don't know where you got that video of me ball-testing but I'm glad it's finally come out into the light of day. It was a part time gig I had to earn a few bucks on the side. Only did it once. Lol.

I was pretty proud of my 45 minute time frame because I wanted to turf him out after only 10!

@pooky-jax and I laughed oiy loud on this one...

Ball Tester...

Yes! It's unacceptable for him to treat you that way, and I am so glad you went with your gut and told him to shove off....it must have been really bad if boob thoughts didn't get you through it, lol!

You can find another company to do the work.

Annabelle.

 2 years ago  

Haha, yes boobs (surprisingly) didn't save the day!

I was worried that if things were that hard initially what would it be like moving forward when they had my 15% deposit!

I have another group coming out this Wednesday evening.

Good luck on the other companies you are calling in, but always have those boob-thoughts ready, just in case. 😂

 2 years ago  

Boob-thoughts are a constant companion. 😬

Well, at least you always have something to calm the nerves. Better than meditation. LOL

 2 years ago  

Calms the nerves, but can get things a bit excited also huh?

I'd have to agree.

This is an amazing Shot that you clicked 😃

 2 years ago  

Thank you for the compliment, it's much appreciated.